We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special and Peaceful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Special and Peaceful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The grounds are beautiful, the staff is kind, and the rooms are charming. I found a great deal online in the off-season and I would recommend that others do the same. Although the wireless internet was spotty, in this environment, I preferred to spend my time doing other things anyway -- like walking the grounds, sitting by the pool, or enjoying the view out my window. The hotel strikes a special balance between luxury, natural beauty, and history. You won't find another place like this in Tucson...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    159
    41
    32
    7
See reviews for
159
276
40
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a gem in the desert! Beautiful grounds, nice rooms, good restaurant, good bar, reasonable prices! And a great location! We stayed for UA graduation weekend, had 4 rooms for 3 nights. The property is easy to get around but you feel like you're in paradise! Other guests were nice and friendly too!

Room Tip: Each room is a little different so that adds to the charm of the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Travel to Tucson for my daughter's graduation from UofA....Everything and everyone was super....We had dinner the first night at their resturant and the food was wonderful. The room was great. More than I had expected and the service from checking in to leaving was super. Thank you for everything, Karen Libera

Room Tip: I believe all would be super
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely stay here with some friends over the weekend. I must say, I was very surprised by this hotel and could not have been more pleased with our choice to cancel our precious reservations for a hotel near the airport. The hotel had a great boutique feel and a unique exterior layout. We arrived fairly late in the evening due to a delayed flight into PHX. Upon arrival, we went to ask the front desk manager where were some local hot spots for dinner and he gave us some amazing suggestions. Considering the hotel does not have a concierge we took his word as gospel when he said "I try to take everyone I know who visits Tucson here...", basically listen to him because every place he suggested was amazing. Our room was very clean and had all of the amenities. Very large bathroom, which made the it all the more easy to share it with multiple friends and all of their belongings. Never did we feel cramped or strapped for room. Our room was on the upper floor and had a cute little balcony that overlooks the surrounding mountains.

The bed quality in the room was fine and all of the bathroom amenities were well appointed. We all were very surprised by how quit the hotel was. We did not hear a sound from anyone at anytime. Perhaps the way the buildings are laid out in general allow for a more acoustically pleasant stay. Our room had a fridge and a pseudo bar area for all of our weekend accoutrements, wine, and snacks which was nice.

We had the pleasure of dining at the restaurant as well on two separate days for lunch and breakfast. The food was spectacular and the drinks were very well done. I was surprised that Iron Chef Tucson had crowned the Lodge on the Desert's chef the winner two years in a row! Every place we while in Tucson, we mentioned where were staying and everyone mentioned his Iron Chef status and how lucky we were to have eaten there. The hotel is also very highly regarded by local establishments and locals themselves.

Overall, the experience was lovely and would go back to this unique boutique hotel in the future, no doubt about it. It's location makes it a very convenient location to explore the city and surrounding areas. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get a second floor room with a view of the mountains rather than the interior structures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were well impressed with the lodge for the 2 nights we stayed here.
The staff at reception were extremely helpful when we checked in and continued to be so during our stay helping us find places and suggestions for where we needed to go.
The rooms are well appointed with lovely fireplaces and balcony doors. Beds were comfortable and showers great. The pool area is small but adequate, however if you want to enjoy a drink poolside you need to walk to the restaurant which is wee way away and order them there (unfortunately they do not offer to bring them back to you, so you need to wait around to carry them back).
Overall a good place to stay, good parking outside and I would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I travel to Tucson each year for two week on business and found this gem. It has great history but its also been renovated. The rooms have high ceilings & enough space to hula hoop, if you wanted. The TV is big & has HBO. The beds are nice, not too firm or too soft. There is a mini fridge, I bring creamer & any leftovers can be saved. The front desk will warm up your food too. The balconies are nice & with the ceiling fan creates a nice breeze in the spring when it is absolutely beautiful outside. The showers are modern & enough counter space to speed out all your toiletries. Then there is the pool & hot tub...don't skip breakfast or check out the happy hr!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days in Tucson and we really enjoyed staying at the Lodge on the Desert.

It is close to the University and also close to Reid Park.

The rooms are spacious and in very good condition.

The staff was also very accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#11 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.