We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for UA parents” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Marriott University Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tucson Marriott University Park to your Saves list
Tucson Marriott University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% This Summer!
Ranked #50 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place for UA parents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Have stayed at this hotel many times when visiting my daughter at UA. Great location to walk to the school, fun shops and restaurants on University Place. The staff is always so helpful and nice. Love the cookies in the afternoon at the front desk and the water with lemon at the desk in the summer. Have only been to the restaurant downstairs at breakfast and is was good. The staff is great about printing off directions to local shops, etc. But I do not understand why the internet is not free. With the price of the room being what it is, this should be included. Many other hotels that are less expensive have free internet.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    133
    47
    17
    14
See reviews for
93
38
23
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

University Park Tucson was ideal for my husband and I to see how our son was doing at U of A. We left the younger kids at grandmas because we knew this hotel is not for kids. We stayed in a King room on the concierge level, and it was a bit pricey. The evening social hour, was just a room down the hall from us. The had out some cheese, crackers, and grapes. The waiter guy asked for my id before he would serve me a drink, even though both my husband and I have grey hair. So I had to go back to the room and get my license. The hotel’s location was great for our son. He was able to walk over after classes, and the hotel was very close to his dorm. Since we didn’t get to spend that much time with him, it was just about worth the extra money to be so close to his dorm. For the money, there are other luxurious hotels in Tucson that I prefer. For the location of being right next to U or A, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Excellent room, service, and location. This is one of the #1 best hotels in Tucson, so I highly recommend it. Great rooms. And the service is excellent. Very friendly and helpful. I'm a tough person to please and this place is great! But, it is designed for someone traveling on business or to see the University.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

A decent hotel, but for $270 a night I could have stayed at one of Tucson's luxury resorts, either way I'd still have to take taxis everywhere. Seemed like a pretty bad value in comparison.

I struggled to find a hotel in the city center of Tucson (where my business activities were) that had any life to speak of nearby. Near the convention center and most of the downtown area looked pretty dead - no active restaurant or shopping areas. So we stayed near the University, and the Mariott is in a great location there, nestled among a cute block of shops and restaurants.

Rooms are nice - more sleek and updated than the dated lobby, which is a replica of early 90s era Embassy Suites (think fake plants and rocks and mini waterfalls, glass elevators facing the atrium, and a restaurant in the middle of the lobby floor.) Stayed on the concierge level which was pleasant and had good mountain views.

My main problem was that for the $270 I spent per room per night, I could have stayed out at the JW Marriott Starr Pass or the Westin La Paloma or any of the other lovely, sprawling desert resorts. Even being near the University, we ended up having to take taxis to any truly nice restaurant or any business function. So we might as well have been at one of the luxury resorts for the price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

My daughter and I stayed here while visiting the University of Arizona on a college road trip. The hotel couldn't be in a better location if the campus is your destination, literally a block away from everything. Every employee we came across, from the valet guys to the front desk staff, were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was large and comfortable. There is a large restaurant on the lobby level where we had a breakfast. As with every hotel I have ever stayed in, the food is ridiculously expensive. However, the hostess and waitress were on their game and were friendly and efficient. The food wasn't too bad either, just expensive (you pay for the convenience). My only complaints were the fact that internet wasn't free (seriously, it's 2009 and you're still charging for internet?) and the bathroom could have been a little cleaner. With that being said, I would stay again at this hotel in a heartbeat and plan to do so for orientation, move-in, and parent's weekend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, MA
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

This is, of course, a chain hotel, but a good one in a fine location, especially if you plan to visit the University of Arizona. The rooms are clean, substantial in size, and comfortable. The bed was particularly comfortable. Extra towels are available in the room. There is a ironing board, iron. Internet is available. A large modern TV is in every room. There is a small in-house restaurant that serves until 9, but the same menu is available in the lounge area until 11. The same restaurant is the breakfast area and the buffet is a bargain. Especially nice is the fact that pancakes or waffles are made to order, not left steaming and getting soggy. Also made to order are all manner of eggs. Breakfast is first-rate at the Marriott. Newspapers are available free as are fresh baked cookies in the lobby (from a fine bakery very close by). Fresh water with lemon is also always available in the lobby. I expected much less from such a hotel, but was pleasantly surprised. I would return any time I needed a place near the University at a good price. I have stayed at the Arizona Inn, La Paloma and Ventana Canyon. All are superb in every way, but all are much more expensive. The value/price ratio is higher here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

My wife and I took our 2 month old to Tucson on a short weekend getaway. We both attended the U of A and wanted to stay close to be within walking distance of everything.

This is the 3rd time i've stayed here and I've always really enjoyed it. It has a great atmosphere with the giant atrium in the middle with the restaurant and bar below. It has a decent pool (a must in the arizona sun) and good fitness facilities. the staff are all very friendly and helpful.

the rooms are very comfortable. nice, huge, comfy beds. clean and classy bathrooms. a good-sized flat screen tv. i have no complaints about the room at all.

the best part about the hotel by a wide margin is its proximity to the university. it's about a block away from the main gate entrance. it's a 1 minute walk or less from the shops, restaurants, and bars on university blvd. if you're coming to Tucson for the U of A, it's an absolute no-brainer to stay here. even if you don't have business at the U of A, this is still the best location to stay in tucson in my opinion. the only possible exception being the arizona inn if you have money.

i definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tucson Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson Marriott University Park

Address: 880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tucson
#37 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson Marriott University Park is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Tucson Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Marriott University Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.