We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet, relaxing hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7007 E. Tanque Verde, Tucson, AZ 85715   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #38 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A quiet, relaxing hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

This was my first stay at a Comfort Suites Hotel and if they are all like this one, I would definitely stay at a Comfort Suites whenever I travel.

This is an older property and the wooden stairs were well-worn. I loved the cozy interior courtyards and fountains, however. The security was very good because you had to use your key card to enter the courtyard area. The rooms did not open out to the street, which is important when you're a female traveling alone. The rooms were well-insulated and I could not hear a thing around me.

The room was clean and updated, with a flat screen tv. The bed was very comfortable. I really enjoyed the hot breakfast in the morning. They had a good selection of pastries, eggs, bagels, and yogurt.

The staff was extremely professional and friendly. There was a computer in the lobby for guests to use as well as free Wi-Fi in the room. The entire property is non-smoking, which is fantastic.

The pool and hot tub looked inviting. I would definitely stay at this location again.

By the way, be sure to eat at Eclectic Cafe, which is in the same parking lot as the hotel. It's a terrific restaurant and they give a 10% discount to hotel guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We value the feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve even further. It also makes us feel very motivated to keep getting better. I have to agree with you on the cozy environment in the courtyards. We have a very unique hotel which almost all of our guests love. The feel of the hotel is amazing and I am very grateful that you shared your experience with us. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    89
    33
    13
    15
See reviews for
66
98
25
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bellingham, WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We felt completely sheltered from the outside world. Our room's window faced a wall (we did suggest that they put something in the planter), and the courtyard fountains gave a welcome tranquility. We were in room 405. I'm not sure that the rooms bordering the shopping center parking lot would give the same secluded feeling but every room's doorway faces a courtyard. The housekeeping staff kept the room in good shape during our seven night stay. It took about 20 minutes to get downtown but there were several routes and they were not too crowded. Sabino Canyon and Mount Lemmon were close by. The lobby seating seemed to encourage conversations among the guests. We received good advise from some other visitors. We were there at the end of the big Gem and Mineral Show so the hotel was full. The staff managed to keep up good quality it seemed to me. They were always helpful. When we first arrived the lobby's computer printer was not working, but it was repaired in two days. Meantime, the office would print out items. While we were there, they started installing large flat screen tv's so that will be another improvement. There are many restaurants within two miles. Within the shopping center are the Eclectic Cafe and the Eclectic Pizza Place. Both are top notch. There is also a fast food place and a Mongolian Restaurant in the Center to walk to. We also went in to the tobacco and news shop in the Center. It's worth a visit for their huge selection of periodicals and newspapers. Thus, despite its location where multilane streets intersect, there was enough within walking distance to not feel so trapped. And one could cross Sabino Canyon Road (a pedestrian crossing) to get to another center where there was a Safeway (it was easier to walk than to drive). There is also a residential area backing the hotel if you like to take a walk through a nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I just have to agree with all the positive reviews. This was a great hotel, and I'm sad that we were only staying for a night. The building is unique and the lodge feel makes you quickly forget that Big Lots is sharing the same parking lot. The rooms are huge with clear kitchen, living and sleeping areas. Very clean, too. Just a little stomping was heard from the folks upstairs, but I'm not sure if it was more the fault of the ceiling or the people. If you don't mind driving 15 - 20 minutes or so (Tucson traffic can be unpredictable at times), this would be a great alternative to staying near the UA campus or on the I-10.

We also liked that it was just down the street from our old favorite breakfast place, Millie's Pancake Haus.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My entire team & I are very thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.
We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Cute hotel design with fountains in courtyards.Large comfortable rooms. Breakfast area very nice the staff was very cheerful. Very close to Sabino Canyon recreation area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My entire team & I are very thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.
We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

The beds were soft. The paint, furniture, exteriors are a little old looking, but acceptable. The fold out bed is hard, and only really suitable for kids. The breakfast is okay -- fresh waffles, eggs & bacon, cereal, bagels, OJ. I might consider staying here again, only for a better rate than the $89 rate we got, otherwise i'll probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We have stayed here several times now and love the place. Nice pool/spa area in courtyard setting. Good large rooms. Breakfast was nice and varied and regularly opped up.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

There was nothing lacking here. Beautiful surroundings, great sounds in the beautiful surroundings, quiet for sleeping, and one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept on. We found this location to be convenient as well. It is not in the city center but is in the northeastern quadrant and is very near the gorgeous Sabino Canyon (don't miss taking this in).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon

Address: 7007 E. Tanque Verde, Tucson, AZ 85715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#33 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At Sabino Canyon Hotel Tucson
Comfort Suites Tucson
Comfort Suites Sabino Canyon
Tucson Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.