We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Comfortable, Spotless, Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really Comfortable, Spotless, Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We loved this place. The only reason I couldn't give it 5 stars is the breakfast. The usual boring hotel lobby breakfast. This hotel is super well located, Scordato's Pizza (superlatives apply) is steps from the Windmill. We had a great room, 210, close to the elevator/ice/vending yet we never heard any of that, great layout of the suite, with the bedroom well removed from anything noisy in the hotel interior. The place has been very recently "touched up" and it showed, the carpets were spotless, no stains; the walls were freshly painted, no scuffs, and miracle of miracles, TWO windows which opened and had screens on them. Heaven. The bed was fantastic, linens top notch and new. Towels good, lots of them. Microwave, mini fridge, sink, very nice. Two TVs, not flat screen but who cares. One sink separate from the shower/toilet/sink in the main bathroom, very nice touch. This hotel is in St Philip's Plaza, an upscale shopping/dining location in north Tucson. It was so nice to park the car and then walk to dinner, then window shop (too late, the stores were closed) and get a drink at the pub before bed. Staff very friendly, very accommodating, helpful with finding things in Tucson. Trader Joe's across the street. The hotel keeps bikes for the loan to guests.

Room Tip: Doubt there's a bad room here due to layout of suites. We liked being in the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
“Really Comfortable, Spotless, Quiet”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to write such a detailed positive review regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property! Your comments will be shared with our team members!

Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the location of our property, the design of our suites and the additional amenities offered to our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    141
    38
    5
    10
See reviews for
146
170
41
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My most recent stay at the Windmill in Tucson was terrific. The staff was attentive, the place clean and the breakfast adequate. I really like a clean hotel, one where the staff takes care of the place. Walls are kept painted, the plants healthy, the windows clean, the public bathroom well stocked and the trash emptied.

Room Tip: I like rooms nearest the fountain and facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
“Wonderful!”

Dear Ms. Lois V.,

Thank you for your positive review! Our team members will be recognized for their service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our property. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went down to Tucson (From Phoenix) over the weekend to visit my daughter. Spent one night at the Windmill based on the good reviews. OK, I could summarize the hotel simply by saying good not great. It's in a nice location, the check-in was fine and the girl was friendly. I had to ask for a cookie. The room itself was OK. The bed was comfy, the furniture in general was old and a bit dated. But it is a suite, so you have extra room. Carpet was clean, if you like green, then you would have probably loved it. Bathroom was OK, for as old as the hotel was, it was in good condition. It was a good stay - quiet on the 3rd floor in the rear of the hotel. The breakfast is nothing special, I grabbed a banana on the way out. To say this hotel is excellent, for me that's is a bit of a stretch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service!

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the cleanliness of our carpeting. We are pleased you enjoyed the comfort, spaciousness and quietness of your suite and the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A friend and I stayed 2 nights here. The front desk could not have been nicer. I must give a shout out to Christina. She was so helpful and nice to us. She really made our trip enjoyable. She answered every question we asked in such a delightful manner. Thanks Christina. The room was perfect for the 2 of us. The breakfast was very good each morning. There is coffee anytime of the day or night in the lobby. I would highly recommend the Windmill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
“Very nice place”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property. Our team members and especially Christina will be recognized for making your stay enjoyable and creating a positive experience.

We are also pleased you enjoyed the design of our suite, our breakfast buffet and the other amenities we have to offer to our guests.

Thank you for your recommendation! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay Cove
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We visit Tucson every year and have stayed in short term apartment rentals but for the past three years have made Windmill Suites our home- away- from- home. It has all the conveniences of an apartment but with hotel ammenities. Spotlessly clean linens, very good housekeeping and front desk staff, terrific breakfast selections, and great location are the big plusses. The little things that make it homey are the kitchenette ( ask for the kitchen kit if you would like dishes and flatware for 4, plus dish soap,sponge and towel), the vanity sink and mirror ( separate from the bath area) and cookies, apples and coffee and tea in the lobby at all times. There is a market on Saturdays and a Farmer's market on Sundays right outside in the Plaza. You can pick up terrific organic and homemade goodies for a picnic in the dessert or to take home as gifts.

Room Tip: Some first floor rooms have patios that lead directly to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
“Third trip and it is still a great choice!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! Our team members will be acknowledged for their service during your stay.

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and design of our suite. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the location of our property and the additional amenities we have to offer.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The price, complementary breakfast, and room were all just right. It's location was also a standout. It sits within easy driving distance of most everything in and around Tucson. An unexpected plus was the biking and walking path just outside the hotel. This was a real benefit to getting some exercise in a safe location. Finally, the people who worked at the hotel were all great. Diego, who greeted us, and helped us again as we checked out was great. My wife left behind a part of her Kindle charger. We called about it and they said they would check. We stopped by the next day on our way out of town and they had it waiting for us!
Oh and there are two good restaurants next door: Vivace and Scordato's Pizza.
When we return to Tucson, we will definitely stay at Windmill Suites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
“Great location and helpful staff”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! Diego and our team members will be acknowledged for their hospitality.

We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the location of our property and the complimentary bicycles for our guests’ use.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights - January 23rd and 24th. I chose this hotel based on the excellent experience that my husband and I had at their Phoenix location last November. True to form, this property lived up to my expectations.

The room:
I was in room 207 which is large and features a separate bedroom with a king bed and six pillows. I slept great so I check under the sheets and found I was sleeping on a "beautyrest" mattress. There are two TVs, one in the bedroom and one in the living room. A nice computer desk to write this review. The HVAC system was very comfortable but not noisy like some other hotels I have stayed at.

The amenities:
This property has beautiful grounds which includes a pool and hot tub. The staff lays out towels on the lounges so you don't have to go looking for a towel. There is a fitness center and business center that I used to print out our boarding passes for our return flight. The lobby has a nice selection of daily newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. There is a library of books and DVDs as well as bicycles for the complementary use of the guests. The free wifi had a good level of performance. The breakfast room has gone way beyond the typical coffee and donuts that most properties offer. The Windmill breakfast includes; pastries, bread and English muffins for toast, sausage, bacon, eggs, fruit, yogurt, coffee, juices and waffles. You can eat in the breakfast room, in the lobby or tables outside.

The location:
I really liked the location. First, it is located at St Philips Plaza with PF Changs and Vivace Italian restaurant located nearby. See my restaurant review of Vivace. Second, the hotel is located on North Campbell Avenue in a safe part of town. I had no fear of walking to dinner at night.

The staff:
As I mentioned in previous reviews, the staff can either make or break the experience. The staff here must go to some kind of hospitality university because they do whatever they can to ensure the customer is satisfied. Diego at the front desk did an awesome job!

Shelly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
“Business trip to Tucson”

Dear Steve & Shelly,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed positive review! Our team members, especially Diego will be recognized for their outstanding service!

Thank you for your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, landscaping, pool and hot tub, the location of our property and the additional amenities we have to offer to our guests.

We are also glad you enjoyed the comfort of our mattress.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 North Campbell Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.