We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay to get flavor of the Old Pueblo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Save Saved
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
To Dine For Package
Ranked #14 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay to get flavor of the Old Pueblo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fantastic place/fantastic staff. Just the right size. Absolutely love it! Feels like the Southwest not like some Phoenix mega resort. A very unique property. Beautiful, well kept grounds. Pool, hot tub, just right. Beds are great, rooms are quiet. Cut my finger deeply & staff was there immediately with the proper aid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    142
    34
    30
    6
See reviews for
135
248
33
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

great customer service, very clean rooms, total privacy on rooms (stayed there several times) clean pool always open, amazing restaurant with high class cusine, plenty or parking, comfy beds and close to a park if you need a run in the mornings to get your day started. Love this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
536 helpful votes 536 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for 4 nights, originally only 3 and so glad we changed our mind to stay on that extra night. From checking in to checking out you can not fault the service. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was massive and very comfortable. We had breakfast and a couple of evening meals which were fantastic, you must try their steaks..... and the cocktails!! You could tell everything was cooked fresh. I had banana and walnut bread for breakfast and it was divine.

The pool area was kept immaculate (in fact the whole grounds were), it was very relaxing and fun to get out of the pool and jump in the hot tub/jacuzzi.

The lodge is in a good place and free parking so you can hire a car and not get stung for parking fees. It was easy to find and also great location for sight seeing. Free internet too, some times a bit slow but great that it was free.

We was also very fortunate to get married at the hotel. It was just the two of us. LeeAnn (Director of Catering) was wonderful throughout my contact with her through emails, and she came to our wedding too. The general manager popped out to congratulate us. The hotel treated us to a wedding breakfast which was a lovely surprise.

I loved staying there and was sad to go, so saving like hard to go back asap...

Room Tip: All rooms will be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Not knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised. Nice Spanish motiff, friendly people, clean updated room. The pool area was nice and they had tables to sit and talk under a veranda. They had fresh water with lemon in the library. They happened to have an Iron chef contest the night we stayed, which was wonderful. The hotel was reasonably priced. The only downside was there was no continental breakfast included, which is a plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahnattan48
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Lodge May 29 - 30. The room was spacious and comfortable, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was huge with two sinks and tons of counter space as well as storage room underneath. There was a separate shower stall and tub. The shower was very nice, but the tub was an ordinary low-walled tub - not deep enough to bother using. I didn't understand why they would use cheap white placates trash cans in the bathroom when everything else was better quality.

When we got in to our room we discovered that the door was extremely hard to open - I almost panicked because I thought we were somehow locked in the room. We called the desk and someone came right away. The door needed to be shaved down, and he took care of it right away.
is.

We didn't swim or even sit around the pool since we like to be on the go when we travel. but it looked very inviting.

Breakfast is not included, but the room price was so low that was not a problem We had one breakfast and one dinner in the restaurant was very good - the chef knows what he's doing in the kitchen - but the coffee was weak.

The location was fine - Tucson is easy to get around.

Room Tip: We had a small unattractive patio that faced the parking lot. It had a high wall, but because the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our third time staying at Tucson's best boutique hotel. Well kept grounds, very clean & comfortable rooms; pleasant & accommodating staff! Dining here is superb. Highly recommend The Lodge on The Desert. We have never been disappointed and definitely will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was an excellent hotel. Had a spa suite and it was quite large and luxurious. Big, well lit bathroom. Very comfortable bed and nice furniture in the room itself. The AC worked well, which was good as it was 100 degrees. Staff was very welcoming and efficient.

Excellent location with plenty of parking. And very quite despite being in the middle of everything.

Certainly a property I look forward to visiting again sometime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Lodge On The Desert Hotel
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson
Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
#11 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.