We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon to your Saves list
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7007 E. Tanque Verde, Tucson, AZ 85715   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #35 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Great Falls, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Love the Hacienda style,so old-Arizona-experience, love the different court yards & fountains hidden through out like secret gardens, loved the hot tub & pool, used them both and enjoyed the evening social hour! Staff was the best & very accommodating, loved the location at the base of the mountains & wish we could move there! Our room seemed dark but clean, especially the bath & that's all that matters.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    80
    24
    12
    15
See reviews for
55
89
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed here. Our main reason is that it is close to relatives that we came to visit.
We always get a King Suite because of staying several days. The rooms are very clean, the bed comfortable and we like the bathroom arraignment. That said, the room is gloomy looking,green walls and furniture, Needs brightening up. Breakfast is varied, never the same thing every day, scrambled eggs biscuits and gravy, waffles, etc along with plenty of breads..Staff always friendly and helpful.
The worst problem is there card keys, you never if they will work or not. At one time I was carrying 6 so maybe one would work.
Never had a problem with traffic noise.
We plan to go back next time in Tucson.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our, Hacienda style hotel with wounder full courtyards with water fountain. I am also glad you enjoyed a wonderful hot breakfast buffet. Our pool and oversize spa is heated all year around for your pleasure. We also offer a wonderful social hour daily by our pool side.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking and long walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My partner and I came here for a wedding weekend. Despite the fact that it is located in a shopping plaza, the hotel is very quaint, open and charming. The staff was very friendly. They have a great happy hour every evening. The pool is small, but nice. Everything was clean and well kempt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our, Hacienda style hotel with wounder full courtyards with water fountain.We also offer a wonderful hot breakfast buffet daily. Our pool and oversize spa is heated all year around for your pleasure. We also offer a wonderful social hour daily by our pool side.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking and long walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groundpounders
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

So, let me start by telling you how the front desk clerk (I'm assuming it was a manager) clocked me for $50 bucks in additional pet fees. When we arrived, we were told, several times by the front desk that the pet fee was $25 for our 3 night stay. Upon check out, voila....not only was it now $75 dollars, but the gentleman then turned a small sign around (that had previously been facing backwards and was not there during check-in) that the pet fee was per day. I generally don't write reviews, primarily because I tolerate a lot with out complaining. The front desk clerk compelled me to give an honest assessment.
Firstly, the hotel is in a shopping mall parking lot diagonally across from an extremely busy intersection. During the night time hours, when the traffic slows, cars can be heard screeching their tires around the intersection. I was fairly sure that from the sound, that there was some street racing going on.
Within several hundred feet of the entrance to the hotel, sits a dry cleaners. The employees from the dry cleaners park in the hotel parking lot while the dry cleaning business is going. I believe it is a 24 hours service. The drive through window for pickup runs directly in front of the hotel and dry cleaning patrons will run you over if you try to walk in the parking lot.
On the south gate of the hotel is a metal security door. At the base of the door is a large mouse/rat hole. There is rat/mouse feces in a 3 foot diameter around the hole. The mice appeared to be entering the walls of the hotel. This was confirmed when, during the night, I heard what sounded like mice burrowing in the walls.
As for the room, it appeared to have been renovated in the 90's and not done again. The carpet looked as if it was taken out of a heavily travelled airport. We were afraid to put our feet on it. We wore shoes. The courtyards all had a rustic look. (if you want to call it that to avoid the fact that they too are in shambles) My two kids cleaned the pool each time they entered by removing insects with a net.
To add insult to injury, our 3 night bill came to over $450 with the help of 4 separate taxes for each night and the fact that the clerk/manager was not bashful about the fact that we were not given correct information regarding the pet charge. I guess he needed the money for something other than improvements.
If you are not from this area, just know that this hotel is not at a canyon, in a canyon or remotely by a canyon but it is probably in eye sight of a canyon with excellent binoculars. The area is very dilapidated, just like the hotel.
On our final day there, we arrived at the lobby breakfast at 0630 (the time it was advertised to start) in the hopes that we could quickly eat, check out and leave. At 0640, the hotel employee arrived and slowly began putting things out despite several people obviously waiting to leave.
I must say, I felt robbed while staying there. If Comfort Suites knew how this hotel was being run, I think that they would try to save their good name and disassociate themselves from it.

Room Tip: Got to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We loved the look in the photo because it looked like the motel was smack in the dessert (good photo cropping)...off the beaten path. But it wasn't. It's located right next door to a Big Lots, a cleaner and off a road where there's lots of traffic but it's not dirt road desert we were thinking it was. And that's okay because the rooms were comfortable, (with 3 lamps plus a light from the sink area, how could they be considered dark?) the hot tub was clean (I didn't dip in the pool but folks who did had fun), the morning breakfast provided each day in the lobby was very good and it's easy to get to from I-10 and downtown. Their small and cute courtyard is hidden within the structure. The staff behind the desk were so helpful in their suggestions for restaurants to eat at. You'll read about them in my next reviews because they each deserve attention of appreciation. So, in short, when you're in Tucson, check Comfort Suites out because you won't have to worry about anything else. Be sure to use your AAA card.

Room Tip: Room 301, a ground floor room, had a window facing the courtyard...not the parking lot or a wall. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our, Hacienda style hotel with wounder full courtyards with water fountain. I am also glad you enjoyed a wonderful hot breakfast buffet. Next time you are back in town after you have enjoyed our Tucson mountains and hike and would like to relax take a dip in our heated pool and oversize spa. You can also enjoy our happy hour which is offered daily while sitting and relaxing in our spa.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking and long walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon in February for the Tucson Gem and Mineral show with mixed results. We nick-named it "the penitentiary". The rooms were very dark and ours had a window facing a wall and a pile of dirt. The courtyard was dark and gloomy, but the breakfast was pretty good.
The room had comfortable beds and a small kitchen and dining area which was very useful for our needs, but the toilet wasn't working properly, and kept filling up every five minutes making a whishing sound, the coffee pot was broken and the faucets in the kitchen came off the base every time we used it.
We complained several times and NO-ONE attempted to rectify these problems which was very disappointing. The did offer to have us change rooms, but as we were there on business and had a lot of stuff and we were only there three days, we decided to stay in the room as they said that maintenance would look after the problems. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our second stay at the Comfort Suites. It is designed to look and feel like an adobe building. The inside rooms are dark but we fortunately didn't spend much time in the room. The outside rooms with sofa bed are great for families and unrelated adults sharing. They have a nice pool, lots of parking, and a great location for downtown and the eastern side of town. The staff is very helpful. Close to Sabino Canyon and good restaurants. The breakfast has many choices from fresh fruit and yogurt to waffles and syrup.

Room Tip: Ask for outside room not facing Tanque Verde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our, Hacienda style hotel with wounder full courtyards with water fountain. I am also glad you enjoyed a wonderful hot breakfast buffet. Our pool and oversize spa is heated all year around for your pleasure. We also offer a wonderful social hour daily by our pool side.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking and long walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon

Address: 7007 E. Tanque Verde, Tucson, AZ 85715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#28 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At Sabino Canyon Hotel Tucson
Comfort Suites Tucson
Comfort Suites Sabino Canyon
Tucson Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.