We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
“Best family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great location, great price, great rooms, and very friendly staff. Had all the amenities we were looking for. We had to come back to the states to renew my family's visitor visas to Mexico. We always stay in tucson, normally with one of the other hotels on grant street, cause we like the location. This recent trip, all the other hotels were booked or over priced in my opinion. While looking on trip advisor I saw the windmill hotel. The price was right, and all the things we look for such as pool, breakfast, good location, etc was included. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
“Best family hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay at our Tucson location! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly customer service!

We are pleased you enjoyed the amenities offered and the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    124
    32
    4
    7
See reviews for
131
147
40
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Windmill Suites of Tucson has been my go to Hotel since my first stay. Staff is gracious and well trained. Suites are comfortable and well done. They have a good continental breakfast with hot and cold choices. The kitchen staff does a great job of keeping up with needs. Windmill Suites is located in the St. Phillips Plaza. There are several restaurants within walking distance with something for most tastes. Also, in the area are a steak house with Jazz and Trader Joe's for the fun of it. I always feel secure when I am here alone. Children are welcome and there is pool, hot tub, and exercise room. For a night or a week it is all good.

Room Tip: Let check-in staff know if you'd like a quiet room in case you get to sleep in. I ask for top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
“My Go To Hotel of Tucson”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property! Our team members will be recognized for their hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the comfort and layout of our suite. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the nearby restaurants.

Thank you for being a loyal guest of Windmill! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Tucson!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a true 2 room suite in a great location. Lots of restaurants and shops with easy walk, or other restaurants/shops easy drive. Very friendly staff. Dog potty station with poop bags is great. Hotel parking lot sits adjacent to river walk, which is great for exercise walking, biking, etc. Only downside is there is no grass for walking dog used to grass. We took our dog to front of hotel where there is grass outside shops, but not sure dogs welcome there. We did not care. There is grass in courtyard area of swimming pool, but hotel has sign dogs are not welcome there. Breakfast is provided, but it is same thing every day. If you stay long, you'll get tired of scrambled eggs every morning. However, it is a very short perhaps 5 minute or less drive to a Denny's. Overall, a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: If traveling in summer, request room suite that does not have west-facing windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
“Good hotel when traveling with pets”

Dear Mr. Robert P.,

Thank you for your positive feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly customer service!

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our property with the nearby shops and restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went in March with 30 other cyclists for a week of fixed based riding. To avoid a snow storm likely to close the Denver airport, I arrived a day early with no problems. Although I would have preferred a first floor room, I was given a second floor corner room which was the largest suite in the hotel at the discounted price. Convenient to the bike paths, many excellent restaurants, and even Trader Joe's. Very clean and quiet with a very courteous front desk staff that couldn't do enough for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
“Great for a week of bicycle riding!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! Our team members will be recognized for their customer service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and quietness of our suite. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed the location of our property with the nearby bike paths and restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The way they make these beds is so clean. There's not a bedspread; more like a sheet on top and it is the most pleasant hotel bed experience I've had. I would go back to Tucson just for this hotel. Continental breakfast was everything you could imagine, no short-cuts here. Very friendly staff at front desk that we talked to for quite awhile. Nice decor in common areas and hotel room. By accident we ended up in a handicap room and it was great to see how their handicap bathrooms are so thoroughly accessible for a wheelchair, not just bars on the walls for handholds. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return.

Room Tip: I just hope all rooms were as nice as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
“Most comfortable bed ever!”

Dear Ms. Jill M.,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Tucson Windmill! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly customer service!

We appreciate your comments regarding our bedding. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolleson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My Family and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and 4 days. All I have to say is that I loved it, since I've been going to Tucson and that has been since 2009 they have been the best in everything you can ask for. The service was great, I loved the coffee 24 hrs, very quiet, didn't have to wait for anything, rooms were clean...we felt like we were at home. that hotel will see us every year. There's 3 staff there that I want to give special thanks too...They are Deigo, Amanda, and Corey...YOU GUYS ARE THE GREATEST KEEP DOING THE THINGS YOU DO!!! S. BONILLA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
“FAMILY FRIENDLY”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest

Your positive review is greatly appreciated! Diego, Amanda, Corey and our additional team members will be recognized for their exceptional customer service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and quietness of our suite. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed our 24-hour coffee bar.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was here for three nights while attending a sewing retreat. I had a wonderful stay thanks to the great staff. EVERYONE was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The suite was spacious and comfortable. The sitting room was great when sharing a room with a friend. Beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. There is central air conditioning that is so much better than the under- the- window units. The location of the hotel was convenient to some wonderful restaurants and shopping. I did not use the pool, but it was conveniently located and appeared clean and well maintained. I have never had such a positive stay at a hotel. The staff here are so guest- oriented. I will be back to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
“Great hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property! Our team members will be acknowledged for their exceptional customer service!

Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#26 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.