We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodging option close to U of A” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tucson-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tucson-North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1375 West Grant Rd, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best lodging option close to U of A”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I've stayed at this property at least once a year for 6 years, while 2 sons went through college at the University of Arizona. This property is a good example of the Hampton Inn brand--clean rooms, comfortable beds, at a reasonable price. The location is adjacent to I-10, though we did not have any issues with freeway noise. There is a Waffle House across the street for breakfast. It's the closest and best lodging option to campus. We were there most recently for graduation, though we have stayed there in the fall for U of A family weekends. Many U of A parents also stay at this property. The staff is friendly and helpful, the hotel, while an older property, has the newest beds and linens in the Hampton Inn chain. I would definitely stay there again if my travels take me back to central Tucson.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Owner at Hampton Inn Tucson-North, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Thank you for writing and submitting a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Tucson. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your loyalty and continued patronage.

We are always very happy when a guest comments about the wonderful experience and service they have received. As soon as I received your comments, I immediately forwarded them to the management of the hotel, who will ensure to share your praise with the staff to let them know what a great job they have done, and also ensure they are recognized for their efforts.

Ours and all Hamptons offer the complimentary "On the House" breakfast buffet, which includes a large variety of hot and cold breakfast items such as fresh fruits and baked goods, eggs, cereals, yogurt, and make your own waffles. If you are in a hurry, we also offer the "On the Run" breakfast bags, which contain an apple, breakfast bar, muffin and water, to take with you. People say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and when you stay with us at Hampton, we want you to be able to start your day in the right way.

We are also big fans of the U of A, and many of our team members have attended or are attending classes there. Its a great school and part of what makes Tucson a great place to live and to visit.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    55
    26
    16
    9
See reviews for
71
51
18
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I stayed here for 2 days. I was in room 509 and picked this room based on the reviews. This hotel is "just off the freeway" and literally so. Right next to a Circle K and another motel (which was much less!). Oh well, what can you do? There is a Waffle House across the street from it, but other than that not much. The other side of the freeway is largely industrial. As Tucson is not that large, I though that its location would not be an issue. However, the speeds in town are very very slow 35 mph and there are no other freeways, so it might be better to chose a hotel closer to the University area. This hotel, however, was very convenient for visiting Saguaro National Park, Arizona-Sonoran desert Museum and St. Xavier de Bac Mission.

The room issued was quite clean. Internet was wifi only and sometimes intermittent (tried to watch video with it and got slow speeds when doing so). Room was larger than your average room with microwave, minifridge, small sofa and desk with chair. Bathroom was full size and had a hairdryer. Bed was soft but was very pillowy--some who like firm beds may not like this. Pillows were down and soft and fluffy.

Breakfast was scrambled eggs, bagels, english muffins, yogurts, sliced fruit, cereal, and beverages. No do it yourself waffles, but enough to get you full. Too much carbs and not enough protein, and I thought the fruit was a bit funky.

There was a loud high pitch from the airconditioning unit, so perhaps we would have slept better if we moved to another room. Staff was nice and quite efficient. Always seemed willing to help out. Workout area was small with just 3 machines. There were 2 free computers in the lobby for those without laptops.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Anyone who has stayed in a Hampton Inn knows what to expect, and this hotel was no exception. Clean, comfortable, standard hotel breakfast, no muss, no fuss. We had no complaints about our stay. This is just a word of caution about a particular room. We were assigned room 519, and when we walked in, heard a constant rumbling sound. We were going to be there for 5 nights, and really didn't want to listen to that. I called the front desk, and the desk clerk (who had been delightful when we checked in) promptly switched us to an identical room on a different floor. #519 is under the AC unit for the hotel, thus the rumble. If you're assigned that room, it would be wise to immediately request a switch out.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Calif.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We arrived after noon and the internet server was down due to overheating. It came back on at night when the desert cooled off. It was only in the low 70's so you can expect it to be worse in the summer when the temp is much higher. You will want to book an even numbered room. We were in 219 and there were sirens and freeway noises all day and night. The heater/AC unit is an in-the-wall unit and I think that the noise from the outside may have been coming through it. The view is of the back of an unused motel closer to the freeway.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I stayed at this hotel recently, mainly because they have a very friendly pet policy. I have a 45 lb labradoodle and wanted to find a clean, safe, comfortable place to stay that wouldn't break into the $150+ range. Hampton Inn provided all of that. The room was very clean and comfortable and I had no issues with anything. More impressive was the staff--everyone at the desk was very friendly and made a big fuss over my 1 year old dog. Needless to say, he is a fan for life and so am I. I'll be heading back through Tucson soon and I plan to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

My mother and I only stayed here for one night while on a road trip from Austin to San Francisco at the end of August. They were in the process of redoing some rooms, but there was no sign on construction anywhere (no dust or noise). The room was large with comfortable beds and plenty of toiletries (with very nice towels). The breakfast was hot and really good (bagels, eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, and more!). They even have a little workout room with a treadmill, elliptical machine and free weights. i think our night there was $79, which isn't bad for a nice safe place off the highway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Nice hotel for the price. Clean and worth the price. Would recommend it to any family with pets, as well. Breakfast is hotel so it saves you breakfast expense.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tucson-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tucson-North

Address: 1375 West Grant Rd, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#29 Family Hotel in Tucson
#30 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tucson-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tucson-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tucson-North Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tucson-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.