We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well managed, friendly professional service, fine breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7007 E. Tanque Verde, Tucson, AZ 85715   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #44 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Silver City, NM
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean, well managed, friendly professional service, fine breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has all inside entrances, courtyards with fountains, heated outdoor pool, large reception area and meeting rooms. Breakfast is served in the reception area. It included waffles, pastries and muffins, eggs (small pre-made omelets), bacon... The eggs and meat are on one side of the large fireplace and everything else is on the other side. I'm guessing that some who complained about breakfast only saw one side.

This appears to have been a luxury hotel a few years ago. It is still in good shape and the rooms are kept up, but there were some maintenance issues. In our room 113 there shower surround was cracked and repaired, and the room had a strange smell which was only noticeable when first walking in. Our room was definitely not a suite but we didn't expect it to be. It was larger than most economy hotel rooms, with plenty of electrical outlets. There a small table with two chairs, a TV and an easy chair.

We stayed in mid-January when most Tucson hotels have inflated prices. The price was reasonable and the hotel was quiet. It is in Northeast Tucson near the foothills and is one of only two in the area, with Ramada across the street. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our, Hacienda style hotel with wounder full courtyards with water fountain. I am also glad you enjoyed a wonderful hot breakfast buffet.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking and long walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    69
    22
    12
    15
See reviews for
45
78
20
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

After a terrible experience at the Econo Lodge on our first night in Tucson we arrived at Comfort Suites early in the morning and were met by a really lovely young woman who was able to give us a good price and check us straight into a room that was ready. Her attitude was indicative of the great service we would receive during the remainder of our stay at Comfort Suites.

Our decent sized king room was clean, fully equipped (TV, coffee maker, fridge, microwave, iron, ironing board etc) and very quiet giving us probably the best sleep of our two weeks in the States. The grounds of the hotel are very nice with an outdoor pool and hot tub that are open until 9pm. There is also a little bar that does happy hour 6-8pm though on the Sunday it seemed to be 5-8pm. Cans of lager are $1, margarita (out of a bottle but still ok!) is $3 and there are free chips and salsa. We had a couple of really enjoyable evenings relaxing with a few drinks in the hot tub and there seemed to be live music in the restaurant area too which added to the atmosphere of the place.

The breakfast is included in the room rate and there was loads of choice including scrambled eggs, bacon and even a waffle making machine - just another thing that added to the great value of the hotel. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance, ask and the staff will happily recommend places for you to try - they also gave us vouchers for half price meals at a nice little cafe across the car park.

Although Comfort Suites is not in the centre of Tucson it is only a short drive and very easy to find. It is also well located for other activities such as horse riding in the Saguaro NP which was one of the highlights of our holiday.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay in the beautiful Tucson.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our unique hacienda style hotel with wounder full courtyards with water fountain. I am also glad you enjoyed a wonderful night sleep in one of our spacious king room. I am also very happy to hear you were able to our pool side happy hour which is offered daily. Our guest also like the fact we are located on restaurant row, where one has many choices of different cuisine to choose from..

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Tucson, Sabino Canyon Comfort Suites in January 2013 and it was a wonderful exprerience. The staff was always gracious and friendly and went out of their way to greet me, to answer questions and to deal with the few minor issues that came up. The room was exceptionally clean and well made-up and the minor but distant noises I did hear were not distracting nor disturbing to my sleep. The only possible complaints I could have was that there was no clock in the room and the eggs/bacon at breakfast were pretty pathetic, but everyone thing else was fantastic. I'd happily stay at this hotel again. The price was a terrific value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

We truly appreciate your business and your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our unique hotel with 4 water fountain courtyards. I am also glad you enjoyed a wonderful night sleep in our spacious rooms.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Staff was wonderful, complimentary breakfast was fine, room was large and clean. Nothing out of the ordinary, but it was a great value for our purpose (we were visiting friends and did not spend much time here) and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our, Hacienda style hotel. I am very please to hear your stay with us was relaxing and enjoyable.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After a day at the Arizona-Sonora desert Museum and driving through the Saguaro National Park West we heaed to our room. From the hotel photos we saw on the web we thought this hotel was in a quiet, remote location. The hotel is located in a very busy area with lot's of businesses around. Once you get inside it is very peacful and decorated quite nicely. When we checked in we put our stuff in our room and then went down by the pool for some cheap $2 beer, $3 margaritas, free pretzels, chips and salsa. Afterwards we went to the check-in desk to ask for a reccomendation for dinner. We were looking for Mexican/Southwest since it was out last night and they suggested Guadalahara. Great food with salsa made right at your table! Upon our return we had a very quiet nights sleep in our king bed. Next morning we had the free breakfast and headed to Saguaro National Park East before flying back home. We paid $63.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our "Hidden Jewel ", Hacienda style hotel with wounder full courtyards with water fountain. I am also glad you enjoyed a wonderfull night slepp in our king bed room. I am also very happy to hear you enjoyed our happy hour by the pool, which is offered dayily.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood Mn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent 6 nights here in early Dec. because of the illness of a family member. Everything was perfect. The staff is VERY friendly and accommodating. The breakfast had an omlette unlike other hotels which offer scrambled eggs. The facility has open courtyards which we found so pretty in December since we are from Minnesota. Also, the Christmas decorations were beautiful. We highly recommend the Comfort Suites in general and the Sabino Canyon location in particular.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our unique hotel. Our Hacienda style hotel with wounder full courtyards with water fountain. I am very happy to hear you had a great stay and you had a chance to enjoy our beautifull setting of the courtyard and enjoyed our christmas decor.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chama, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights here recently in a suite with 2 doubles and a pull out sofa. Loved the hot tub and pool as the weather was rainy and cold the whole time. The kids spent most of the time in the pool and it was a very nice temperature.
The location is a bit 'strange', it doesn't look quite right for a hotel. Once you find the lobby (it doesn't face the road) it is really quite nice.
Breakfast in the morning was good. Lots of choices and a good chance to fill up until lunch time.
The only complaint was the pull out sofa-bed was really uncomfortable, but then again, when aren't they?
Would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our unique hotel. Our Hacienda style hotel with wounder full courtyards with water fountain. I am also glad you enjoyed our spacious suites with a sofa bed, which is offered in all our suites. I am very pleased to hear your kids also enjoyed our outdoor heated pool in the rain.

Our guests always love our convenient location close to the Sabino Canyon, Mt. Lemmon where they enjoy hiking and biking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon

Address: 7007 E. Tanque Verde, Tucson, AZ 85715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#36 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At Sabino Canyon Hotel Tucson
Comfort Suites Tucson
Comfort Suites Sabino Canyon
Tucson Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.