We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mahnattan48
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overall Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Lodge May 29 - 30. The room was spacious and comfortable, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was huge with two sinks and tons of counter space as well as storage room underneath. There was a separate shower stall and tub. The shower was very nice, but the tub was an ordinary low-walled tub - not deep enough to bother using. I didn't understand why they would use cheap white placates trash cans in the bathroom when everything else was better quality.

When we got in to our room we discovered that the door was extremely hard to open - I almost panicked because I thought we were somehow locked in the room. We called the desk and someone came right away. The door needed to be shaved down, and he took care of it right away.
is.

We didn't swim or even sit around the pool since we like to be on the go when we travel. but it looked very inviting.

Breakfast is not included, but the room price was so low that was not a problem We had one breakfast and one dinner in the restaurant was very good - the chef knows what he's doing in the kitchen - but the coffee was weak.

The location was fine - Tucson is easy to get around.

Room Tip: We had a small unattractive patio that faced the parking lot. It had a high wall, but because the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    172
    49
    34
    8
See reviews for
169
295
43
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our third time staying at Tucson's best boutique hotel. Well kept grounds, very clean & comfortable rooms; pleasant & accommodating staff! Dining here is superb. Highly recommend The Lodge on The Desert. We have never been disappointed and definitely will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was an excellent hotel. Had a spa suite and it was quite large and luxurious. Big, well lit bathroom. Very comfortable bed and nice furniture in the room itself. The AC worked well, which was good as it was 100 degrees. Staff was very welcoming and efficient.

Excellent location with plenty of parking. And very quite despite being in the middle of everything.

Certainly a property I look forward to visiting again sometime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is fantastic!! It's in the middle of the city so we felt like we could easily go whereever we needed to without driving all over. The room was very nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. The grounds are fantastic! You feel like you are in a little oasis of your own. Laying by the pool was nice and relaxing. At checkout the manager actually came out and asked how everything was and made sure we were satisfied when we left. The only thing that would have been nice was to have a waiter come out by the pool once in a while to see if anyone needed a drink. Otherwise, this place was great!

Room Tip: Call and confirm you actually have a pool view or garden view. I didn't specifially confirm tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't be happier that we stayed here...being brand new to the Tucson area, we had no idea where anything was...luckily it was close to just about every restaurant you could imagine. The staff was excellent...warm and friendly, they did everything possible to make our stay the best!! The pool was lovely and the restaurant on site was so delicious!! :) I highly reccomend and would encourage anyone to stay here! Beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel definitely has a desert view on the outside, and the rooms are decently spacious and decorated. The beds are very comfortable; the bathroom has two sinks and a large shower. Breakfast was fair, and service was slow. There were a few restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, and more restaurants can be found on the two main roads nearby (Broadway and Speedway).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Business Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.