We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Quiet, Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Marriott University Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tucson Marriott University Park to your Saves list
Tucson Marriott University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #50 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Quiet, Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed one night at this Marriott, at the edge of the U of Az campus. The employees I encountered were all friendly and helpful. Although my room was directly adjacent to the elevators, and my stay was on a Friday night, I had a very quiet and restful stay. The hotel is located within walking distance not only to campus, but also many restaurants in the area. It is also across the street from the university parking garage (which is where the valet will park you, if you use them). Staying on a weekend meant my parking was free. The furnishings in the room were very comfortable, the toiletries provided were Bath and Body Works Aromatherapy Orange Ginger, so that felt (and smelled) nice too! I would definitely recommend this hotel if you have business in Tucson.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy that you had a enjoyable and restful stay and hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    110
    41
    17
    11
See reviews for
84
34
20
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel, what can you say, it's a Marriott, can never go wrong with a Marriott. The location of this hotel was excellent, close to the airport, close to shopping, very well situated. The rooms were very big and clean. Absolutely loved the balcony, we sat in the early evening with a glass of wine and watched the sun go down over the mountains, absolutely stunning.

Room Tip: The one thing that I would suggest is that when booking, request a room with a balcony, not all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind words in your review. Many of our guests enjoy the location we have that is so close to the University of Arizona and we are very pleased that you did also. We hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Let me start by saying the staff at this property is of the highest quality. I work in the hospitality industry and was very impressed. I originally got this room for my mother who is undergoing treatment ant the UofA Medical Center, but I ended up staying a few nights myself. The Front Desk Manager showed an extremely high level of professionalism event when it came to correcting a situation my family brought upon themselves. I have gained a great deal of respect for how the staff helped my mother in her time of need, they were always ready to jump in and help whenever necessary. I would highly recommend this property for anyone who is visiting the Tucson area. My thank you to everyone at the Tucson Marriott University Park!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. It's very nice to know that they were able rectify a situation that occured. We certainly send our best wishes to your Mother and hope that you both have a great New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've been going to Tucson for business trips for weeks at a time and every time I try my hardest to get into the University Park Marriott. Rooms and facilities are clean and desk clerks are very helpful. Although my most favorite part of the hotel is the Sonoma Bar staff. For a drink after work, its the best. The bartenders Jason and Chantelle always provide the best service possible and they can mix drinks that are amazing. The wait staff is also top notch, specifically Chad and Jesse. Two really great guys who always try and make your dinner service top notch. The manager, Sam, is what keeps them all going and is very upbeat and offers the best customer service I can imagine. Together the group is top notch and I have never had a bad experience. I highly recommend this establishment if you ever have to stay in the Tucson area.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on higher levels as the large atrium reverberates sounds from the lobby fairly easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and especially in the lounge. The lounge staff works very hard at trying to deliver a great guest service experience and we find it rewarding when our guests feel that we have exceeded their expectations. We hope that we have an opportunity to serve you again very soon and we really appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is the friendliest staff I've ever encountered. Every employee I encountered, at any time of the day or evening, greeted me with a smile and "hello" as we encountered each other, even when we were just passing each other. The facilities were well maintained throughout the building, from my room, to the public areas and the conference rooms. They catered a superb banquet for our group. Since it's located along the UA campus there are literally dozens of restaurants to choose from, all reasonably priced. I just encountered my first negative with this review (not the Hotels's fault). It looks like I have to join trip advisor or add it to my FB account in order to submit this review, and I don't care for that.

Room Tip: No one in our group commented on comparative advantages of the different room locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is very rewarding for our staff to hear when a guest of ours truly enjoys their experience. We sincerely hope that you have another opportunity to stay with us again. We hope you have a wonderful New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This Marriott is a fair price, very neat and clean and the most convenient location. We were there to see our son at Uof A and we were only a 1 minute walk to his dorm. We did not hear any noise at night as some have mentioned. This is so convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are very happy you had a good stay and that you found our location to your liking. Many of our guests enjoy the fact that we are so close to the University of Arizona. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Bear Down Wildcats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Recently taped a bunch of interviews in one of their meeting rooms. We had lots of room and it was pretty quiet, unless people talked loudly, walking right past doors. We were very comfortable there all day.

Mainly I was impressed with the staff. One man offered to help us load in, without even asking. The A/V guy was very helpful. The waitress at lunch was very cheerful, helpful and friendly (their buffet was excellent). Front desk staff very helpful and courteous, the bellmen were great.
I always enjoy visiting or working on projects at the Marriott University Park.

Keep it up, and Thank You, folks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We really appreciate you telling us how our staff members were able to accommodate your needs while you were filming at the hotel. It was a pleasure to read your review to the staff at an associate meeting, as they take a lot of pleasure by getting recognized as being guest focused. We hope that we have anopportunity to serve you again in the not to distant future, have a great New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucson Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson Marriott University Park

Address: 880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tucson
#28 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson Marriott University Park is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tucson Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Marriott University Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.