We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They even improve! But warning on speed camera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“They even improve! But warning on speed camera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here a year ago and my only complaint was that the hot breakfast was a bit boring being the same very day. And this time... each morning there was a different breakfast meat! I know it seems small but what a nice touch. There were other bits of day-to-day food variety too.

This time we used the hot tub on a cold end of December night and it was great and hot. The room was so quiet. Only nit is that this is the second time that I've been in a room where the switch on the desk light did not work, and was not fixed during a multiple day stay after informing the front desk. Oh if you get there early enough there's hot fresh cookies at the front desk.

Now a warning - and this has absolutely nothing to do with the hotel management. If you go east on River Road watch your speed. Tucson now has speed cameras and there is one as the road curves to the right near Campbell. Locals know about them but tourists don't. There's others in the area - you can google and find their location.

The hotel is in a great location if you like to hike, as it is near the Santa Catalinas. Try Finger Rock Canyon to the view at Loma Linda, or Pima Canyon. Lots of trails around Sabino Canyon which is not a whole lot further and you don't have to drive in the busy part of town. I wish there was better Mexican food in the area but there's supermarkets and other restaurants.

I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property. Your detailed feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team members.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, hot tub, the quietness of our suite, location of our property and the complimentary hot fresh cookies during check in.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of follow through regarding the desk light not working during your stay. We have addressed this issue with our front desk staff to ensure that situations such as this will not reoccur

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again this year! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    141
    38
    5
    10
See reviews for
146
171
41
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Haven, MI
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and enjoyed the space that the suite offered. We had a comfortable sitting area as well as a bedroom area, wet bar, microwave, frig. We overlooked the pool, hot tub, courtyard. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and had hot & cold choices. Although it was scrambled eggs every morning there were always some topping to add to them. Waffles, oatmeal, cold cereal.
The location makes it easy to get to Sabino Canyon, Saguaro Nat. Park East, Mt. Lemmon and the ride down to Pima Air & Space Museum was simple. Although Campbell and River are busy roads the traffic lights helped with exiting and entering.
With in the St.Phillips Plaza are several restaurants and a coffee shop. Across River is a Starbuck's, P.F. Changs and a few more restaurants.
Behind the hotel is a great paved bike path for walking, running or biking on either side of the "wash". Used quite a bit by locals. Felt safe running at 6 a.m..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
“Great Location for Hiking”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, comfort and spaciousness of our suite. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the view from your suite and the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from about our 8th three week stay and when you compare what you get at this hotel with others in Tucson it is hard to criticise the comfortable true 2 room suites. They have changed the toiletries they provide which I am pleased to say has helped those visually impaired from trying to wash their hair using the body lotion! Now the conditioning shampoo is green and the body lotion white so easy to spot the difference. The hot breakfasts have improved and the addition of English muffins was also appreciated. We were disappointed to only recognise one member of staff from previous visits but the new staff were all very friendly and did their best to help. We had trouble in ascertaining why our TCM (Turner Classic Movies) channel was not available and when I emailed the CEO to ask about this before I'd returned from the Business Centre to the room my husband had been telephoned and received an explanation, apology and compensation. We keep returning each year as do not know where else we would find such comfortable surroundings at such reasonable prices. So close for river walk, hikes, shopping and restaurants/grocery stores and quiet as set back from the road. On arrival home a letter of apology was awaiting us from the CEO for the minor hiccup so they obviously take their promise of 110% hospitality very seriously.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our Tucson property! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service.

We are glad to know you are pleased with our new toiletries, the location and quietness of our property and that you enjoyed our comfortable true two room suites.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice upgraded hotel located in a really good shopping area. Good rates and pet friendly (with NO fee!). Staff was courteous and helpful. Good restaurants and shops nearby. It's not real close to the freeway, but relatively easy to find.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
“Nice Room at a good price”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their courteous and helpful service!

We are pleased you enjoyed the nearby shops and restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here in October 2012 while visiting the University of Arizona. The property is a bit sprawling so plan to walk. It is conveniently located adjacent to a shopping center with restaurants and shops. The property is clean enough and the wifi was good. My major complaint is with the breakfast which was rather meager and not such high quality. Probably not so different than many budget hotels, but it was disappointing compared with the effort that the owners have put into the property's appearance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
“Pleasant hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback!

Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of our suite and our complimentary Internet service. We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our property.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the breakfast buffet back in October. Did you notify our front desk staff of your dissatisfaction? We would have appreciated the opportunity to make it right. Please feel free to contact me on my toll free line at 800-869-4670, as we would welcome more detailed feedback regarding this issue so we can improve.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent 4 days here. The rooms were nice with the "living room" and small kitchen. It was nice having 2 sinks for the bathroom area. The room was quiet. The free breakfast is limited and some mornings there was no hot food except the waffles. All in all we would stay here again as the price per night is good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
“Good value hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property!

We appreciate your comments regarding the design and quietness of our room.

Please accept our apologies for the lack of breakfast items during your stay. This issue has been addressed with our team members to ensure this situation does not reoccur.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Windmill Suites is located in St. Phillip's Plaza, an upscale boutique mall filled with fine dining, shopping and true Southwestern appeal and charm. Children will enjoy their stay here too. Swimming pool, continental breakfast, spacious rooms , and pet friendly. What more could you ask for? Well-- moderately priced!!!

Room Tip: Requested a quiet area. The front desk was most accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
“Comfortable, friendly staff, great location”

Dear Eadieg,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our swimming pool and our breakfast buffet.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 North Campbell Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tucson
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#16 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.