We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My most recent stay at the Windmill in Tucson was terrific. The staff was attentive, the place clean and the breakfast adequate. I really like a clean hotel, one where the staff takes care of the place. Walls are kept painted, the plants healthy, the windows clean, the public bathroom well stocked and the trash emptied.

Room Tip: I like rooms nearest the fountain and facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
“Wonderful!”

Dear Ms. Lois V.,

Thank you for your positive review! Our team members will be recognized for their service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our property. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    141
    39
    6
    12
See reviews for
154
176
43
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went down to Tucson (From Phoenix) over the weekend to visit my daughter. Spent one night at the Windmill based on the good reviews. OK, I could summarize the hotel simply by saying good not great. It's in a nice location, the check-in was fine and the girl was friendly. I had to ask for a cookie. The room itself was OK. The bed was comfy, the furniture in general was old and a bit dated. But it is a suite, so you have extra room. Carpet was clean, if you like green, then you would have probably loved it. Bathroom was OK, for as old as the hotel was, it was in good condition. It was a good stay - quiet on the 3rd floor in the rear of the hotel. The breakfast is nothing special, I grabbed a banana on the way out. To say this hotel is excellent, for me that's is a bit of a stretch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service!

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the cleanliness of our carpeting. We are pleased you enjoyed the comfort, spaciousness and quietness of your suite and the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A friend and I stayed 2 nights here. The front desk could not have been nicer. I must give a shout out to Christina. She was so helpful and nice to us. She really made our trip enjoyable. She answered every question we asked in such a delightful manner. Thanks Christina. The room was perfect for the 2 of us. The breakfast was very good each morning. There is coffee anytime of the day or night in the lobby. I would highly recommend the Windmill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
“Very nice place”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property. Our team members and especially Christina will be recognized for making your stay enjoyable and creating a positive experience.

We are also pleased you enjoyed the design of our suite, our breakfast buffet and the other amenities we have to offer to our guests.

Thank you for your recommendation! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay Cove
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We visit Tucson every year and have stayed in short term apartment rentals but for the past three years have made Windmill Suites our home- away- from- home. It has all the conveniences of an apartment but with hotel ammenities. Spotlessly clean linens, very good housekeeping and front desk staff, terrific breakfast selections, and great location are the big plusses. The little things that make it homey are the kitchenette ( ask for the kitchen kit if you would like dishes and flatware for 4, plus dish soap,sponge and towel), the vanity sink and mirror ( separate from the bath area) and cookies, apples and coffee and tea in the lobby at all times. There is a market on Saturdays and a Farmer's market on Sundays right outside in the Plaza. You can pick up terrific organic and homemade goodies for a picnic in the dessert or to take home as gifts.

Room Tip: Some first floor rooms have patios that lead directly to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
“Third trip and it is still a great choice!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! Our team members will be acknowledged for their service during your stay.

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and design of our suite. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the location of our property and the additional amenities we have to offer.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The price, complementary breakfast, and room were all just right. It's location was also a standout. It sits within easy driving distance of most everything in and around Tucson. An unexpected plus was the biking and walking path just outside the hotel. This was a real benefit to getting some exercise in a safe location. Finally, the people who worked at the hotel were all great. Diego, who greeted us, and helped us again as we checked out was great. My wife left behind a part of her Kindle charger. We called about it and they said they would check. We stopped by the next day on our way out of town and they had it waiting for us!
Oh and there are two good restaurants next door: Vivace and Scordato's Pizza.
When we return to Tucson, we will definitely stay at Windmill Suites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
“Great location and helpful staff”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! Diego and our team members will be acknowledged for their hospitality.

We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the location of our property and the complimentary bicycles for our guests’ use.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights - January 23rd and 24th. I chose this hotel based on the excellent experience that my husband and I had at their Phoenix location last November. True to form, this property lived up to my expectations.

The room:
I was in room 207 which is large and features a separate bedroom with a king bed and six pillows. I slept great so I check under the sheets and found I was sleeping on a "beautyrest" mattress. There are two TVs, one in the bedroom and one in the living room. A nice computer desk to write this review. The HVAC system was very comfortable but not noisy like some other hotels I have stayed at.

The amenities:
This property has beautiful grounds which includes a pool and hot tub. The staff lays out towels on the lounges so you don't have to go looking for a towel. There is a fitness center and business center that I used to print out our boarding passes for our return flight. The lobby has a nice selection of daily newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. There is a library of books and DVDs as well as bicycles for the complementary use of the guests. The free wifi had a good level of performance. The breakfast room has gone way beyond the typical coffee and donuts that most properties offer. The Windmill breakfast includes; pastries, bread and English muffins for toast, sausage, bacon, eggs, fruit, yogurt, coffee, juices and waffles. You can eat in the breakfast room, in the lobby or tables outside.

The location:
I really liked the location. First, it is located at St Philips Plaza with PF Changs and Vivace Italian restaurant located nearby. See my restaurant review of Vivace. Second, the hotel is located on North Campbell Avenue in a safe part of town. I had no fear of walking to dinner at night.

The staff:
As I mentioned in previous reviews, the staff can either make or break the experience. The staff here must go to some kind of hospitality university because they do whatever they can to ensure the customer is satisfied. Diego at the front desk did an awesome job!

Shelly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
“Business trip to Tucson”

Dear Steve & Shelly,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed positive review! Our team members, especially Diego will be recognized for their outstanding service!

Thank you for your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, landscaping, pool and hot tub, the location of our property and the additional amenities we have to offer to our guests.

We are also glad you enjoyed the comfort of our mattress.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here a year ago and my only complaint was that the hot breakfast was a bit boring being the same very day. And this time... each morning there was a different breakfast meat! I know it seems small but what a nice touch. There were other bits of day-to-day food variety too.

This time we used the hot tub on a cold end of December night and it was great and hot. The room was so quiet. Only nit is that this is the second time that I've been in a room where the switch on the desk light did not work, and was not fixed during a multiple day stay after informing the front desk. Oh if you get there early enough there's hot fresh cookies at the front desk.

Now a warning - and this has absolutely nothing to do with the hotel management. If you go east on River Road watch your speed. Tucson now has speed cameras and there is one as the road curves to the right near Campbell. Locals know about them but tourists don't. There's others in the area - you can google and find their location.

The hotel is in a great location if you like to hike, as it is near the Santa Catalinas. Try Finger Rock Canyon to the view at Loma Linda, or Pima Canyon. Lots of trails around Sabino Canyon which is not a whole lot further and you don't have to drive in the busy part of town. I wish there was better Mexican food in the area but there's supermarkets and other restaurants.

I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property. Your detailed feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team members.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, hot tub, the quietness of our suite, location of our property and the complimentary hot fresh cookies during check in.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of follow through regarding the desk light not working during your stay. We have addressed this issue with our front desk staff to ensure that situations such as this will not reoccur

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again this year! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#3 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
8.0 mi away
Hilton Tucson East
Hilton Tucson East
#51 of 129 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 North Campbell Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#19 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.