We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bats & Trader Joes are your neighbors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bats & Trader Joes are your neighbors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for five nights in sunny, warm April. Location is excellent - in St Phillips Plaza which has several restaurants, shopping, and quiet. A nice place close to many of Tucson's attractions. I'll get to more on the neighborhood in a minute but first let's talk about the hotel.

Very clean, surprisingly quiet (it's off-street from Campbell Ave which has very heavy traffic at ties). Staff has taken friendly lessons from Linda Kollmeyer (those of you who watch WGN will recognize her as one of the Lotto Ladies) - they are extremely pleasant and very helpful. Room was a small suite - living room/small kitchen with doors that close off the bedroom area. Bathroom accessible from both which is not always the case with suites - I liked this feature. Microwave, small fridge and small sink in kitchen area. Open window between kitchen area and living room with bar stools and counter at the window, very nice. Openable window - yay! In Tucson this is a nice feature in the cool evenings. Pool area well kept up, with fresh towels, area clean and pool and hot tub very clean. Breakfast included scrambled eggs and sausage and/or bacon every day, along with the usual yogurt, toast, make-your-own waffles, fruit, juice, coffee and pastries. I'm not a big breakfast eater so this was sufficient for me.

St Phillips Plaza has several restaurants - Vivace is high-end Italian, very good. Union Station is a sports pub with good eats. LIV is open only breakfast and lunch, sandwiches and soups, also very good. All have outdoor seating. The Plaza area is quiet and shaded and very pleasant.

Two more neighbors worth mentioning - in the title of this review. First, Trader Joe's is just a quick walk to the south. You don't have to cross busy Campbell Ave - there are bike/walking trails on both sides of the RIllito RIver, which is just to the south of St Phillips Plaza. The paths go under the bridge so you don't have to dodge traffic to get your TJs fix. For those not familiar with Tucson, Rillito River really only runs in monsoon season, or perhaps some winters when it rain hard and long, most of the times its a dry wash. But --- it is home to thousands of bats, who live under the Campbell Ave bridge. I invite you to go out in the evening, near the bridge on the bike trail, and about 15 min after sunset they start coming out. It's not a big flurry of activity all at once but a steady stream of the cute little creatures. (However, I understand that in May, when they all come back from various migrations, there is a big cloud of them and it's spectacular!) Anyway, be assured that these little Mexican Fruit Bats will NOT hurt you, will NOT bite you. They're looking for food (they're the main pollinators of Sahuaros, IIRC) and they have their own sonar system and don't especially want to mess with you. If you feel particularly brave, stand *under* the bridge on the walkway during all this and you'll hear their little chirps (part of the sonar - in the range we puny humans can hear) as they fly all around. Pretty neat-o.

Back to the review. If there is any drawback to this hotel and it's nice location is the access to Campbell and River Drives. In traffic, getting out of the Plaza onto Campbell is, well, challenging. It'll take awhile. You'll have to turn right (to the north). I suggest using the "back way" and getting out of the plaza onto River Rd, heading eastbound. If you want to go south or west, you'll have to make some detours and u-turns (which are not only allowed, but seem to be encouraged in Tucson. Strange.) -- but you'll get used to it.

Really liked this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
“Bats & Trader Joes are your neighbors”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive detailed feedback of our Tucson location! Our team members will be acknowledged for their extremely pleasant and helpful service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and quietness of our suite and the maintenance of our property. We are pleased the design of our suite accommodated your needs.

We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the location of our property with the nearby restaurants, shops and the Rillito River path.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    123
    32
    4
    7
See reviews for
130
146
40
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed 4 nights and wanted somewhere that was quiet but within easy reach of all the attractions I wanted to visit. Windmill Suites fitted the bill perfectly. The location just on the outskirts of Tucson was nice and quiet but within comfortable reach of the Freeway and with a good range of shops and restaurants in the neighbouring area.

Reception staff were helpful and welcoming and even showed me to my room. I quickly discovered that there was a problem with the aircon and I was moved to a more acceptable room without fuss. The suite itself was clean and spacious with a good sized living area, a small but functional kitchen with fridge, microwave, sink and coffee machine, a large bathroom and yet another sink in the lobby between bathroom and bedroom. The bed was very comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised with the size of the accommodation and the room was very quiet.

I only used the small pool once but it was clean and the area around it well kept.

The breakfast was varied and well presented and coffee was offered in the lobby in the afternoon and into early evening.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and was sorry to have to move on. I would certainly return to this hotel if I find myself again in Tucson.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
“Couldn’t fault it”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property! Your detailed feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team members!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, quietness and spaciousness of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed the nearby shops and restaurants, our breakfast buffet and our pool area.

Please accept our apologies for the air conditioning unit not working properly in your first suite. We are happy to know our team members resolved the situation to your satisfaction.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield county
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A modern, clean quiet and inexpensive hotel with a versatile floor plan. Three women shared one suite for $112/night. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The pull out is a pullout! The kitchen is really just a half refrigerator, sink and microwave, but still convenient. The free breakfast looks just like any other free breakfast across the land: steamer of scrambled eggs, make-your-own waffle, hard boiled egg, fruit-flavored yogurt, apples or oranges, juice coffee, toast and limited pastries. Setting is pleasant enough but is in the lobby area. We didnt use the pool (and didn't see anyone else use it either). The BIG PLUS of this hotel? It is across the driveway from Vivace, the best Italian restaurant in Tucson.Make reservations at least a day ahead. Also a small mall with other food choices. Plenty of free parking. Convenient to Pima Canyon hiking (terrific!) and Tohono Chul park. Traffic makes a trip to the airport about 40 minutes. If you aren't looking for a resort this is a good choice. We are so busy hiking we don't spend much time in the room, but didn't mind chilling there when we had the time Bathroom is accessible from the living room, or from the bedroom. Good shower. Its just a fine and functional hotel for an incredible price, but it isn't interesting in itself. Counter staff is pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: WE have stayed on both sides and cant distinguish one room from another. The location is quiet and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
“It does just fine”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your detailed review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their pleasant and efficient service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, quietness, comfort and layout of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the location of our property with the nearby restaurants and local attractions.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This inn is part of a very small chain of inns located in AZ and OR. It is a great value and tucked away in a small plaza in Tucson. We visit this city quite often, as my daughter attends the U of A. I have not liked any of the larger hotel chains as much, e.g., the Sheratons located in Tucson. I have stayed at the Four Points at the airport, the larger Sheraton downtown, and the Aloft. All are similiarly priced, but this inn has ALL SUITES and includes a decent breakfast. The service is OUTSTANDING. They will bend over backwards to meet your needs and the staff goes out of their way to assist you, even if you just LOOK like you may have a question. It is not luxurious, but it is extremely clean and well-run. I received good service at the other hotels, but this was exceptional. We usually stay a few days to a week, so that really matters to me. It does not have a restaurant, and the fitness room only has one stairmaster and one treadmill. The pool is very nice. Again, not resort-status, but the price was very reasonable and the amenities more than met my needs. Did I mention the service was excellent?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
“5-Star Service”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your detailed positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property! Your comments will be shared with our team members and they will be recognized for their outstanding service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, our pool area and the additional amenities we offer to our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back while visiting your daughter!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansastraveler74
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Overall, great place to stay. Rooms were very large with a separate living area with a bar and refrigerator. Staff was excellent and attentive. Beds were very comfortable. Loved the area the hotel is in. Nice little bar next door with a great outdoor lounge.

Will stay there again! Highly recommend to anyone!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
“Wonderful place to stay”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! Our team members will be recognized for their excellent and attentive customer service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the nearby restaurants.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was visiting family in Tucson and wanted a quiet, safe and pleasant place to stay for the week. I'm so glad I chose Windmill - room was a true suite having separate area with full couch and 2nd TV. Though the TVs were not flat screen it was not a concern to me at all. Also had a small bar sink area near the mini refrigerator and microwave. In-room coffee very good and plenty of it. Breakfast was the standard "free breakfast" at other hotels but adequate and well stocked. Staff was excellent and very attentive to every detail. Safe location in small upper-scale shopping plaza and Trader Joes is diagonally across the highway. Also a popular walking/biking trail runs along the back of the hotel property. I would definitely stay at Windmill when visiting Tucson again.

Room Tip: I felt comfortable and secure on the 3rd (top) floor. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
“More Space for the Buck”

Dear Ms. Eileen M,

Thank you for your feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their excellent customer service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the quietness of our suite, our breakfast buffet and the security of our property. We are also pleased you enjoyed the nearby shops and walking trail.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back during your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Windmill Suites in Tucson. The front desk staff was amazingly friendly, they had our rooms ready 2 hours prior to the normal check in time, and helped with directions around town. The continental breakfast was great, the pool was perfect for the 5 little boys we had, and the rooms were spacious and CLEAN!!! Even the housekeeping staff made sure to ask if we had enjoyed our stay :) THANK YOU to everyone at The Windmill Suites!! Should we visit Tucson again we will be sure to book with you!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
“Awesome!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! Our team members will be recognized for their outstanding service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our pool.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#32 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.