We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Sparks, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here the first week of August for a softball tournament. The hotel has easy access in a cute shopping center. There is a Trader Joes across the street, and other shopping is close by. The free breakfast in the morning was the perfect way to start our day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious, and included a kitchenette with a refrigerator and microwave. The best part of this hotel, in my opinion, was the beds! By far the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Even better than a Hilton bed. I slept like a baby all seven nights of our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tuscon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
“So comfortable!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, our comfortable beds and the location of our property.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    124
    32
    4
    7
See reviews for
131
146
40
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Windmill Suites. We were getting our daughter moved in to U of A and spent 3 days. The motel is conveniently located, very quiet, has all the needed amenities and spacious, well kept rooms. It's layed out very well, with easy access to parking and the pool no matter where your room is. The hot breakfast is great, and they never run out of anything. The staff is excellent, very helpful, and Sara at the front counter is welcoming and kind. We'll be staying at Windmill every time we head down to see our daughter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
“Pleasant Stay”

Dear Mr. Ken C.,

Thank you for your positive review! Sara and our team members will be recognized for their customer service!

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the design and spaciousness of our suite and the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Tucson!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First time with Windmill Suites. Located in a pretty plaza. Trader Joe's across the street. Sara greeted me with a smile on arrival, was very friendly and quickly explained hotel policies. I had requested a 3rd floor room, but was assigned a 2nd floor room. She referred me to the front desk, and assured me that they would do their best to accomodate me. Victoria processed my check-in, and was very pleasant and helpful. She consulted with Crystal, the manager, who was also very nice, and they found me a third floor room. As other reviewers have said, the hotel does show it's age, but the lobby and room were very clean overall. The hallways were warm, but the a/c in the room was cold, with a separate thermostat. As a light sleeper I am not a good traveler, but I had no noise issues from other rooms. The bed was very comfortable. The closet was tiny, but the bathroom was larger than often found, and the fridge (cold) & microwave were in a walk-in wet bar. Only cleanliness complaint was a hair in one bed, fortunately, none found in the other one. Also should vacuum behind tv stand, dusty. I didn't eat the breakfast but it looked decent, eggs, sausage, etc. I go to Tucson every year for a convention, and will be calling Windmill Suites next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
“Will definitely go back”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your review of our Tucson location! Sara, Victoria and Crystal will be recognized for their hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the location of our property.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your suite not being properly cleaned. We have addressed this issue with our housekeeping department.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family and I (two adults, one toddler) stayed there courtesy of Priceline.com. We would've never known of the hotel otherwise. It is located near shopping and amenities, convenient to get to, and quite lovely. The room was very clean, the beds and pillows very comfortable, temperature ideal. Our toddler frequently wakes through the night, but this time there wasn't a peep out of him. Perhaps he was exhausted from the trip, but it sure is a testament to the quality of the beds. We were initially double charged, paid through Priceline and the hotel itself, but the mistake was quickly and efficiently corrected by the general manager, Karen Phillips. All in all, a great stay! And the breakfast was pretty good as well. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
“Very nice”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Tucson location! Our General Manager will be recognized for resolving the reservation issue to your satisfaction!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed our comfortable beds and pillows and the location of our property with the nearby shopping.

We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,
Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good value, good buffet breakfast, beds have been updated....a critical element in any decent hotel today. The hotel is definitely a little older, but they have kept it in good pretty good shape. However, I was really surprised that they haven't updated the tv's to flat screen HD models, especially in the living room! That's a real downer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

We appreciate your comments regarding the value of our hotel and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This its not a luxury hotel or whatsoever,but it has all the details and service to make your trip a nice one. The room its divided in three: the bathroom(there is an access from the bedroom and the living room),the living room with a tv and the bedroom with another tv.
All was very clean and the matresses were good.
When we made the check in,there was complimentary cookies.
The breakfast is very good! Yes,the eggs are powder eggs,but still there is sausage,fruits,yogurth,waffles,pastries,tea,coffee and juice. We notice there was a spill of food and beverages(it was crowded),but the service lady clean it up just before we notice again.
The location its perfect. Near malls and restaurants. We leave on a sunday,and notice that in the square next to the hotel,there was a little organic fair.
Its a good value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
“Perfect mid-range hotel!”

Dear Ms. Cristina F.,

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at our Tucson property!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and design of our suites. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the location of our property with the nearby malls and restaurants.

We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,
Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Az
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Since we have moved away from Tucson we need a place we can count on when we return for clearing out lockers and visiting our doctors. We discovered Windmill Suites about 5 years ago and make it a point to stay there whenever we are in the area. The rooms are always clean and neat, the help will go out of their way to make sure all is well, the breakfast is good, I can't say any hotel free breakfast is great, and it is located in a nice area.

Room Tip: We normally stay on the main floor with a poolside view which gives us 2 entrances
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
“Always stay here”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! Our team members will be recognized for their hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our suite.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#34 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.