We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Tucson Resort Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viscount Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Viscount Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Viscount Suite Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4855 E Broadway, Tucson, AZ 85711   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Redeem!
Ranked #66 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Tucson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Central Tucson Resort Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I have stayed and booked many meetings at this locally owned hotel, The "resort" type hotel has numerous extras that one would not find in a value hotel located in the financial / business district in Tucson. Only a short distance to D M Air Force Base, 8 minutes to U of A, and Downtown. The meeting rooms are spacious, great morning full breakfast and everyroom is an attrium suite not just a big room called a suite.
Staff is very friendly, no overnight parking and a great sports grill with numerous flat screens.
Not to be disappointed, Marriot is close as is Embassy but does not compare, tried the all.

Room Tip: 3rd floor re decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    33
    16
    11
See reviews for
40
15
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011 via mobile

This is one old hotel. Some of the rooms have undergone a renovation, but not mine. The rooms are old and severely outdated, but large and roomy. The check in process was slow and the entire lobby needs a massive upgrade. Parts of the rooms were actually falling apart. There are much nicer places in Tucson to stay for the price you pay here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is a great place to stay if you need more space. We stayed on the third floor, which was very nicely updated. My understanding is that some of the floors are not updated, which might account for some negative reviews. We did not use Priceline and paid a rate of $99 per night for 4 nights in November, which I felt was very reasonable considering that we got a two room suite and free breakfast buffet.

The first room you walk into is a living room area with a couch, chairs, desk, and flatscreen tv. Some of the rooms have a pullout couch, but you have to request it. The living room is a little dark because the only natural lighting is through the sidewindow next to the exterior door to the atrium or through the bedroom. The bedroom area has a small hallway area with a frig, microwave, & counter on one side and a bathroom (with door) on the other. In the bedroom (we had two queens) the beds are extremely comfortable and there is a second flatscreen tv. The living room & bedroom are separated by a door and this is a great feature if you have kids or more than two people in your party. Our room was nice and quiet.

The breakfast buffet was huge and a chef was available to make omelets to order. The food was good, but a little salty, which might not bother everyone. The maid service was excellent. The free internet was a little sketchy. Sometimes I could get online and sometimes I couldn't. I really don't think this has anything to do with "firewalls" as the hotel claims. I think it relates to how many people are online at the time. The hotel could definitely do something to fix this. All hotels should take note that internet service is essential to most travelers!

We go to Tucson often to visit our daughter who attends the Univ of Arizona and the Viscount was a little farther than I would have liked from U of A, but you can't beat the amount of space you get for the price. We liked the Viscount and are planning to return there in January, although the price is higher at that time of year - 125/night.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor has been updated and is very nice. Rooms with pullout couches are available if you req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Third floor rooms have been renovated and were very nice. The suite is spacious enough and decorated very nicely. We stayed 5 nights and only have two complaints that we found irritating. One is the air conditioner which did not cool the room during the day. The outside temperature was in the nineties and the air conditioner ran continuously but would not cool the room adequately. (This was at the coolest setting available.) The second complaint is the TV reception. It constantly loses picture or changes to a tiny picture on the screen. (Very irritating). My understanding is the 3rd floor is the only floor with updated rooms. When you consider a full breakfast buffet is included, the price for the room was very good.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms only. The rest are in need of renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was in town for a Rotary meeting and it was being held at the hotel. I was not sure what to expect as the price was very reasonable. I was pleasantly suprised as the room was very nice with a seperate living room with it's own flat screen tv and sofa and chair. The bedroom was large and very well equipped with it's own flat screen tv. The breakfast buffet was great on the first morning as every thing was fresh not so much on Sunday morning but we went down the road to a near by Starbucks and all was good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I truly loved the room: spacious, clean, 2 televisions, plenty of outlets. However, the A/C was turned off when I arrived and the room was balmy hot. The refrigerator was also off. It took several hours to get it back to cool.

The main issue was that the Wireless internet only worked in public areas. There was a service on the television that charges $10 to connect email to the TV, so I am suspicious that is why the wireless internet did not work in-room: to encourage purchase of this TV internet service.

When I called the front desk, weary from a day of business and client entertainment, they were very nice and tried to assist, but their instruction was to turn my Firewall off. What??

I had to get up early the next day, search for a Starbucks to check emails and my client database. This cost me a couple of hours and also meant I didn't order breakfast from the hotel.

Since Wireless Internet is very important to me as a business traveler, I can't say I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson,az
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Although we did not stay in the hotel, we were there to meet a group for a social gathering. What a disappointment! One could grow old waiting for service and the food is very mediocre. Very outdated. Skip this one there are many other places in town that are much better.

Room Tip: don't sty here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viscount Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Suite Hotel

Address: 4855 E Broadway, Tucson, AZ 85711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viscount Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Suite Tucson
Hotel Viscount Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viscount Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.