We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Hotel Near the University of Arizona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Marriott University Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tucson Marriott University Park to your Saves list
Tucson Marriott University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #50 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Hotel Near the University of Arizona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott University Park for the U of A college orientation, June 8-10. The hotel was clean and our room was excellent. The service personnel were very pleasant and helpful. The bellmen/valets went out of their way to say hi and offer bottles of water. The hotel is very close to the U of A campus which makes it very convenient for access. It is also close to restaurants and stores on University Ave.

Room Tip: We stayed on the east side which was a little noisy due to trash/delivery trucks in the early mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments on the Tucson University Park Marrriott. I am so happy that you enjopyed your stay and that the staff responded well to your needs. I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again very soon. One bit of advice that I like to pass on to guests who may be attending a major event at the University of Arizona such as Parent's Weekend, Homecoming and Graduation is to book your reservations early because we generally sell out fast for those events. Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    116
    41
    17
    12
See reviews for
85
34
21
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My brother stated at the hotel and we all visited the pool it was a Saturday night and there was a weird film on the pool I am hopping from sun block through out the day. It was kind of nasty and the pool is pretty small, but no that bad of a hotel and in a nice central location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review of the hotel. We do test the pool twice a day for proper chlorine levels and that checked out to be fine. I think your observation was correct regarding a film of sunscreen which eventually was removed through the filtration system as the next day there was no observation of this film during the morning reading. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and I have instructed the Engineering Department to be more observant of this kind of occurance. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to serve you again in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is the perfect location for visiting the University of Arizona. We will be spending a lot of time at this hotel. Great staff at the front desk. Very helpful with campus directions. Only 10 minutes from the airports and right on campus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you so much for filling out a review of the Tucson University Park Marriott. We are pleased that our location suits your needs and hope to serve you many times on your visits to the University of Arizona. Please remember to book early on special events relating to the University such as Parent's Weekend, Homecoming and Move In Week as those dates fill up rather quickly. It's our pleasure to serve you, GO Wildcats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Small conference of about 60 for UA Function. 20 guest stayed in the hotel. All were very happy with the accommodations. The break-out rooms were great, well set up and with good service. If we needed anything, staff was on hand to help. Dinner was nice, dietary restrictions (including Kosher) were accommodated. Cash bar worked well. Only inconvenience is that A/V is not built into break-out rooms or dining room (no ceiling mounted projectors). But Director of A/V - Dan Maglione - was on site and helped with set-up. Note to academic professionals BRING YOUR OWN LAP TOP if you plan to use technology.

Room Tip: I didn't stay there, I organized the conference, but I've toured the rooms and they are all...
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't observe anything good or bad that would help me form an opinion.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thanks for filling out a review on the Tucson University Park Marriott. I'm very happy that you had a successful meeting and that our AV Manager was able to take care of your needs. We appreciate your business and hope we have another opportunity to serve you again in the near future! Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I know that it was graduation weekend but this hotel needs a lot of work to get even a passing grade - disinterested staff and management that does not seem interested in what is going on at the property - I tried to reach out but got no response so the bad review results. An outdated property run by a staff that does not care - good location for university of Arizona events but nothing else - stay elsewhere if you care about service and room that you stay in

Room Tip: Stay some where else
See more room tips
Green Features: there are none to speak of did not see anything that allowed or encouraged recycling of anything
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our property. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during the graduation of the University of Arizona. I have talked with many guests this weekend who had a great experience other than the weather being very warm during graduation on Saturday night. I appreciate your feedback which gives us an opportunity to improve. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

For any Univ. of Arizona function this is the location ! A full service hotel with all amenities. Checking in can be a parking challenge, as the valet area is very small and traffic is highly congested. The concierge lounge is so-so compared to other Marriotts. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Housekeeping was hit or miss: one day no towels, toiletries, the next fully stocked.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators and pool plumbing. The noise can be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey on the Tucson University Park Marriott. I'm glad that overall you had a good stay and found are location to your liking. I apologize for you not getting your towels each day and I have made the Executive Housekeeper aware of this issue so it can be corrected. We hope that we have another opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thanks so much for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was here in mid-April for a conference, and it was a very nice venue. The conference rooms were convenient and well appointed (the chairs were more comfortable than many other venues) and the food was actually very good. I can see where the location would be a big draw for folks who need to be close to the University.

My individual room was very basic - no microwave or fridge - but there were ice machines available at the ends of the floor. The bed was comfy and there was a little mini balcony with one chair. One morning, maid service forgot the serving cups to go with the in-room coffee maker, but everything else was properly taken care of. The morning newspaper outside my door went unread, but there is a convenient desk and outlets for setting up your computer. Wi-fi is overpriced, in my opinion. Parking is a bit of a puzzle (look for spaces SPECIFICALLY labled for Marriott guests) but for my conference there was no extra parking charge. The two elevators seemed to be adequate, as there were no long waits. I thought I would take the stairs, one time, and found myself in a rather gross stairwell which did not have access to the lobby.

The conference rate for the rooms was $100 dollars per night, which I thought was very reasonable. The usual rate of 150+ seems to be based on the proximity to the University and not the actual rooms. Overall it was a very comfortable week and I can recommend this location for a 200-250 person conference.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor, facing the lobby, but it wasn't overly noisy. I was on the opposite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review of the Tucson University Park Marriott. I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the hotel and hope we have another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucson Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson Marriott University Park

Address: 880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tucson
#29 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson Marriott University Park is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tucson Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Marriott University Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.