We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforable room in a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7007 E. Tanque Verde, Tucson, AZ 85715   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Conifer, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comforable room in a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We were in Tucson for a week to explore the area. The staff at the hotel was truly helpful. We arrived early in the day and the management did a great job of preparing a room for us in the section of the hotel that we wanted. Be advised that the hotel is located in a shopping center at a busy intersection. Ask for a room upstairs in the back of the hotel. Although not an upscale hotel, our room was large, quiet, clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable (very important to us!) And the southwestern atmosphere of the hotel was nice - lots of fountains. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby - try Bistro 44. The complimentary breakfast at the hotel was adequate but there are several other good breakfast option nearby. After a week of exploring, we highly recommend the Kitt Peak Observatory, the Sonoran Desert Museaum and hiking in the national parks.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    80
    24
    12
    15
See reviews for
55
89
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
home
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We were so excited to get a break from work and decided to go to Tucson for the weekend. What a disappointment this hotel was. The first night it was so noisy because we heard the old elevator all night and asked to move to another room in the morning. So as we were taking our things from one room to the other we had to go past people smoking at the smoking pole on the only terrace overlooking the pool. What a nice place for casual setting for guest but a smoking pole when it touts its smoke free enviroment..thats false advertising. When we got into bed (in the other room they sent us to) my husband went to set the clock and there were dead roaches on the nightstand ( we should have taken a picture to post but my husband scooped them up with paper and flushed them because we were grossed out). We immediately called downstairs and the clerk said he would have the room cleaned good the next day. There was no manager on duty so we asked that the manager be called in the morning and we wanted some compensation for this. So the person at the desk called the manager and he said he would call back. We waited and waited and Mr. Patel did not call back. We finally just left feeling disappointed. This Choice was a bad choice and we will definately be telling people not to stay there. My husband was looking for a place for business visits for others when in Tucson and this will be on the bad list at work.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQ,NM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

I am an elite gold level traveler with Choice Hotels and stay primarily at Comfort Inn/Suites. This is the first time I ever felt like writing a review about one. It is a wonderful relaxing place with a wonderful, helpful staff. The room was spotless and the pool area and whirlpool were as well. The location is away from downtown but all areas of the city are easily reached. There are several places to eat nearby and some are local favorites. All in all I give this place 5 stars. We almost immediately on arrival began discussing when we would come back! Maybe Christmas!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I visited here with my 80 year old mother and my 28 yr old daughter. All three of us loved this property. The staff was outstanding! We requested a room change and almost immediately it was done--and with smiles all around.
The evening drinks and snacks around the pool was so relaxing!
The breakfast buffet was so much more than I had expected!
Don't let the outside of this hotel turn you off because inside it is wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

I made a reservation about 10 minutes before I arrived at the hotel, due to an issue with another hotel in Tucson.

I was given a rate of $69 for a queen suite. When I arrived at the hotel, I was checked in quickly by a friendly clerk. The hotel has an old Spanish theme to it, and is very pretty. My room was entered from an interior courtyard with a fountain and sitting area. The room was somewhat dark, but spacious, with a small dining area with table and chairs, a sitting area, and a sleeping area. I had a private, fenced patio.

The hotel had a happy hour nightly, with 2 free glasses of beer or wine and snacks. The bartender was a very friendly, nice woman. The happy hour was set up outside near the pool. The pool area is also pleasant, and hedged in with bushes.

I was very happy with the services at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

This is a great place to stay! When we first drove into the parking lot, we weren't too sure though. The hotel is located at the end of a strip mall, across the driveway from Big Lots, and is situated with its back turned to the parking lot. The lobby is a big, beautiful two-story area, very western/woodsy in decor. The hotel has several buildings, all built around separate courtyards with fountains, benches, and lush plantings - so attractive!

Our room was a large corner room - king suite - with a small dining table near the kitchenette (bar sink, microwave, mini-fridge, coffemaker, good counter space), a couch and table, and king bed with end tables and lamps. The lighting was less than great - we hate CFLs! - but okay. The closet was huge - 6-7 ft. long, with bi-fold doors. The bathroom was nicely set up with the sink and counter between the bedroom and the tub/toilet area, with doors between both areas. The hotel was very quiet - we never heard a sound. Breakfast was the usual, with wafflemakers, bread and toasters, sweet rolls, cereals, fruits and juices, etc. Our stay was a most pleasant experience, and we are looking forward to our next trip to Tucson so we can stay there again!

By the way, we would recommend eating at Eclectic Pizza, located at the far end of the mall, and around the corner. Great food, and yummy oatmeal-orange cookies!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

We stayed here two nights while sightseeing in the Tucson area. We chose this hotel because it was close to the places we wanted to visit, the price was reasonable $90 AAA for a King room and we could earn rewards points.

If you are looking for a vacation resort, this is not the place for you. However, if you just want a clean, quiet, place to sleep with some nice amenities, then you will like it. The hotel is on the edge of a strip mall, but the arrangement of the hotel with all the rooms opening out onto the courtyard, makes it very quiet.

The breakfast is the basic Choice hotels fare and is served in the lobby. Not a lot of seating there, but other tables are available just outside around the pool. The rooms have been recently remodeled and are very comfortable, include a microwave and refrigerator. Too bad they didn't replace the heavy comforter with something a little more up-to-date, but the rest of the bedding and amenities are very nice.

The Manager's Cocktail Reception is pretty pathetic--if you are not interested in the daily wine choices (2?), your only other options are orange or cranberry juice, or water. No soft drinks offered and the snacks consisted of a bowl of taco chips and some salsa. We skipped it the second night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Managers reception
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon

Address: 7007 E. Tanque Verde, Tucson, AZ 85715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#28 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At Sabino Canyon Hotel Tucson
Comfort Suites Tucson
Comfort Suites Sabino Canyon
Tucson Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.