We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“five star Customer Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Marriott University Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tucson Marriott University Park to your Saves list
Tucson Marriott University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #50 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“five star Customer Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was in Tucson for a large training conference in January. Great location, clean rooms, nice views, and FANTASTIC staff. The front desk staff is friendly and efficient, even when I asked multiple questions and had some special requests. The manager was awesome in helping me locate a missing package that I had shipped there via UPS. The waitstaff in the restaurant was fantastic in their knowledge and refilling drinks, clearing plates, etc. The absolute best was our bartender, Jason Morris at the lobby bar.

As I said in the opening, we were a large group with over 200 attendees. Jason remembered our drinks when we went back after the first day, was always prompt, correct and was simply a joy to have serve us!

Pros: staff, location, amenities, cleanliness.
Cons: food not great, have to pay for wireless in rooms, though its free in lobby

I would return here even when not on business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators, and for one that has a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I shared your comments with the staff and they were very pleased that you found their service exceeded your expectations. We look forward to serving you again very soon. Happy New year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    116
    41
    17
    12
See reviews for
85
34
21
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here in order to walk to the UA Stadium for the ASU-UA game the day after Thanksgiving. I lived in Tucson in the past and really don't know of any hotel with such an ideal location for such an event. You can walk the campus, plenty of family oriented restraurants that serve good drinks, tap beer and okay food. But I have to give the Marrriot only an average for the following reason: the place is cheap!

By cheap, I mean, they kind of nickle and dime you. Want a rollaway? "$15.00." WiFi: "oh yeah, we have it, for a fee." Parking? "the garage next door is usually open for a fee, sometimes free, hopefully not full." They do have valet that is really worth the cost for this reason, but what a bunch of goof balls working it. Did they hire the rejects from Gentle Ben's? There are only two elevators for the entire hotel (no ground floor units) and they are super slow. There is no stairway in the evening so feel free to hurry up and wait.

The room was okay, but could have been cleaner. It was a bit dated, but we were there for the game so it served a great purpose. However, the atrium style of design lends to a noisy evening post-game and post bar closure.

The front desk staff was very good. The restaurant was also very good. We did not visit the lounge area but the folks there seemed to be enjoying themselves.

In short, this is a very good place to stay if you plan on spending some time on campus: ball games; parent's weekeend; homecoming; student orientation; whatever. Otherwise, there are good handful of other places I'd stay at in Tucson over TMUP.

Go Cats!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments and I hope you enjoyed the ASU-UA game in Tucson. Regarding parking in the area there is a charge because we do not own the garage and we rent spaces for our guests in the U of A owned garage, in addition most of the streets surrounding the University are metered which creates a premium for parking. We do also charge for WI-Fi which is a Marriott full service hotel standard, the reason for the charge is that every year we put a major capital investment into expading bandwidth because the averge guestrom uses 2.3 devices which require internet. Most guests compare a hotel to their local coffee shop where there may be ten internet device working at one time, the fact is if we did not invest substantially into expanding our internet offerings most guests would not be able to log on at all. We will continue to monitor our internet offerings to give our guests as many options as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in December 2012. The location is good. Close to restaurants on campus. The staff was very friendly. It was chilly in our room and we couldn't get the heat to work the first night we were there. They sent up an engineer and he fixed the problem right away. The way the hotel is built, you get a lot of noise coming from the lobby when there are events going on in the hotel. Luckily I was really tired and it didn't really bother me too much. Parking was a problem, so I just paid to have my car valeted. It was worth not dealing with the hassle.

Our bed was comfortable and this establishment actually uses decent soaps and shampoos. The towels were a bit scratchy. All in all it was an average stay. Nothing exciting and no problems to report. I slept well and that counts for something.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and had a tiny view of the mountains, but mostly the roof. Plus you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I do apologize for your heat not working the first night and I'm pleased that our Engineer was able to rectify that problem for the rest of your stay. I hope you have a great New Year and hope we have an opportunity to serve you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
623 reviews 623 reviews
211 hotel reviews
Reviews in 220 cities Reviews in 220 cities
365 helpful votes 365 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I am a Marriott Rewards Gold member and my wife is Platinum. I stayed here with my wife who was on business and we both found this to be one of the worst of the full service Marriott hotels we have ever been at. Housekeeping was poor - there was a 9v battery on the floor for 4 days - never cleaned or picked up. The heat did not work (We froze the first night). the TV did not work for 3 days and wireless did not work for 1 - We had to call maintenance every day! The wireless makes you log in every time your shut off your smartphone - annoying. The concierge room has the worst food of any Marriott either of us have stayed at. If you do not HAVE to stay in this area (near the U), I recommend anywhere else. I stayed at the Courtyard Williams Centre before and it was infinitely better, even with the short drive involved.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are sorry for your experience with the heater and the Manager you notified of that issue should have offered to move you to another room if they did not. Upon further investigation the thermostat was bad and needed to be changed out. In regards to your television issues, these are new flat screen Marriott approved televisions and we have had some programing issues with them that we are working through and most of these issues have been corrected.

The internet format we use from our service provider is very common in the industry but I have inquired to see if we can change that. In regards to the food served in the concierge lounge we try to constantly change the offerings so they do not get routine and quite often get compliments on our concierge lounge food and service. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef and have asked him to personally make sure that the quality of our food remains excellent.

We realize that your experience was not what you have come to expect from Marriott and I assure you it is not a typical experience at the University Park Marriott. I appreciate your constructive comments and will put them to good use. I hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us again to demonstrate to you that our hotel does deliver exceptional service.

Have a great Holiday Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I tried this hotel once because of the great location even though it is far more expensive than other nearby hotels - never again.

The parking situation is a nightmare, the structure across the street from the hotel which is annoying in and of itself. But on top of that, they require that cars have a piece of paper on the dash so after you park, you have to go inside, get the paper from the front desk and then go back outside, across the street... terrible. The hotel was kind enough to charge me for parking for my entire stay but didn't code the parking ticket properly so I couldn't get out of the garage. Had to back my car the wrong way out of the garage exit, park, walk back across the street.... the front desk person did not even apologize for the inconvenience.

Also, while I stayed there, the hotel had a huge private event, on a weeknight and did not see fit to warn guests that there would be no parking and excessive noise late into the evening (the party was in the hotel atrium so the noise was audible in my hotel well past 11pm). Again, no apology from the staff when I pointed out that a little notice would have been appreciated.

Very poorly run hotel. It is clear that they think they get enough business by virtue of their location that they don't have to bother to please clients (I have Marriott's top status - didn't help)

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I am truly sorry that your experience with parking for the University Park Marriott did not meet your expectations. Since we do not own the parking garage and lease spaces from the University we do have to abide by the owners rules. We do instruct our desk clerks that when they give you the ticket to display on your dash of your car that you do so by 11PM. This is a common practice in parking garages but I will meet with the University and see if we can modify the procedure.

From time to time we do have functions in our lobby but we endeavor to keep the noise level to a minimum and to discontinue the functions by 11PM. In this instance some of our patrons obviously were louder than they should have been and we apologize for that. Thank you for your comments as it gives us an opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

First of all let me say that the rooms, fitness center and front desk staff are all as one would expect from a Marriott property.

My issues are with the sales staff and management of the hotel. My group had booked 14 rooms for two nights. While I was away from the hotel my credit card was compromised by a company in Italy so when the sales office ran my card it declined. Rather than contact me the manager ordered my group locked out of their rooms. After receiving calls from members of my group I returned to the hotel and spoke to the manager. I explained what had happened and asked if he would let my group back in their rooms until I had resolved the situation with my bank. He flatly refused despite my guarantee that the situation would be resolved. He had a real "I don't care" attitude. I was frankly shocked at the unwillingness to assist a customer. Especially one who is paying for 28 room-nights. This gentleman tarnished my view of Marriott forever.

During my 32 years in the music business my company has never left a bill unpaid at any hotel, anywhere in the world. I found this type of behavior deplorable.

I work for an internationally renowned, grammy-award winning musical group which necessitates us being constantly on the road. We stay in hotels for months at a time and used to have a fondness for Marriott properties. From the JW Marriott in Seoul and Los Angeles to Marriott properties in Montreal, Turkey and New York. After this episode I have instructed our travel agent to never book us in a Marriott property ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. A valid method of payment is required for all guests who stay with us. Contrary to the comments provided in this review a call was placed and accepted directly to both the meeting planner and tour manager once the Hotel realized that the credit card had been declined. It is our fiduciary responsibility to secure payment for services provided, and when no method of payment is available, we are unable to provide services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a well situated Marriott. If you want to be close to lots of restaurants and stay in a clean bright hotel, this one will answer your needs. I usually stay at the Starr Pass Marriott but this one is a nice change.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are indeed fortunate to have a location so close to the University of Arizona which creates an interesting area for our guests to exlplore. We hope that you come back to visit the area very soon. Have a wonderful holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucson Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson Marriott University Park

Address: 880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tucson
#29 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson Marriott University Park is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tucson Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Marriott University Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.