We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, new, pretty. No queen beds. Great and honest staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)   |  
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice, new, pretty. No queen beds. Great and honest staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was a very nice place to stay. Everything looked new and clean. The lobby was very large and was nicely decorated. The pool is outside and has some pretty trees around it, and we saw night hawks diving in the air above the pool on the night we were there. The staff member who checked us in, Crystal, was especially friendly and helpful. The rooms are quiet, and in our room you could enter the bathroom from either the bedroom or the living room area. There was also a very small kitchenette area. Breakfast is served for free in the lobby.

The main negative I can think of is that they don't have queen-sized beds. That is normally a requirement for us, and I actually didn't realize they didn't have them until I was checking in. Our room faced the outside, but there was no inner curtain on the window, so if we opened the curtain, people on the sidewalk just outside the window could see into our room. The sofa bed linen seemed dirty to our son, so he slept on an air mattress.

Overall, though, this is a nice hotel, and we would recommend it.

Now, for a really great part of our stay - my daughter left her new sandals in the room, and when we arrived home from our vacation, there was a message on our answering machine letting us know that they had found them. Although more than a week had passed since they left the message, when I returned the call, they still had the sandals. Thank you for having such honest staff members and cleaning people! This really says a lot about your hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
“Nice, new pretty. No queen beds. Great and honest staff!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your detailed positive review! Crystal and our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and design of our suite.

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the sofa bed linen. We have addressed this with our housekeeping staff, as this is not Windmill’s standard of service.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    123
    32
    4
    7
See reviews for
130
146
40
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

First time that I have stayed a the Windmill Suites Tucson and I am pleasantly surprise with the outstanding customer service from all the employees of that hotel. Lovely rooms and very clean, excellent location, very clean a nice. Congratulations!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
“Outstanding Service!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their outstanding customer service!

We appreciate your comment regarding the cleanliness of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I booked a block of rooms for my daughter's wedding guests. Most were coming from the east coast. They were surprised and delighted with the Windmill! The rates were great, the people were friendly and helpful and the services offered were beyond their expectations. They were
close to everything and were able to enjoy the surrounding shops and Sunday farmer's market
as well. The only drawback was not being able to head south when leaving the complex.
Guests enjoyed the pool and hot tub, and used the hotel to get wedding attire steamed and
pressed. Can't say enough good things about the Windmill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
“Great Experience!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Tucson location! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We are pleased our services were beyond your guests’ expectations and that they enjoyed our pool and hot tub and the nearby shops.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have been a frequent visitor to Tucson and the Windmill. It only gets better with age. The property is well-taken care of, and the friendly, accommodating service makes you feel truly welcome. From a basket of apples at the reception desk to warm to just-baked cookies in late afternoon, an attentive staff ensures your visit will be pleasant. The suites are spacious, so you can kick back and relax on the living room couch, or crash on a comfortable bed. The mini-fridge and microwave make living easy. And, the complimentary breakfast offers almost anything a hungry traveler might wish for. Location, location, location...St. Philips Plaza is nestled into the Catalina foothills and convenient to everything. Walk outside your door to discover a titillating assortment of shops and fine restaurants.

Room Tip: Lanai offers a patio on ground level facing the pool. All rooms are well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
“Let your wandering spirit unwind at Windmill”

Dear Ms. Sandy H.,

Your positive detailed review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our comfortable bed, breakfast buffet and the location of our property with the nearby shops, restaurants and local attractions.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I spent one night at the Windmill and was pleasantly surprised. Was not sure what to expect as it is a smaller hotel but upon entering the staff was very helpful as I requested an early check in. When I got to the room it was spacious and clean. The bed was confortable. The only small thing I would say is it might be time for different televisions. Although they worked very good they are not the LCD but will stay again and am planning on later this month.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
“Nice room and location”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our Tucson location! Our team members will be recognized for their helpful service.

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back later this month!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

In April of 2013 my husband & I had the pleasure of staying at the Windmill Suites. We were in town for our daughter's wedding and we invited our out of town guests to join us for several days before the big event. We arranged to reserve a block of rooms with patios around the salt water pool. If we had the opportunity to do it all over again, we definitely would choose this hotel again! The rooms are clean and spacious. The front desk hospitality is impressive. Whether you call on the phone or speak to them in person, the staff are helpful and treat you with a warm friendliness & a positive attitude. I worked with both event coordinators (Michael and Crystal). They helped me from the beginning - giving me a tour and explaining how they could best serve me and my guests to checking in with me after everyone had arrived and making extra seating/tables available outside so everyone was comfortable. On weekends there's often good sized farmers market on the plaza right outside the hotel. It has a wide variety of vendors with all sorts of wonderful food. If you are in the mood for food, the hotel offers a very tasty breakfast with everything from scrambled eggs with sausage/bacon to waffles and yogurt. For lunch and dinner, there's a popular Italian restaurant, The Vivace, right next door, or walk across the plaza to The Union House, a restaurant/bar that has macaroni & cheese, shepherds pie and a lot of other common and unique menu items. It also has a really cool patio. The Union House stays open til 2am. At night twinkle lights sparkle from the tall trees in the plaza and cast a glow in the clear Tucson night sky. The sight makes you happy you have found such a beautiful and friendly home away from home.

Room Tip: They have several room choices and some are available for guests with pets. A microwave, little ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
“Home away from home”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive detailed feedback of our Tucson location! Our team members will be acknowledged for their impressive hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the nearby restaurants in the Plaza.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back during your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoy staying at this two suite hotel. It is situated in the middle of a beautiful plaza with restaurants and shops.
The location is perfect for us. It is truly a two bedroom suite inn offering two spacious rooms, two separate tv’s, and the best part is two separate vanity areas. The rooms are so soundproof we are never aware of any other guests. The public areas are always clean and inviting and the staff friendly and welcoming. They go out of their way to make our stay have that "at home feeling." The breakfasts are generous and the homemade, fresh, slasa is so good it should be packaged and sold. It’s refreshing having a selection of newspapers, especially the Wall Street Journal.
We have been visiting Tucson for the last 15 years and there are so many things we enjoy about the Windmill Inn it’s no wonder we keep coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
“Truly a two room suite Inn”

Dear Ms. Gen L.,

Your detailed review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our public areas and the spaciousness and design of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the complimentary newspapers.

Thank you for being a loyal guest for the past 15 years! We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#33 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.