We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Marriott University Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tucson Marriott University Park to your Saves list
Tucson Marriott University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #50 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

This is one of the nicest Marriotts I have stayed in. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom is large but might need a little updating, but is sufficient and clean. The pool is small, but clean.
The location is very close to the university and there are lots of restaurants and shops. The views of the mountains are great. The staff was helpful and friendly. When travelling I seem to have a problem keeping the room cool enough at night, but this hotel room was cool and the bed comfortable.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    132
    45
    17
    14
See reviews for
92
38
23
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Location is right on the edge of campus. Lot's of restaurants outside the door. Hotel is typical Marriott Quality, which is good and predictable. Parking was free as we stayed on a weekend.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

I stayed at the Tucson Marriot University Park for four nights in January while on business travel. The accomodations for myself and my colleagues were great: beautiful, very clean rooms, nice conference rooms, and great views of the mountains (at least from my room, #609 - advise that side of the building for good views). The staff was very friendly and accomodating as well.

The hotel is situated nicely so that you can walk to the university, and the street behind the hotel has lots of nice shops and restaurants. Everything you need is within walking distance.

The only negatives were as follows: exceedingly slow elevators, strange stair configuration (stairs to first floor take you outside the building rather than keeping you inside), and can hear what's going on in the atrium from your room in the early AM hours. Other than that, was pleased in every way. Recommended!

  • Liked — The room & the view
  • Disliked — The elevator speed - slow! Always seem to be waiting for them.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

We stayed at the Tucson Marriott University Park to visit some family in Tucson. The rooms were large and very clean, however the rooms with 2 beds only had doubles (not queens). This may be fine for business travelers but not very good for a family of 4. At Thanksgiving, the hotel was nearly empty as was the nearby university, so there did not appear to be much to look at. The hot tub was nice (for 4) and the pool was very cold. They apparently charge for parking across the street in the garage but not at the Holidays. Overall, I wouldn't rate this hotel higher than 3*, but it was clean and reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

I spent one night at the hotel for a business event the next day at University of Arizona. Overall, I was happy with the hotel, I really only have one complaint, albeit something that may be a deal-breaker for light sleepers.

The hotel is designed in Embassy Suites fashion (with all rooms surrounding a large central atrium). The noise from the atrium (restaurant patrons, water feature, piano) carried up to my room on the 5th floor and was very annoying. I was able to eventually drown it out by keeping the a/c running on low all night.

Otherwise, a great stay. The room is large and mine even had a good-sized balcony. New, flat screen television and work desks equipped with all the a/v hookups necessary. The lounge downstairs served good food and drinks, the bartender was friendly. The exercise room also had a good selection of relatively new equipment.

As far as proximity to UofA, it was perfect, I was able to keep my car parked and the hotel and walk to my event in under 5 minutes.

I would stay again, but ask for a higher floor and know the a/c trick, as I am a light sleeper.

  • Liked — Location, large and modern room
  • Disliked — Atrium noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustang, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed at this Marriott two nights last week and found it to be about what we expect from the full service Marriott.
I reserved a standard room online and was surprised and pleased when the check in manager gave me a free upgrade to concierge without me asking.
The staff was extremely nice and eager to please.
We chose to use valet parking since the self parking garage was too far to walk.
I do recommend you call the valet before going down for the car since they park in a multi-level garage across the street and down half a block, and it takes a while for them to jog over there (100 yards) and then drive back. That seems odd since there is a parking lot immediately across the adjacent street from the hotel entrance and valet stand, and they could be parking within 20 yards.
We enjoyed the continental breakfast in the concierge lounge (cold cereal, fruit and sweet rolls). One thing to look for is the carrot cake in the concierge on Tuesday nights, which is as good or better than what I get at my favorite deli in New York.
The faux river which runs through the lobby atrium was refreshing in a desert city like Tucson. I did not hear the water rushing noise on the 12th floor. I did notice that the humidity level in the rooms was a bit high; maybe it was due to the indoor river or due to the thunderstorms in the area, but it could also be the hvac unit in the rooms. They have those occupancy-sensing thermostats that shut off if you are not in the room, which bugs me because the hvac unit cannot dehumidify the room if it is not running. In any case it was not bad enough to even mention to the management, and was ironic to even have a question like that in the desert.
Still I would recommend this hotel highly and will definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Great concierge
  • Disliked — Valet Parking - okay once we learned to call in advance
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

This was a bery nice and clean hotel. The location was great. Within walking distance to bars and restaurants. I agree with the other travelers that due to the layout the sound travels, but the room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very attentive and courteous. Only drawback is the price. This is a nice place, but not worth paying over $200 a night.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff.
  • Disliked — This place is overpriced.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucson Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson Marriott University Park

Address: 880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tucson
#34 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson Marriott University Park is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Tucson Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Marriott University Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.