We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was perfect for visiting U of A” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Marriott University Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tucson Marriott University Park to your Saves list
Tucson Marriott University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #50 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Location was perfect for visiting U of A”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Staff was very friendly and rooms were clean and spacious. I went in summer and the rooms were still about $100 per night plus $11 to park in the structure. No breakfast included. Happy hour wasn't that happy either. But there was free fruit infused water in the lobby!

Cannot beat the location though. Close to many restaurants on University Ave and the university of Arizona is essentially across the street. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your visit and found the hotel's location ideal for your needs. One suggestion we have for all people visiting the area when the University has a major event is to make your reservations early as the hotel sells out quickly for most football games, graduation, move in and those kind of events. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    111
    41
    17
    11
See reviews for
84
34
20
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel while making a college visit at University of AZ. The front desk staff was very helpful, giving us directions and a map. It is an easy walk to campus. There were several restaurants close to the hotel, as well. Parking was easy in the garage and we didn't need the car during our visit. We had a nice room on the top floor of the hotel with a good view of campus. The walls were somewhat thin, however. When the occupants of the room next door came in at 3:00 am, we could hear their entire long conversation. It would have been nice to have free wifi. We were in AZ for a week and this was the only hotel that did not include wifi in the price of the room. We will stay here again if we come back to campus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I apologize that you were disrupted by other guests early in the morning, we do have security at night which tries to curtail the noise but there are times when they are not able to react to everything. Thank you for staying with us and I am glad that you enjoy our location. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel has so many favorable mentions for the staff that you start to feel that some of them might be fake...until you go. The rooms are clean and a good size, but the decor is quite dated (that peach-colored, faux-sponge painted wallpaper is obnoxious!). I would go back in a heartbeat though because the staff were quite simply the nicest, friendliest, most helpful hotel staff I have ever come across, anywhere, including at seriously high end places. From the front desk to the housekeeping to the bartender and parking valets, they were just delightful. Happy, friendly staff are usually a sign of great management, so I applaud the management of this hotel for maintaining such great morale.

The pool is small but attractive and clean with a hot tub and plenty of towels and sun loungers. The lobby and common areas were nice, with fountains and little waterfalls and streams.

The hotel is in a great spot, there are many restaurants and pubs on University right around the corner (1-2 minute walk), and 4th Avenue is about a 5-10 minute walk. The parking garage across the street was free at weekends, I don't know what the cost of parking (if any) is during the week. In-room Wi-Fi was free. If you have kids be sure to visit the turtle and koi pond across the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Our staff works very hard at delivering great guest service and it's rewarding for them to hear when guests notice their efforts. We very much appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel truly makes the experience. They are friendly and remember return visitors. One of my favorites has always been Mark L. He goes out of his way to provide exceptional service, remembers personal details about me and makes my business trips so much easier. This hotel has a fantastic team that raises the value of each stay with their professionalism.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review of the hotel and our staff. We appreciate you mentioning Mark as providing you with exceptional service, he does a very good job and it is rewarding to see our team members get recognized by our guests. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

King size bed very very comfortable. The lobby is refreshingly cool after a hot Tucson stroll. the sounds of fountain, creek, little foot bridges....charming. the restaurant/lounge had a decent breakfast offering. nighttime nice for conversation and after dinner drinks or a nightcap. The hotel is convenient to everything around U of A. The parking lot is across the street from the hotel, so you just hope it's not raining. there is a valet though, in case you don't want to park your own car. We spent four nights. all the staff were pleasant. We'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We appreciate the kind words and are pleased that you enjoy many aspects of the hotel and the area. We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott University Park May 12-15, 2013 for an Academic Advising Conference and I was impressed from the minute I arrived. The Hotel staff were friendly and knowledgeable, especially Mark Letcher. Mark checked me in and was professional, friendly and informed. He was efficient and had answers to all my questions about stores, restaurants and the local area. He suggested some fantastic restaurants and knew the locations of everything I needed. He was also willing to go the extra mile and make sure my colleague and I were in rooms near each other. I was highly impressed by the level of customer service from Mark and all the Marriot employees. Thank you Marriott for hiring people like Mark who are the epitome of great service!
I would absolutely stay here again...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a response regarding your stay at our hotel. It's always very rewarding when a staff member is recognized by our guests as being "guest focused." We are very happy that Mark provided you with exceptional service. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

When we arrived that November evening, quite a shock we had, because the Democratic convention had taken over the hotel. Here we were tired and no way to relax.
Until about midnight, when the convention was over, then the hotel was back to business as usual.
The management went above and beyond to make it up to us. They were wonderful.
Great location, near restaurants and shops. All within walking distance. The room we had
was quiet. We were very pleased with Victoria, our room maid, very friendly and kept our room perfect.
We were extremely pleased with the way Management made us feel comfortable.
We will definitely stay there if we ever have to visit Tucson again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks for writing a review of our hotel. We are so pleased that Victoria provided excellent service during your stay. It's very rewarding for our staff members when guests notice their service skills. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucson Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson Marriott University Park

Address: 880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tucson
#29 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson Marriott University Park is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tucson Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Marriott University Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.