We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite a few niggles remains good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Bath, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Despite a few niggles remains good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from about our 8th three week stay and when you compare what you get at this hotel with others in Tucson it is hard to criticise the comfortable true 2 room suites. They have changed the toiletries they provide which I am pleased to say has helped those visually impaired from trying to wash their hair using the body lotion! Now the conditioning shampoo is green and the body lotion white so easy to spot the difference. The hot breakfasts have improved and the addition of English muffins was also appreciated. We were disappointed to only recognise one member of staff from previous visits but the new staff were all very friendly and did their best to help. We had trouble in ascertaining why our TCM (Turner Classic Movies) channel was not available and when I emailed the CEO to ask about this before I'd returned from the Business Centre to the room my husband had been telephoned and received an explanation, apology and compensation. We keep returning each year as do not know where else we would find such comfortable surroundings at such reasonable prices. So close for river walk, hikes, shopping and restaurants/grocery stores and quiet as set back from the road. On arrival home a letter of apology was awaiting us from the CEO for the minor hiccup so they obviously take their promise of 110% hospitality very seriously.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our Tucson property! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service.

We are glad to know you are pleased with our new toiletries, the location and quietness of our property and that you enjoyed our comfortable true two room suites.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    124
    32
    4
    7
See reviews for
130
146
40
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice upgraded hotel located in a really good shopping area. Good rates and pet friendly (with NO fee!). Staff was courteous and helpful. Good restaurants and shops nearby. It's not real close to the freeway, but relatively easy to find.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
“Nice Room at a good price”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their courteous and helpful service!

We are pleased you enjoyed the nearby shops and restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here in October 2012 while visiting the University of Arizona. The property is a bit sprawling so plan to walk. It is conveniently located adjacent to a shopping center with restaurants and shops. The property is clean enough and the wifi was good. My major complaint is with the breakfast which was rather meager and not such high quality. Probably not so different than many budget hotels, but it was disappointing compared with the effort that the owners have put into the property's appearance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
“Pleasant hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback!

Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of our suite and our complimentary Internet service. We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our property.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the breakfast buffet back in October. Did you notify our front desk staff of your dissatisfaction? We would have appreciated the opportunity to make it right. Please feel free to contact me on my toll free line at 800-869-4670, as we would welcome more detailed feedback regarding this issue so we can improve.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent 4 days here. The rooms were nice with the "living room" and small kitchen. It was nice having 2 sinks for the bathroom area. The room was quiet. The free breakfast is limited and some mornings there was no hot food except the waffles. All in all we would stay here again as the price per night is good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
“Good value hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property!

We appreciate your comments regarding the design and quietness of our room.

Please accept our apologies for the lack of breakfast items during your stay. This issue has been addressed with our team members to ensure this situation does not reoccur.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Windmill Suites is located in St. Phillip's Plaza, an upscale boutique mall filled with fine dining, shopping and true Southwestern appeal and charm. Children will enjoy their stay here too. Swimming pool, continental breakfast, spacious rooms , and pet friendly. What more could you ask for? Well-- moderately priced!!!

Room Tip: Requested a quiet area. The front desk was most accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
“Comfortable, friendly staff, great location”

Dear Eadieg,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our swimming pool and our breakfast buffet.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our daughter moved to Tucson and we visit often from CA. We have a dog, so we needed a pet-friendly hotel. We were so glad we found the Windmill Suites! Even if we didn't bring a dog, we would stay there. The location is in beautiful St. Phillips Plaza along the river walk. The lights of the restaurants and on the trees give the area a magical feel. The hotel itself and the guest rooms are attractive, clean, spacious, and quiet. The desk clerk always gives us a bag of dog treats and if you are in the lobby after 4:00 p.m. you are treated to one of their fresh baked cookies! The complimentary breakfast is pretty typical and does the trick. We have stayed at the Windmill many times and I can honestly say we have never been disappointed. We highly recommend you try it yourself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
“Love this hotel!”

Dear Ms. Elizabeth M,

Thank you for your positive feedback!

We appreciate your comments regarding the attractiveness, cleanliness, spaciousness and quietness of your suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our fresh baked cookies complimentary to our guests.

Thank you for being a loyal guest and for your recommendation! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My room was clean and quite. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. The Windmill Inn is also in a great location. There are shops and great restaurants within walking distance. The pizzeria was WONDERFUL! I would absolutely stay there again. I only had the continental breakfast once during my stay. My only suggestion would be to keep the scambled eggs and sausage warmer-they would barely warm.

Room Tip: I am a light sleeper so I wanted a quiet room. So I had a room on the third floor (302) at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
“Gracious and friendly staff!”

Dear Ms. Ann Marie D,

Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated!

We thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness and quietness of your suite. Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the breakfast issue. Please accept our sincere apologies. We are currently looking into options to resolve this challenge immediately.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Tucson
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#35 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.