We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, quiet well kept lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Relaxing, quiet well kept lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is the third time I've stayed at Lodge on the Desert, and I've been just as happy each time.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, the buildings are well designed, and the grounds are absolutely beautiful, green lawns and many citrus trees. They have a small pool and hot tub near the lobby, and a very nice restaurant on the premises.

We stayed for two nights in April. The room was quite large, well decorated, with excellent beds and a *fantastic* air conditioner! I like a cool room to sleep in, and these rooms a terrific. The bathroom is also large, although it only has a very large shower (no bath). Rooms are quiet and very clean.

The only downside I ever see (and it didn't bother me at all) is that second floor rooms are only accessible by stairs. While this seems very minor to me, I can see this being an issue for some people, so take it into account.

The grounds and landscaping are top notch, and add a lot to the experience.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, make sure and ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    179
    51
    35
    9
See reviews for
173
304
44
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had a wonderful stay. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a large tiled bathroom. The room was tastefully decorated. Beds are comfortable and we appreciated the mini frig. The grounds are lovely. The hotel staff were all friendly, helpful and professional.

We ended up relaxing in the hotel bar for happy hour every evening. The food is excellent. My husband raved about the duck tacos. And the servers were great. It was so enjoyable to come back to the Lodge after a day of being tourists. We will definitely stay here again when in Tucson.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had planned an intimate anniversary lunch for fifteen guests. The food was superb and very fresh! Accolades to the chef because he lives up to his reputation!! Everyone enjoyed his/her meal. The individual dessert choices were delightful pieces of art made from real cream, butter, etc. and soooo delicious!

The staff did an excellent job-- courteously attentive while staying in the background. None of our guests wanted to leave so Jerica, the event planner (who is professional and accommodating) had some chocolate truffles brought out while our coffees and teas were being replenished.

Our luncheon took place on the terrace -- nice ambiance, shade, plants and a fountain. The cost of the quality event was very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

In town for UofA Law College Graduation and this lovely place was just perfect. Great rooms, pet friendly, perfect location, and even though its in town, it is quiet has lots of southwest charm. We had a large group dine at the restaurant and had a wonderful dinner.

Room Tip: Our large party had 3 rooms and they were all clean, comfortable and very southwestern. Great little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was riding my motorcycle from SC to CA and decided to take a day's break in Tucson. My daughter booked me into this hotel through Hotwire and it was incredible! My room, while in the older section, was comfortable and well appointed. The real find was the restaurant. The food, the wine selection, the ambiance and service were all incredible.
Overall, this is a first class resort and really made my next day's ride through the desert to LA doable. Next time I'm in Tucson, I'll be staying at The Lodge on the Desert.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Beautiful setting, landscaping, and room. Nothing like a king sized be with ice cold sheets! If only the guest next door didn't play loud hip hop music till 6;00 IN THE A.M.! Called about breakfast the next morning, said they were serving until 11:00. Sat down and no one would wait on us. My husband finally asked someone who said no more breakfast that brunch was getting ready to start (it was only 10:00). Busy weekend so waiting lines every other place we went so donuts for Mother's Day!

Room Tip: Avoid a room with East rising sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

• Tucson is not my favorite town so when I come its nice to be nestled right up against the Catalina foothills. However, these places are a bit of a drive and quite expensive. A good compromise is the Lodge on the Desert. It’s historic yet the rooms, both historic and new additions, are spacious and very well appointed. The beds were marvelously comfortable. However, the rooms are all different so if you are not happy with the room given, ask to see another. The staff is very helpful. Parking is free and the Lodge is conveniently located. The cactus gardens are lovely - and I hope they follow through with a plan to name some of the specimens. The pool and hot tub are well designed and maintained.. Don't miss the Happy Hour - 4-6. Great value on drinks and food!!!!
• Stayed May 2014, traveled on business

Room Tip: As all the rooms are different you may, if there is availability, look at more than one. Some have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.