We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a week of bicycle riding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Suites of Tucson

Save Saved
You added Windmill Suites of Tucson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windmill Suites of Tucson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Golden, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for a week of bicycle riding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went in March with 30 other cyclists for a week of fixed based riding. To avoid a snow storm likely to close the Denver airport, I arrived a day early with no problems. Although I would have preferred a first floor room, I was given a second floor corner room which was the largest suite in the hotel at the discounted price. Convenient to the bike paths, many excellent restaurants, and even Trader Joe's. Very clean and quiet with a very courteous front desk staff that couldn't do enough for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
“Great for a week of bicycle riding!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! Our team members will be recognized for their customer service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and quietness of our suite. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed the location of our property with the nearby bike paths and restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    123
    32
    4
    7
See reviews for
130
146
40
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The way they make these beds is so clean. There's not a bedspread; more like a sheet on top and it is the most pleasant hotel bed experience I've had. I would go back to Tucson just for this hotel. Continental breakfast was everything you could imagine, no short-cuts here. Very friendly staff at front desk that we talked to for quite awhile. Nice decor in common areas and hotel room. By accident we ended up in a handicap room and it was great to see how their handicap bathrooms are so thoroughly accessible for a wheelchair, not just bars on the walls for handholds. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return.

Room Tip: I just hope all rooms were as nice as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
“Most comfortable bed ever!”

Dear Ms. Jill M.,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Tucson Windmill! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly customer service!

We appreciate your comments regarding our bedding. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolleson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My Family and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and 4 days. All I have to say is that I loved it, since I've been going to Tucson and that has been since 2009 they have been the best in everything you can ask for. The service was great, I loved the coffee 24 hrs, very quiet, didn't have to wait for anything, rooms were clean...we felt like we were at home. that hotel will see us every year. There's 3 staff there that I want to give special thanks too...They are Deigo, Amanda, and Corey...YOU GUYS ARE THE GREATEST KEEP DOING THE THINGS YOU DO!!! S. BONILLA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
“FAMILY FRIENDLY”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest

Your positive review is greatly appreciated! Diego, Amanda, Corey and our additional team members will be recognized for their exceptional customer service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and quietness of our suite. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed our 24-hour coffee bar.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was here for three nights while attending a sewing retreat. I had a wonderful stay thanks to the great staff. EVERYONE was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The suite was spacious and comfortable. The sitting room was great when sharing a room with a friend. Beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. There is central air conditioning that is so much better than the under- the- window units. The location of the hotel was convenient to some wonderful restaurants and shopping. I did not use the pool, but it was conveniently located and appeared clean and well maintained. I have never had such a positive stay at a hotel. The staff here are so guest- oriented. I will be back to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
“Great hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property! Our team members will be acknowledged for their exceptional customer service!

Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Arrived at the end of a 1800 mile road-trip to relax a bit. Check-in super friendly. Suite well thought out, good fridge & coffee maker, comfortable sitting area, and really comfortable beds. Good free wifi throughout Hotel. Handy pool area & hot tub. Very quiet. Old-style big box TV sets need to be upgraded to modern flat-screens. Fold-out bed in lounge seriously uncomfortable - needs thicker mattress. Location - St Philips Plaza has a top rated Italian restaurant (Vivace) (not tried) and a great pub (Union Pub) tried twice - highly recommended! 10 minutes drive to Tucson Mall & high-end shopping. 30 minutes drive to PIMA air museum and Davis-Monthan USAF base. Overall very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
“Four nights in Tucson”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property. Our team members will be acknowledged for their friendly service.

We appreciate your comments regarding the design and quietness of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed our comfortable beds and pool area.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My sisters and I were in Tucson for a funeral and chose this hotel because of the location. We were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious and clean. We liked having a vanity area outside the actual bathroom...particularly helpful when traveling with three women. We had a first floor room with a small patio so we could enjoy our early morning coffee outside. The breakfast in the lobby was excellent. The staff was very helpful! What more can I say? Stay at this hotel if you are in the Tucson area. Our only complaint...we had trouble with the door keys but once that problem is corrected I would change my review to excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
“Very nice hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Tucson Windmill! Our team members will be recognized for their hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, spaciousness and design of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed our patio suite and the breakfast buffet.

Thanks for bringing to our attention the issue with the door keys. Our maintenance department is currently working on this.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was a very nice place to stay. Everything looked new and clean. The lobby was very large and was nicely decorated. The pool is outside and has some pretty trees around it, and we saw night hawks diving in the air above the pool on the night we were there. The staff member who checked us in, Crystal, was especially friendly and helpful. The rooms are quiet, and in our room you could enter the bathroom from either the bedroom or the living room area. There was also a very small kitchenette area. Breakfast is served for free in the lobby.

The main negative I can think of is that they don't have queen-sized beds. That is normally a requirement for us, and I actually didn't realize they didn't have them until I was checking in. Our room faced the outside, but there was no inner curtain on the window, so if we opened the curtain, people on the sidewalk just outside the window could see into our room. The sofa bed linen seemed dirty to our son, so he slept on an air mattress.

Overall, though, this is a nice hotel, and we would recommend it.

Now, for a really great part of our stay - my daughter left her new sandals in the room, and when we arrived home from our vacation, there was a message on our answering machine letting us know that they had found them. Although more than a week had passed since they left the message, when I returned the call, they still had the sandals. Thank you for having such honest staff members and cleaning people! This really says a lot about your hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
“Nice, new pretty. No queen beds. Great and honest staff!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your detailed positive review! Crystal and our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and design of our suite.

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the sofa bed linen. We have addressed this with our housekeeping staff, as this is not Windmill’s standard of service.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windmill Suites of Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Suites of Tucson

Address: 4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#29 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Windmill Suites of Tucson 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmill Suites at St. Philip's Plaza is nestled at the northern edge of Tucson in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains. Join us for our free generous continental breakfast or choose to have our ???Windmill Inn Good Morning??? featuring fresh Belgian waffles, bagels and cream cheese, Danishes, fruit, cereal and an assortment of beverages. Windmill Inn offers free wireless high speed Internet access in all rooms. Pets are welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Windmill Suites of Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill Suites of Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.