We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Suites of Tucson

Save Saved
You added Windmill Suites of Tucson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windmill Suites of Tucson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 127 hotels in Tucson
scottsdale
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a great room with living room, bedroom, bath, and small kitchenette with sink, microwave, and fridge.
Clean, quiet, comfortable. Great staff.
In st Phillips plaza that has great restaurants in immediate walking distance or very close by.
Also, shopping etc

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
“Excellent hotel, great location”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, quietness, comfort and design of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed the nearby shops and restauarants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    123
    32
    4
    7
See reviews for
130
146
40
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterton, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We checked in on 3/10/2013. A room was given to us on the second floor. As we entered our
Room we noticed someone's personal belongings in a bag on a bed that was already made. We called down to the desk and explained what was in our room. The front desk said please come down and we will give you another room. We went all the way back down stairs to get keys for a new room. This time our room was on the first floor. As we got to our new room all was fine until
I opened the small freezer in the refrigerator to find some ones half eaten ice cream that was left
In the freezer. I called the front desk and someone came to clean out the freezer. On 3/11/2013
We came back to our room only to find cleaning products left in our room by the housekeeper. I took the products down to the front desk. On 3/12/2013 we came back to our room find cleaning
Products left in our room agian. For our first 3 days of a five night stay we had odd house keeping issues. The front desk stAff was great. The hotels location is great. I am a bit perplexed on how trip advisor has this location rated higher then starr pass which we stayed at last year.

Room Tip: Our room was 125
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
“Good value in a great area”

Dear Mr. Mike M,

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at our Tucson location.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced. There are no excuses for it. We have addressed these issues with our team members and have taken corrective action to ensure that situations such as this will not reoccur. We will be sending you a gift certificate for a complimentary night on a future stay.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our property. Our Guest Service Agents will be recognized for their customer service.

We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Andrea at the front desk was extremely sincere, professional, and accommodating. Her friendliness and professionalism were in perfect balance. We will be returning next month because of her excellent customer service. We never felt like we were a bother when asking for help - everyone seemed to genuinely want to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We love Windmill!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
“Above and beyond!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review posted on TripAdvisor!

Andrea and our team members will be acknowledged for their outstanding customer service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back next month!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms are spacious, clean and well-maintained. Beds are very comfortable although room furniture is a bit dated. Service is attentive and friendly although some staff could use a bit more training and hotel accounting system seems a bit antiquated. Included breakfast is on par with other mid-range properties. No on-site restaurant but a number of good options in the plaza and Trader Joe's is a 10-minute walk which means you can make use of the in-room mini-fridge and microwave. For bicyclists, hotel connects to Tucson's excellent bicycle route network. Farmers market in parking lot outside hotel on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Overall a solid choice if you don't want to stay in a resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
“Solid choice in Tucson”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

We appreciate your positive review of our Tucson location! Our team members will be recognized for their attentive and friendly service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed breakfast buffet, our comfortable beds and the nearby restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My family and I were driving into Tucson for a wedding. Our son (1year old) and daughter (5 yrs) were to be ring bearer and flower girl and needed to be at the wedding venue by 2:30pm. We needed to get checked into our hotel early in order to have them take naps and a place to take showers/get ready for the wedding. Naps being the biggest of our concern, anyone else seen a 1 year old exhausted? Couldn't have that at the wedding.
The Hotel had full capacity the night before and the current day as well. Realizing our mistake in not requesting an early check in, and we definitely couldn't wait until the 4pm check in. The Hotel Staff, Christina and Manager Karen were able to request the housekeeping staff to clean our room first and have it ready by 10am for check in. We were able to get the kids in the room in time for naps, and they had great behavior at the wedding thanks to being fully rested! We were greatly appreciative for the extra work from the staff to accommodate us even though it was our short sight that led to the problem. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
“Saved us before the wedding!”

Dear Mr. Chad W,

Your review is most appreciated! Christina and Karin will be recognized for their outstanding customer service!

We are pleased to know we accommodated your needs and that the wedding was a success.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 3 relaxing and comfortable nights at the end of February. Unfortunately, I got to verify how comfortable as I caught a flu bug (nothing to do with staying here) and was in bed all 1 day. I mention this as I got to find out how comfortable the bed was and how understanding the staff were. Thanks for be so great.
This is a beautiful hotel in a nice setting within the plaza with a good path to walk on in the back and great restaurants within walking distance. What more could we ask for? The staff were very friendly and accomodating and the breakfast was very good with a good assortment. The nightly cost was very, very reasonable and we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the suite.
The only down side was the hour plus wait we had at check in. To be fair, we had assumed 3:00 check in only to realize when we got there that it was 4:00 as advertised. My only complaint was sitting there, we had the feeling we were forgotten but just as we got up to check, they came to us to tell us the room was ready. Perhaps better communication would helps?
This is a smal point and one that did not affect our stay or take away from what a gem this place is. I would highly recommend it to others and would love to stay again if ever in Tucson.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor close to the elevator but it was still quiet so I expect most rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
“Very comfortable and great place”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your detailed positive feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their hospitality during your stay.

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, our comfortable mattress and the location of our property with the nearby restaurants and walking path.

Thank you for your recommendation! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Windmill Suites while attending the Gem and Mineral Show! Location is perfect and is very safe (apparently a bit of an issue downtown). It was an excellent "home base" for our 3 day stay. The small kitchen area was quite useful and nice to have. The bathroom was large and had two doors (one a pocket door). The suite also had two bathroom sinks. What a convenience! The Windmill is also smoke-free including all rooms, patios, the pool area and all common areas. They have a strict no-tolerance policy that I personally saw enforced. Just a heads up for smokers.

Check in was efficient, quick and courteous. The breakfast was good--a notch above the standard complimentary found nowadays. The breakfast staff was courteous and attentive. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. There is a Farmers Market on Sundays and the Windmill is within walking distance of 2 of Tucson's best Restaurants, Vivace and Scordato Pizzeria.

Overall the Windmill Suites is a good choice for lodging in Tucson. I will most definitely choose the Windmill for my next trip to Tucson.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
“Very good value!!”

Your detailed feedback is greatly appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their courteous and attentive service!

Thank you for your comments regarding the design of our suite and our landscaping. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the location of our property with the nearby restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your return trip to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windmill Suites of Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Suites of Tucson

Address: 4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#29 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Windmill Suites of Tucson 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmill Suites at St. Philip's Plaza is nestled at the northern edge of Tucson in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains. Join us for our free generous continental breakfast or choose to have our ???Windmill Inn Good Morning??? featuring fresh Belgian waffles, bagels and cream cheese, Danishes, fruit, cereal and an assortment of beverages. Windmill Inn offers free wireless high speed Internet access in all rooms. Pets are welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Windmill Suites of Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill Suites of Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.