We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is number ONE along with a wonderful well maintained property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Marriott University Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tucson Marriott University Park to your Saves list
Tucson Marriott University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #50 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Service is number ONE along with a wonderful well maintained property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Graduation weekend one of their busiest. The service from the restaurant to the front desk was excellent. The food was excellent and the buffet was made to order. The staff all took the time to visit and welcome you as a guest. The manager of the restaurant area went above and beyond to make sure you had a pleasant experience. If you are in the area make sure to make this a place to stay at. Well worth the price.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. It is not off of a busy road and the elevator is not by any rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are so happy that you had a great experience over graduation weekend. I have shared your kind words with the restaurant staff and they were very pleased to learn that they were recognized by our guest as doing a great job in being "guest focused." We hope you have another opportunity to stay with us in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    110
    41
    17
    11
See reviews for
84
34
20
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villa Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Asked front desk staff to update my billing information as my Brother-In-Law had booked the reservation. This took 3 trips to the front and 2 phone calls, not the best use of my time. Requested a refrigerator for our room after 2 visits to the front desk and 1 phone call we were told we were never put on a list for a refrigerator.
Had breakfast at the hotel and after waiting 15 minutes at my table someone came over to ask if I had talked with a server yet. After telling him no, he said someone would be over right away with coffee and water. Coffee 5 minutes later and water 30 minutes later. Thankfully I was not in a hurry... On the bright side the room was clean, location was great.... but the service? I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better but since it is an open atrium all the way up your room will be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I apologize for the service issues that you experienced. Graduation weekend is certainly a very busy time for our operation but that is no excuse for some of the mistakes that were made. I realize that your opinion of our operation is somewhat diminished by your experience but we take your critisism seriously and have addressed your issues with the staff. We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future, thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Right on the edge of the campus and very convenient to the University. Our room was clean and quiet and average in size. Had a balcony with two chairs and a table with a good view in the distance. No minibar or refirig but a refrig was available upon request. Breakfast food was very good but lunch items were not the greatest; however there are many eateries in the neighborhood. Sound insulation was good as University Avenue gets noisy at night. Charged for Wi-Fi in contrast to many lower cost hotels. The room was clean and the staff were helpful and pleasant especially in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on Trip Advisor. Many of our guests are pleased with our location so close to the University of Arizona and we are pleased that you were too. We hope that you have another opportunity to visit our hotel in the not too distant future. Please keep in mind that during many University events such as football games, homecoming weekend, graduation and parent's weekend the Tucson University Park Marriott sells out quickly so we advise our regular guests to book their reservations early. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We loved this hotel which was right across the street from the University of Arizona. You can walk to restaurants and the entire campus from this location. Comfortable beds, great staff, and $11 parking across the street. The fitness center was fine and not too crowded. Clean rooms. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are very pleased that you find our location so favorable. Many visitors to the University of Arizona feel the same way. We hope that you visit our hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was right by University Street which had a number of restaurants.

Consierge lounge had a nice breakfast and appetizers.

Fitness center basic but no complaints.

Excellent customer service.

Overall, good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed our hotel and hope we have an opportunity to serve you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent the weekend at this Marriott to attend an event at Centennial Hall on the University of Arizona campus. This hotel is just a very short walk to the campus and Centennial Hall. It was perfect to park our car at the hotel and walk everywhere we needed to go. This Marriott is also close to lots of restaurants, bars and shops (even a Starbucks!).. It is a perfect location if you have activities on the U of A campus.. The hotel itself was nice though I will agree with a previous reviewer that it resembles an old Embassy Suites layout. It could use some refreshing in the common areas. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. This is the first hotel where we had an overabundance of bath towels. That was a pleasant surprise. We had no issues with our room. We were close to the elevator but were not disturbed by any noise. We did try out the cocktail bar and had appetizers there one night. The food was good and it was enjoyable. We self-parked and were told it was $12 a day but the parking gargage did not charge for the weekend so that was a second pleasant surprise. We plan to return to this hotel when attending future events on the campus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words about our hotel and staff we really appreciate that. You will be glad to know that our hotel will have a lobby renovation in the 4'th quarter of this year. Go Wildcats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is close to everything. Rooms are very comfortable. Staff is excellent especially Raphael in the Concierge Lounge. Always pleasant and super helpful. Perfect job for this excellent employee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are so happy that you had a great stay at the Marriott University Park Hotel. Our Concierge Representative, Raphael takes a great deal of pride in his job and it is so rewarding for not only him but for are entire staff when it is recognized by one of our guests. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucson Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson Marriott University Park

Address: 880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tucson
#29 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson Marriott University Park is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tucson Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Marriott University Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.