We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Marriott performance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Marriott University Park

Save Saved
You added Tucson Marriott University Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tucson Marriott University Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #50 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Solid Marriott performance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The room was "Marriott standard", and the stay quite pleasant. The free parking just across the street was a nice extra, particularly since the walk was short in the 100 degree weather of this particular trip (unseasonably hot for May even in Tucson). If you are going to the University of Arizona, this is a good choice and particularly convenient to the campus, about a block away. Getting to a computer to print a boarding pass was a little awkward, since you apparently have to run down a concierge to get access to the locked room with the computers to do so, so I didn't bother and just printed it out at the airport. Overall, my stay wasn't one of those five-circle excellent ones that would indicate a hotel in a class by itself, but I'd be glad to stay here again if returning to the area.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the second floor, you will likely be within range of the free lobby wireless. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, Director of Sales at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We truly appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to share another "solid" experience that our guests expect from the Marriott brand name.

Our apologies for the confusion in regards to printing your airline boarding pass and will better communicate that to our guests in the future. Our business center is accessible via guest room keys 24 hours a day to print airline boarding passes in addition to complimentary internet access.

We will continue to strive for perfection to achieve a class by ourselves and look forward to welcoming you back to the Tucson Marriott University Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    107
    38
    16
    10
See reviews for
77
29
19
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was here with colleagues for a meeting that took place in the hotel. The stay was very comfortable and the hotel is very upscale. They had a great fitnes room and a sizable pool. I know this is a high-end hotel, but to be truly business friendly it would have been nice to have a fridge and microwave. There are plenty of interesting restaurants nearby, but it would be nice to not have to eat out for every single meal..

Another, more serious issue was the terribly spotty wireless. Somehow it didn't work well with either of my machines (a Dell net book and an Ipod touch), but it seemed to work ok with my colleagues. I called the front desk, who referred me to the tech number, but the issue wasn't resolved so I ended up doing a lot of work on the chair in the hall, where I could get the lobby wireless.

Room Tip: I had a corner room, which may have been the cause of the internet problems. Some rooms had balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, Director of Sales at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you and your colleagues enjoyed your trip to Tucson and the amenities our hotel has to offer.

I sincerely apologize the challenges you experienced with the wireless internet connection during your stay. Plans to upgrade our guest room wireless internet service are in place and scheduled to be completed by the end of this summer.

We value your comments and feedback so we can continue to improve the overall guest experience and look forward to welcoming you back to Tucson on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great staff, clean rooms, in the middle of everything. I'll be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to fill out a review on your stay. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is business style hotel, good for events or visits to UA, not a resort property. That said you can park you car in garage, and walk everywhere. There a strip a half a block away with tons of restaurants and shops. Room was larger than expected and very clean. The a/c or fan is very very loud and powerful. It took me a while to figure out that if you just press fan it goes down to low, press again and goes off.
The only thing I didn't like was when I asked for directions, the guy at the desk asked to see my key, when I showed him, he told me to go to the business center and look it up on the internet. I think the other girl working there must have seen my jaw drop to the floor and intervened with help. She deserves an award for salvaging my experience because otherwise this would be two stars.
This is very convienent for visiting UA

Room Tip: Eat at the Cereal Box for breakfast across the parking area outside the hotel. The lady there makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, Director of Sales at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
We are thrilled you enjoyed the location of the Tucson Marriott University Park, overall guest room cleanliness and deluxe room accommodations!

Thank you for alerting us to your experience with the in room temperature controls. Our engineering team will also evaluate the air conditioning sound levels in our guest rooms as a result of your valuable feedback.

I was disapointed to hear about your service encounter at the front desk inquiring about directions and sincerely apologize as this is not the spirit of authentic hospitality we promote here at the Tucson Marriott University Park. We will utilize your experience as a training and coaching opportunity with all of our associates in order to improve service to our valued guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here for a conference and was pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the beds. The rooms were well-sized and the staff friendly. The location is close to campus and only one block from a strip of restaurants and shops that should satisfy most any palate (however, I understand that the best Mexican restaurants are more than a mile away. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, Director of Sales at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your recent stay at the Tucson Marriott University Park and providing your valuable feedback. We look forward to having you return the next time you are back in the Tucson area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed at this property 1 night because our convention hotel Marriot Star Pass Resort was full so they gave us a half price rate. The atrium lobby is pretty cool with glass elevators etc. Staff was very helpful at check in. Rooms are large and beds are comfy if not a little soft. There is a resturant/ bar in the lobby but didn't try it. Pool and exersise room but did not see either. Overall a good hotel in a good downtown location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, Director of Sales at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for selecting our hotel and glad you enjoyed your visit. Our atrium is definitely the focal point of the hotel and our Lobby also offers free wireless internet access to guests while enjoying the atmosphere. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our helpful staff, spacious accommodations and comfortable beds. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Marriott Univeristy Park in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Outstanding things about this hotel - the nicest most helpful staff, the location, dining option until11:00, and large rooms. The room really needed a good cleaning - while okay we noticed a thick pile of dust under the nightstand.

Lots of fun restaurants right a block away and free self parking on the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, Director of Sales at Tucson Marriott University Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our spacious guest rooms and talented associates working here at the Marriott University Park. We apologize the cleanliness of your room did not meet the standards you have come to expect from a Marriott and will utilize your valuable feedback as a training opportunity for our Housekeeping team. We certainly hope to remain your hotel of choice when visiting the Tucson area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tucson Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson Marriott University Park

Address: 880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tucson
#31 Business Hotel in Tucson
#43 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson Marriott University Park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson Marriott University Park is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tucson Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tucson Marriott University Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.