We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great University Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Marriott University Park

Save Saved
You added Tucson Marriott University Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tucson Marriott University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #49 of 127 hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Great University Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Right on the edge of the campus and very convenient to the University. Our room was clean and quiet and average in size. Had a balcony with two chairs and a table with a good view in the distance. No minibar or refirig but a refrig was available upon request. Breakfast food was very good but lunch items were not the greatest; however there are many eateries in the neighborhood. Sound insulation was good as University Avenue gets noisy at night. Charged for Wi-Fi in contrast to many lower cost hotels. The room was clean and the staff were helpful and pleasant especially in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on Trip Advisor. Many of our guests are pleased with our location so close to the University of Arizona and we are pleased that you were too. We hope that you have another opportunity to visit our hotel in the not too distant future. Please keep in mind that during many University events such as football games, homecoming weekend, graduation and parent's weekend the Tucson University Park Marriott sells out quickly so we advise our regular guests to book their reservations early. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    107
    37
    16
    10
See reviews for
76
28
19
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We loved this hotel which was right across the street from the University of Arizona. You can walk to restaurants and the entire campus from this location. Comfortable beds, great staff, and $11 parking across the street. The fitness center was fine and not too crowded. Clean rooms. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are very pleased that you find our location so favorable. Many visitors to the University of Arizona feel the same way. We hope that you visit our hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was right by University Street which had a number of restaurants.

Consierge lounge had a nice breakfast and appetizers.

Fitness center basic but no complaints.

Excellent customer service.

Overall, good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed our hotel and hope we have an opportunity to serve you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent the weekend at this Marriott to attend an event at Centennial Hall on the University of Arizona campus. This hotel is just a very short walk to the campus and Centennial Hall. It was perfect to park our car at the hotel and walk everywhere we needed to go. This Marriott is also close to lots of restaurants, bars and shops (even a Starbucks!).. It is a perfect location if you have activities on the U of A campus.. The hotel itself was nice though I will agree with a previous reviewer that it resembles an old Embassy Suites layout. It could use some refreshing in the common areas. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. This is the first hotel where we had an overabundance of bath towels. That was a pleasant surprise. We had no issues with our room. We were close to the elevator but were not disturbed by any noise. We did try out the cocktail bar and had appetizers there one night. The food was good and it was enjoyable. We self-parked and were told it was $12 a day but the parking gargage did not charge for the weekend so that was a second pleasant surprise. We plan to return to this hotel when attending future events on the campus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words about our hotel and staff we really appreciate that. You will be glad to know that our hotel will have a lobby renovation in the 4'th quarter of this year. Go Wildcats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is close to everything. Rooms are very comfortable. Staff is excellent especially Raphael in the Concierge Lounge. Always pleasant and super helpful. Perfect job for this excellent employee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are so happy that you had a great stay at the Marriott University Park Hotel. Our Concierge Representative, Raphael takes a great deal of pride in his job and it is so rewarding for not only him but for are entire staff when it is recognized by one of our guests. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I love Marriott, we are gold members. This property had some issues. When we got to our room, the towel rack fell off the wall. The bedside phone didn't work. I called to ask for a second ice bucket and one was brought - unfortunately it was cracked at the bottom which I discovered the next morning when the desktop was covered in water. The next morning, the A/C started blowing warm air. Only one elevator in the hotel was operational. All that being said, the staff were very friendly and responsive. They offered coffee and rolls in the morning by the broken elevator, and cold water in the afternoon. The items that were broken were fixed quickly. I've just never stayed at a Marriott where so many little things were wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am are so sorry you experienced the issues that you did but I'm pleased that those problems were rectified in an expedient manner. The elevator was out of service not because it was broken but because the state requires all businesses who have elevators to go through a maintenance and testing process. This process does take a couple of days which can be difficult operationally but is certainly essential because it insures our guests safety throughout the year. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit our property again so that we can demonstrate our ability to provide a positive guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location, right next to the campus and mant resturants.

However, upon entering the hotel, it becomes immediately clear that the hotel is very old! It has the look of an old Embassey Suites set up. There is nothing really apealing about the lobby. You can tell it has bot been renovated in years, if ever. Very tiny bar area and resturant.

The rooms had a sterile-cleaner smell to them. They too have not been renovated or updated. The room was clean.

I have come to expect much more from the Marriott, especially for what they are charging at this hotel, almost $200 per night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. The public space is scheduled for a renovation in the fourth quarter of 2013. The ballroom space was renovated this past year and we have received many compliments on that. Our guestrooms were actually renovated five years ago and are due for another update in 2015 although we receive many compliments on the rooms especially in the work space area. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucson Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson Marriott University Park

Address: 880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tucson
#30 Business Hotel in Tucson
#40 Family Hotel in Tucson
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson Marriott University Park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson Marriott University Park is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tucson Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Marriott University Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.