We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay with some caveats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #21 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay with some caveats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel has a pleasant exterior and lobby area. Plenty of comfy chairs and some tables for working on. Advertising brochures for local tourist attractions. Lending library looks ecletic and sufficiently large and varied, but is out of reach behind the check-in desk, as are the daily fresh-baked cookies. Have to ask for both. If your room isn't located in the main building, be prepared for a bit of a trek, replete with key-card requiring doors and winding passageways to the proper elevator for your destination. The elevators, by the way, were always prompt. Nice pool area. Small but adequate two machine workout room and two machine business center. Large guest laundry (you pay). Free breakfast until 9 am, consisting of powdered scrambled eggs, well-done, crumbly bacon strips, sausage patties, the usual cereals, fruit, yogurt, bread, beverage choices. Coffee was good enough to warrant refill after refill!
King bed suite was very adequate space-wise. Tiny kitchen area, but had everything one needed. Ask for "set-ups" if you need them. Comfy bed, but terribly uncomfortable pull out couch for an adult to sleep in (unless inebriated or too exhaused to care). The bedroom had a separate sink and mirror, which was a nice touch. Bathroom had great water pressure (even on the 3rd floor), and a soak tub. Hair dryer had 2 speeds - fast and faster. Good sized bath towels with just the right amount of soft and rough. Sadly, the water in the commode was just plain stinky - a lot like the smell around the river that runs behind the hotel (and to which our room's windows opened out). It permeated the whole bathroom. Eww!
Housekeeping was accommodating as was the front desk staff. Absolutely no complaints there.

Ask for a room that doesn't face out to the rear parking lot. Trash trucks (recycle and garbage) pick the wee hours of the morning to do their thing - and it's noisy enough to wake the dead. We stayed 3 nights and were jolted awake 2 of them.

Upon check out, I mentioned the hard pull-out couch, the noise issue, and the smelly commode water. The desk person apologized and said she's make a note of those items and bring it up to the manager. Although it wasn't the reason I mentioned the 3 sleep-depriving issues, I was kinda surprised that we weren't offered any type of reduction in our bill, and it made me wonder what Windmill Suites 110% Guarantee is actually all about.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear twosteptweetie

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay at the Windmill Suites. We appreciate the feedback. We will be under renovation this summer and there will be changes coming to our hotel. We hope that on your future travels to Tucson you choose to re visit our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    139
    38
    5
    10
See reviews for
144
168
41
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We liked this place so well we extended our stay another two nights. I loved the two separate rooms, a real suite! The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was fine although bigger counter space would have been nice, the centeral air was great, no blasts of cold air and then minutes later sweating. They told us they would be closing in the end of July and opening sometime in Oct. to do a complete make-over. The only complaints we had were the old time big tvs and the breakfast area is very small and so crowed in the mornings, so we ended up eating in our room. We liked our stay so well we went to the one in Chandler. Oh, our first night we went through hotels.com and then the next day got the room for $15 less by just going through the hotel. Two night we walked to The Union Public House for supper. Other than it being very loud, the food was excellent!!!! Oh, one more negative thing, we did have to wait for a cart to get all our stuff out to the car.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear joymarq,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Windmill Inn. We are delighted you had an enjoyable experience. As you noted we are going to be renovated and will have many changes coming to our property. We appreciate your feedback and hope that on your tavels to Tucson you will return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay Cove
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It is still hard to beat the excellent location . The proximity to the several good ( although more upscale ) restaurants and the two week-end markets right outside the front door make it worth while. The hotel staff, although there are some new faces, is consistently helpful and accomodating.Housekeeping has always been better than most properties of this size. I have no complaint with that but it would be appreciated if management would invest in some new towels! The present ones are either so rough you have no need for a loofah or are fraying along the edges!
Breakfast is still very good but now that we are all more conscious of eating healthier, I have to suggest that they rethink the choices ( specifically the yogurts) that have high fructose corn syrup in them. And for an inn that is in the heart of an ecologically-minded populace, should you still be using styrofoam plates and cups that are virtually un-biodegradeable?!?
Believe me, I love this place and will definitely return but, because I love it, I felt this constructive criticism necessary.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Altina V,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We appreciate your loyalty to the Windmill Inn and we also appreciate the constructive feedback. When traveling to Tucson we look forward to your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Beautiful location. Can walk to Bahti Indian Arts, wonderful restaurants, even the weekend farmers market. Big rooms with a desk, seating area, two televisions, helpful desk staff. Great bed--very comfy and quiet. Very clean, pretty, safe, easy to park. Great area to walk by the river and shops. I love this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear ladywhotravels010,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Windmill Inn. We are delighted to hear who had such a great experience during your stay. Our comfortable beds are very popular with our guests. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Great location, large, comfortable suites. Staff was very helpful in moving us to a new room that was not handicapped access. Decent continental breakfast. Close to variety of restaurants and river walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear MTC1955,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Windmill Inn. We are delighted you had an enjoyable experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope that on your tavels to Tucson you will return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
454 reviews 454 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Walk to the paved, laned, Riverwalk (sans water during our visit) restaurants, and shops. Great views in the Catalina Foothills. The Windmill is impeccably clean with spacious suites. The room was comfortable in temp, amenities offered & bedding. There are a few buildings, many rooms, and some rooms allocated for travelers with pets. Sparkling spa & pool. Ample parking. Service outstanding. Minus one star b/c of (1) dated colors, fabrics, fixtures & appliances, (2) a bit of a chore to get here from the highway, and (3) really cheap TP.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear twogreynomads,

Thank you for taking time to comment about your stay at the Windmill Inn. We are delighted you had a wonderful experience during your stay. The riverwalk is very popular with the guests who stay with us and the plaza in which we are located allows our guests to have a well rounded experience. We look forward to your return to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I could tell from the photos that the hotel was dated. I don't know how they are able to find enough working, old-school CRT TVs to furnish every suite! That said, if you're not a TV fan, you might be very happy here. Although the hallways are dated, with VERY low ceilings, the rooms have higher ceilings that don't feel claustrophobic. The rooms are actually suites, and they are HUGE. The living room has a couch and coffee table and desk, there's a kitchen area (just a microwave, mini-fridge and coffeemaker with tiny sink--no dishes, utensils, etc.) and a large bathroom with two small sinks--one inside the bathroom and one between the bathroom and the bedroom. The bedroom is large, the bed was comfy, the windows were large. All in all, very, very comfortable. The heating/cooling unit had a fan that could be set to run constantly. Between the fan and the fact that I could close off the bedroom from the bathroom and living room, I never heard a thing from the hallways while I was trying to sleep. Nothing is more important to me than a good night's sleep, and even though this hotel was full, I got that every night of my three-night stay. I also loved the neighborhood: restaurants right there, a Trader Joe's very close, and fairly easy access to the UA campus. The hotel offers a free, hot breakfast and you can even ask to have them deliver a pared-down version to your room. I didn't take advantage of any of that, but it smelled good. A few other things that the hotel should update besides the TVs: 1) get hangers that don't fall apart the moment anyone tries to hang anything on them. 2) get larger wastepaper basket liner bags. The ones in the garbage cans were so tiny that if you dropped any garbage into them they'd immediately fall down into the bottom of the can in a heap. I spent more time picking garbage liners up off the bottom of the garbage cans and picking my fallen clothes off the closet floor than I did sleeping. Also note that the tub, while huge, is plastic. Everything was very clean, although if you sit down on the tub, you can observe a very small amount of mold on the underside of the horizontal surfaces in the plastic tub. Aside from these minor inconveniences, I had a wonderful, peaceful stay. My suite felt like home. I had a nice view to the pool area, which appeared to be deserted most of the time. Finally, the front desk staff were all very friendly. I have to travel to Tucson often on business, and will plan to stay here again, not only for the comfortable and peaceful room, but also for the friendly staff and the great pricing.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear conferencetrip 31

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you had so many positive thing to say about your stay. We will be sure to relay your comments to each of the proper departments within the hotel. We look foward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 North Campbell Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
#22 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.