We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay More Save More!
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little hotel, very quiet and centrally located in Tucson. Very close to just about anything you would need. Room was very clean and spacious, front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool area is nice and has plenty of seating, I would suggest that they have music playing by the pool and if you want some drinks, the bar is a little bit of a walk from the pool, but I guess you could just bring a cooler to the pool, I didn't see any signs saying otherwise. Our room was on the first floor and our patio didn't have any seating, however the 2nd floor patios all seemed to have chairs. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    157
    41
    32
    7
See reviews for
154
276
40
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Good value, quality stay. Rooms are bigger than a std hotel room. Bed very comfortable. Liked having mini-fridge in room. Having an available microwave, even in common area would have been good. Toiletries, esp soaps are nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Lodge was an unexpected treat as we traveled through the Tucson area. Well appointed and very comfortable, the Lodge had all the amenities we wanted. The restaurant was top notch. My only complain is that restaurant didn't open until 7:00. But it was worth the extra time. Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great check in. Beautiful Southwest foliage/landscaping. Awesome Adobe/Santa Fe architecture. Very quiet and spacious room with unique qualities. Great bedding. The lounge and restaurant totally comfortable and laid back but outstandingly gourmet. The food was absolutely delicious. I am vegetarian and my husband loves meat and fish. We were thrilled with our choices. This is an urban oasis. So don't be thrown off with the locale which is in a downtown Tucson neighborhood (you wouldn't know it once inside the property [plus you are close to all the downtown has to offer]).

Room Tip: Traditional king with fireplace was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fantastic place/fantastic staff. Just the right size. Absolutely love it! Feels like the Southwest not like some Phoenix mega resort. A very unique property. Beautiful, well kept grounds. Pool, hot tub, just right. Beds are great, rooms are quiet. Cut my finger deeply & staff was there immediately with the proper aid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

great customer service, very clean rooms, total privacy on rooms (stayed there several times) clean pool always open, amazing restaurant with high class cusine, plenty or parking, comfy beds and close to a park if you need a run in the mornings to get your day started. Love this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
664 helpful votes 664 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for 4 nights, originally only 3 and so glad we changed our mind to stay on that extra night. From checking in to checking out you can not fault the service. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was massive and very comfortable. We had breakfast and a couple of evening meals which were fantastic, you must try their steaks..... and the cocktails!! You could tell everything was cooked fresh. I had banana and walnut bread for breakfast and it was divine.

The pool area was kept immaculate (in fact the whole grounds were), it was very relaxing and fun to get out of the pool and jump in the hot tub/jacuzzi.

The lodge is in a good place and free parking so you can hire a car and not get stung for parking fees. It was easy to find and also great location for sight seeing. Free internet too, some times a bit slow but great that it was free.

We was also very fortunate to get married at the hotel. It was just the two of us. LeeAnn (Director of Catering) was wonderful throughout my contact with her through emails, and she came to our wedding too. The general manager popped out to congratulate us. The hotel treated us to a wedding breakfast which was a lovely surprise.

I loved staying there and was sad to go, so saving like hard to go back asap...

Room Tip: All rooms will be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#11 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.