We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Lodge on the Desert over the weekend and then later in the week. Enjoy the retreat feeling in a hacienda environment that is rich with amenities. Great bed and plush pillows make it easy to sleep. Gas fireplaces add to the ambiance. Love the spa suite with the spa tub - AMAZING!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    158
    41
    32
    7
See reviews for
157
276
40
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed an extra week, two weeks total, because I was so enamored of the Lodge on the Desert. It is central to everything, bring a GPS to drive around town, and it is beautiful to see. I had a fireplace in my very large (deluxe) king bedroom that looked out on the pool. Even though it was 100 degrees outside, at night I would switch on the fire and turn down the air conditioner and make the room real cold (very romantic by firelight). The Lodge is so exciting to explore. There are winding paths that lead to brown adobe style lodging. Around every corner is another interesting pathway leading to what could be your room's entry -- the paths are lined with cacti and other flowering desert plants. While meandering the paths at night, you can appreciate the more fragrant species. The Lodge is surrounded by mountains. What can I say, it is just so attractive and warm and welcoming. I love it. And, the art is beautiful and reminiscent of the desert landscape. Everything worked, everyone did their job and the people are friendly, never gushing.

Room Tip: Inside courtyard rooms are my favorite because you walk cacti garden paths to reach your room. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella, Piemonte, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've been there just for one night in August 2013. This lodge is amazing! Close to Saguaro East Park, it has beautiful rooms, cleaned and very comfortable. Every lodge has a small garden, with a patio with chairs just outside the front door. It offers also a pool and a whirlpool bath with hot water. Best thing is go there in the afternoon and spend there some time to relax. Fair price, the only defect is about breakfast, cause is not included. Free wi-fi and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We originally had reserved a room at another Tucson hotel where the air conditioner was broken. (It was 99 degrees outside!) We were not even told that the air conditioner was broken when we first checked in. We asked for our money back and were then able to find the Lodge in the Desert. The Lodge's staff were gracious and the place was gorgeous. It was like being rescued from the desert and finding an oasis of elegance and excellence. This will be our go-to hotel in Tucson from now on. Lovely architecture, great food and drink, and top notch service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Loved the newly renovated section on the first floor. Also - the Happy Hour from 4 to 6 PM is a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had originally planned to stay near the University, but the Lodge on the Desert offers a value and amenities that make it worth driving 5 minutes. The option of one and two bedroom suites is great for families, and the restaurant is much better and than those at most hotels.

Room Tip: Enjoy the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here while getting our son settled into the University. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. The front desk made dinner reservations and suggested Tucson attractions. This lodge is a small lodge with well appointed rooms, a lovely pool and gardens. The restaurant is quiet with a menu that is varied and tastefully done. Chef Ryan prepares food with an artful flare which will awaken anyones palate.This dinner was a true culinary delight.We look forward to our return visit in October.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back corner of the hotel which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at Lodge on the Desert for a three-day conference in February and wanted to return for at least a one-night stay for a weekend getaway, and both times the experience was wonderful. If you want a beautiful, relaxed place to go with a wonderful upscale ambience that is still affordable, Lodge is the place - and the food is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#11 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.