We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here twice in three months. The rooms are big, nice, and clean. They even have fireplaces and the balcony. The place has a unique charm. Additionally, it has a cool small restaurant attached. It was nicer than many, significantly more expensive hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    158
    41
    32
    7
See reviews for
157
276
40
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We planned on staying four nights somewhere and some of the reviews were raving. The room we had was worn down and not up to par. In fact, when I was folding down the top sheet over the bed, the comforter was piled up and old (see photo). Our "patio" barely fit two chairs with no room for sitting and faced a parking lot. It was in a scary part of town as well. We ended up checking out after one night and heading toward a chain hotel.

I like to support independent hotels, but can't spend money on low-quality.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room, I guess some are better than others. We didn't see the good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

By far the "best bang for the buck" my wife and I have ever experienced. We were very impressed with the hotel, regardless of what we spent. But considering what we spent, we were truly taken aback. The staff is not just friendly and courteous... I think the best way to describe it is that they were "proud" of where they worked. I felt that they behaved less like staff and employees and more like members of a family owned business. I wanted to particularly single out the restaurant. When we went to the restaurant for breakfast we expected a buffet, which is standard at most hotels (even the "nice ones"). We were surprised that is was an actual restaurant that did not just include the standard "bacon and eggs" fare. Our meals were genuinely top notch (I recommend the tamales), and the desert rose iced tea was to die for. I also had a bloody Mary that was quite well done and my wife had a very delicious mimosa (ok not hard to make a mimosa, but you could tell they didn't use the "cheap stuff"). And again, the prices were quite reasonable. Also, our daughter requires a restrictive diet that precludes many foods that they were happy to accommodate. My wife is also gluten sensitive (and quite a carnivore) and I'm a vegetarian - all those options were on the menu. The room was great as well. It is not in a tower or a long motel type building, rather it was more like an apartment complex so that it did not feel crowded. We chose the least expensive option but found that it had a very large bathroom that was filled with relaxing natural light. The bathroom also had a nice triangular shaped spa in the corner which was also lit with natural light. The room was very nice and clean and had a cool southwestern theme. The balcony was relaxing and had a pretty view of the mountains. The room also had free wifi which was also nice. Overall, even though Tucson was just supposed to be a stopover on our way to San Diego, our stay at Lodge on the Desert became one of the highlights of our trip. We were actually disappointed to leave. We will definitely return when we are in Tucson again. We have already told many of our friends. Hidden Treasure.

Room Tip: We chose the least expensive option and were very pleased that it looked like an upgraded room in mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

As we were on a road trip, we planned to stay one night in this hotel. After two hours we decided to spent one more night and eventually we stayed four nights. It is well located: 2 miles from downtown Tucson and nevertheless it feels like you are in a ressort.
The overall experience is wonderful. The room was clean, big and beautiful. The swimming pool was cool and terrefic. The personal is very friendly and in good spirits! They have a wonderful restaurant with chef Marcus van der Winden's beautiful and very tasty creations!
and finally the price as relatively low: we stayed there for 99 dollars a night for an de luxe kingroom!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Nice place to stay. It was convenient to be able to walk to restaurants (including in n out burger). The staff was very friendly.

It's a great place for a work conference with meeting rooms, catering, and places to gather outdoors for breaks and small group sessions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

When it's good it's very, very good. But when it's bad....well, you know. My wife and other family members stayed here in several rooms while attending a wedding in Tucson, a sprawling town in which there is no good location. Our experiences at the hotel differed greatly. My wife and I were quartered first in a rather remote room up a stairway and onto the second floor. The room itself might have been satisfactory but its location was not. Exhibit A: Access to the room was inconvenient and you needed GPS to get there from parking. Exhibit B: More importantly, this establishment was conducting (much needed) remodeling in the rooms below us. That activity began at an ungodly early hour and featured what sounded like a jackhammer but may have been only a sizable squad of hammer-wielding carpenters. In any event, the decibels were far above tolerable limits. So, we asked to be removed to a quieter location, on the ground floor and nearer the parkplatz. The staff granted that wish with only a few grumbles and our second room was most agreeable even though its window displayed nothing more than the previously mentioned parkplatz. The moral to this story is that you should investigate your proposed quarters before you move in at this hotel. At its best, this hotel is just fine. You don't want the other.

Room Tip: Check out your proposed room before moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was in Arizona for training and decided to meet my wife in Tucson. This location was perfect for escaping. The surrounding walls did a great job blocking out city noise and hospitality was better than some 3 diamonds I've stayed at recently. The King Spa room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. On the premises the restaurant served outstanding duck that was cooked to our liking (The maple glaze was amazing). Be sure to ask for Jerry as a server, he was really helpful in reccommending activities occurring in the area for Independence Day weekend. I would definitely stay here in the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#11 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.