We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gracious and friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Suites of Tucson

Save Saved
You added Windmill Suites of Tucson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windmill Suites of Tucson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“gracious and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My room was clean and quite. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. The Windmill Inn is also in a great location. There are shops and great restaurants within walking distance. The pizzeria was WONDERFUL! I would absolutely stay there again. I only had the continental breakfast once during my stay. My only suggestion would be to keep the scambled eggs and sausage warmer-they would barely warm.

Room Tip: I am a light sleeper so I wanted a quiet room. So I had a room on the third floor (302) at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
“Gracious and friendly staff!”

Dear Ms. Ann Marie D,

Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated!

We thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness and quietness of your suite. Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the breakfast issue. Please accept our sincere apologies. We are currently looking into options to resolve this challenge immediately.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    123
    32
    4
    7
See reviews for
130
146
40
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have stayed at Windmill Suites every November for the last 5 or more years and it's always been a perfect fit for us. During our last visit, the staff seemed even more friendly and helpful and often went above and beyond what would be considered very good service. Andrea, Angela, Elisabeth (hope I got those names right!) and others were exceptional. We thought the housekeeping staff was very good as well.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the plaza might be a little noisy on weekends with all of the plaza activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
“Excellent customer service”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for posting a positive TripAdvisor comment regarding our Tucson Windmill! Our team members will be recognized for their helpful and friendly service.

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness and comfort of your suite. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the nearby river walk.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with everything at this hotel. The two-room suite was huge and the bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up in the morning! Breakfast was great with waffles, cereal, eggs, bacon and sausage, pastries and all breakfast drinks. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking is free and convenient. The river walk was an added bonus and I enjoyed taking a walk after an eight-hour car ride. We would definitely stay there again. This is a great value as well.

Room Tip: Check several internet sites for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
“Spacious and Comfortable”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated! Andrea, Amanda, Elisabeth and our team members will be recognized for their “exceptional” service!

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently stayed at Windmill Suites in Tucson and were very pleased with the hotel. The gounds are surrounded by a shopping area of nice shops and several restaurants. One is a wonderful Italian place (Vivace), a small cafe-like place, and a pizzeria. On the weekends there is a farmers market right out the main door of the hotel. Many different types of local vendors to enjoy.
The hotel itself was different in the our room was a suite, but the layout was not your typical room- it had angled walls, two doors to the bathroom and a nice living space with couch and TV. There was also a TV in the bedroom.
At night we never heard any noise from other rooms or hallway to speak of, so that was a plus.
Not really a negative, but our room overlooked a parking lot. But considering the hotels location this couldn't be avoided.
I would definitely return to this hotel when we visit Tucson again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
“Very nice stay”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated!

We are pleased you enjoyed the layout and quietness of your suite and the nearby shops and restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife, Bonnie, and I were there for the AZ State FCE Conference next door at the local AZ State Extension Building. We spend two nights at the Windmill Inn. The rooms were great. Lots of room, a nice couch in a separate room and very clean. The staff was very friendly and easy to work with. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for posting a positive TripAdvisor comment regarding our Tucson Windmill! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service.

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of your suite.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Windmill Inn and Suites for several nights and though it was a very nice place. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. We especially liked being next to the bike path so we could get some exercise while we were there. The only problem we had with the room was with the keypad on the door, which seemed to work in the morning, but left us standing in the hall every afternoon! The staff responded promptly to our situation, even sending maintenance to try to clean the lock. Although it was very annoying, we were treated kindly, and were given a reduction in the room rate as a result of our inconvenience. I would probably stay here again, as the location was a good one for us.

Room Tip: The north side of the property faces the mountains, which we enjoyed seeing each day, especially at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
“Friendly staff and nice place to stay”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their kind service!

We are glad you enjoyed the comfort and quietness of your suite and the location of our property.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you encountered with the door lock. We are pleased to know our staff members handled the situation to your satisfaction.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Windmill estates recently and were very satisfied with our stay there. The pool provided welcome relief to the heat of the day, as did the air conditioning in the hotel.
Breakfast included enough variety to get us started on our days.
Our room was spacious and the bed was comfy.
The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean.
Only thing that was not well attended to was the supply of hot drinks in the lobby. A small thing as could make hot drinks in our room.
If ever we return to Tucson, I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Windmill Suites of Tucson, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
“Family wedding”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service.

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of your suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our comfortable bedding.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not having our lobby well supplied with complimentary coffee, tea and water. We have addressed this issue with our team members to avoid this from reoccurring.

Thank you for choosing us as your venue for your family wedding! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windmill Suites of Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Suites of Tucson

Address: 4250 North Campbell Ave., Tucson, AZ 85718
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#29 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Windmill Suites of Tucson 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmill Suites at St. Philip's Plaza is nestled at the northern edge of Tucson in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains. Join us for our free generous continental breakfast or choose to have our ???Windmill Inn Good Morning??? featuring fresh Belgian waffles, bagels and cream cheese, Danishes, fruit, cereal and an assortment of beverages. Windmill Inn offers free wireless high speed Internet access in all rooms. Pets are welcome at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Windmill Suites of Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill Suites of Tucson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.