We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy Customer Service!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lousy Customer Service!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you read my reviews you will see that I generally only report on great places. But, this one was truly one of the worst experiences I have had with customer service. The hotel is located in a good location, has dated furnishings, and a free breakfast without enough tables. All that would have been OK until checkout. My colleague and I were in Tucson for a meeting that was 10 minutes away. We arrived to checkout about 30 minutes before our meeting time. We asked to split the bill for reimbursement purposes. The clerk did so after rolling her eyes. I asked to have my name on the bill for reimbursement purposes. Her attitude got worse. She first refused, claiming it was impossible. I asked her to try to figure it out..certainly we were not the first business travelers to this hotel. She sighed and said again it was not possible. Finally, she said, "OK but it will take me a long time". In the meantime my colleague stayed at the desk and I went to get the car and put our luggage in the car. 15 minutes later she was still working on it. One excuse after another with much attitude and sighing. We said we were going to be late to our meeting and she clearly did not care. When asked to just put my name any place on the receipt she went back and brought the supervisor to us. The supervisor immediately tore into us without even asking if she could help. Minutes before I had overheard the supervisor firmly tell another desk clerk that the answer to a person on the phone with a concern about payment was, "This is the only way we will do this." It is clear that management models for the desk staff that customers are not right and they are to be disrespected. We were 15 minutes late for our meeting. Not OK. Not a place to stay if you wish to ask for anything other than what is typical.

Room Tip: If you can avoid dealing with the front desk...the hotel would be OK. The lack of tables for breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the way you were treated by our team members. This behavior is unacceptable and has been addressed. This is not the Windmill way of treating our customers. There are no excuses for it.

We take accountability for the unpleasant situation you have experienced. We have refunded your stay and in addition we are sending you complimentary gift certificate for a return visit in hopes you will give us a second chance.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    123
    32
    4
    7
See reviews for
130
146
40
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while we did some sightseeing. The room was spacious (nice separate living room and bedroom areas). They had a very quiet and clean pool to use and the free breakfast in the morning was a nice plus. The best thing about this hotel was the location. If you like to walk in order to get your exercise, this place was perfect. There are paved walking paths surrounding the hotel. You only had to walk outside and catch the path. We did this on both mornings of our stay and it was a great way to start the day. The hotel is also located within a small shopping plaza. The shops themselves weren't anything special (except for the place that sold olive oil), but the restaurants were great. We tried Vivace, Scordatos, and Union Public House. They are all in the shopping center and all served wonderful food. On the Saturday morning that we left, there was also a Farmer's Market taking place in the shopping center-lots of fun.

Room Tip: Try to stay above the first floor (hard to keep the drapes open since everyone walking by could see...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
“Great location”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at our Tucson location!

We are pleased you enjoyed the spaciousness and design of our suite, our breakfast buffet, our pool area, the walking trails and the nearby shops and restaurants.

We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a great room with living room, bedroom, bath, and small kitchenette with sink, microwave, and fridge.
Clean, quiet, comfortable. Great staff.
In st Phillips plaza that has great restaurants in immediate walking distance or very close by.
Also, shopping etc

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
“Excellent hotel, great location”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, quietness, comfort and design of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed the nearby shops and restauarants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We checked in on 3/10/2013. A room was given to us on the second floor. As we entered our
Room we noticed someone's personal belongings in a bag on a bed that was already made. We called down to the desk and explained what was in our room. The front desk said please come down and we will give you another room. We went all the way back down stairs to get keys for a new room. This time our room was on the first floor. As we got to our new room all was fine until
I opened the small freezer in the refrigerator to find some ones half eaten ice cream that was left
In the freezer. I called the front desk and someone came to clean out the freezer. On 3/11/2013
We came back to our room only to find cleaning products left in our room by the housekeeper. I took the products down to the front desk. On 3/12/2013 we came back to our room find cleaning
Products left in our room agian. For our first 3 days of a five night stay we had odd house keeping issues. The front desk stAff was great. The hotels location is great. I am a bit perplexed on how trip advisor has this location rated higher then starr pass which we stayed at last year.

Room Tip: Our room was 125
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
“Good value in a great area”

Dear Mr. Mike M,

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at our Tucson location.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced. There are no excuses for it. We have addressed these issues with our team members and have taken corrective action to ensure that situations such as this will not reoccur. We will be sending you a gift certificate for a complimentary night on a future stay.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our property. Our Guest Service Agents will be recognized for their customer service.

We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Andrea at the front desk was extremely sincere, professional, and accommodating. Her friendliness and professionalism were in perfect balance. We will be returning next month because of her excellent customer service. We never felt like we were a bother when asking for help - everyone seemed to genuinely want to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We love Windmill!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
“Above and beyond!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review posted on TripAdvisor!

Andrea and our team members will be acknowledged for their outstanding customer service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back next month!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms are spacious, clean and well-maintained. Beds are very comfortable although room furniture is a bit dated. Service is attentive and friendly although some staff could use a bit more training and hotel accounting system seems a bit antiquated. Included breakfast is on par with other mid-range properties. No on-site restaurant but a number of good options in the plaza and Trader Joe's is a 10-minute walk which means you can make use of the in-room mini-fridge and microwave. For bicyclists, hotel connects to Tucson's excellent bicycle route network. Farmers market in parking lot outside hotel on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Overall a solid choice if you don't want to stay in a resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
“Solid choice in Tucson”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

We appreciate your positive review of our Tucson location! Our team members will be recognized for their attentive and friendly service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed breakfast buffet, our comfortable beds and the nearby restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My family and I were driving into Tucson for a wedding. Our son (1year old) and daughter (5 yrs) were to be ring bearer and flower girl and needed to be at the wedding venue by 2:30pm. We needed to get checked into our hotel early in order to have them take naps and a place to take showers/get ready for the wedding. Naps being the biggest of our concern, anyone else seen a 1 year old exhausted? Couldn't have that at the wedding.
The Hotel had full capacity the night before and the current day as well. Realizing our mistake in not requesting an early check in, and we definitely couldn't wait until the 4pm check in. The Hotel Staff, Christina and Manager Karen were able to request the housekeeping staff to clean our room first and have it ready by 10am for check in. We were able to get the kids in the room in time for naps, and they had great behavior at the wedding thanks to being fully rested! We were greatly appreciative for the extra work from the staff to accommodate us even though it was our short sight that led to the problem. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
“Saved us before the wedding!”

Dear Mr. Chad W,

Your review is most appreciated! Christina and Karin will be recognized for their outstanding customer service!

We are pleased to know we accommodated your needs and that the wedding was a success.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tucson
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#30 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.