We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, beautiful grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for four nights in March. This hotel was quite centrally located to all of the places we wanted to go. The rooms were giant with plenty of room for our hiking and cycling gear. This place is well appointed with wonderful grounds, a nice pool, and a great jacuzzi. The TV is huge and probably high-def, but the programs are not. So, there's not much good to a TV that big in that case. The window actually faced another room. So, we couldn't really keep the shade open without peering into someone else's room. There was a leak in the bathroom and the guy upstairs sounded like a herd of elephants when he walked around. Otherwise, we could hear no neighbors. We had a nice refrigerator and counter space in our room. The bed was comfortable, and I could have washed my car in the shower. We had a great time and would come to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Alvernon are quieter, I'd imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    159
    41
    32
    7
See reviews for
159
276
40
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We reserved a Romance package which was 2Dine4 where we got $50 dining credit at the restaurant and breakfast for 2. The restaurant was way understaffed and the food was over priced for sure. I called the next morning just to make sure about the breakfast and the amount allowed was $20 and no where in the description did it say there was a $20 limit it just said breakfast and most of the entrees were $10 or more, so you were bound to go over the $20 limit - of which I was glad I check on 1st before we went for breakfast.
Also the 1st room we had was the Traditional Fireside room - King bed with fireplace. It was an old room built in the 30's - read the fine print in the room description!!! The fireplace in the room didn't turn on so had to call the front desk and after an hour of which the maintenance guy work on the kiva fireplace it finally lit however, I had called the front desk to get another room. They did upgrade us to a better room however, it was on the 1st floor by the stairs going up to 2nd floor and people came in late and banged their luggage up the stairs and pounded on the floor for another hour. It was far from ROMANTIC!!! I was very disappointed and wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: don't get 1st floor or near stairs - very noisy. Plus the "Traditional rooms" are old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank R, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for providing me with your comments and for choosing us as your destination. While I understand your feeling regarding our historic rooms, they continue to offer the southwestern feel which is appreciated by a great number of guests wishing this type of environment. I am glad we were able to move you to our newer section of the hotel and that you were happy with these accomodations. Our hotel has no elevators as it is only has two story structures and unfortunatly not all guests take care in going up stairs in a quite manner. I am sorry that you did not recognize the breakfast coupon pricing and that it is simply a discount which is included in the package your purchased. I apologize that you were not clear on the type of accomodations you purchased and I am happy we were able to put you in our accomodations which met your expectations. I hope you will provide us with another chance to show you why the Lodge on the Desert is highly rated on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in a traditional king room. Room was very dark (terrible lighting and in a fairly busy area on the ground floor, so couldn't have the blinds open) and smelled musty. The closets smelled very musty, to the point where I didn't want to put my clothes in there. The bathroom wall had a huge crack in it. All the bath towels were frayed. The fireplace faces a corner of the room, not the bed, so that wasn't nice, either. The grounds are beautiful, but the room itself was dingy. I was really disappointed and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank R, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and I apologize that you found the historic accomodations not to your expectations. Our historic rooms are unique and not typical of todays or our newer sections type of rooms. Your discription of it being "musty" was due to it not having been used for a couple of weeks and your stay was during a sold out period. I can assure you that we do not experience guest comments about this and that these rooms are exactly how guests expect them to be given their historic nature. I would guarantee that if your had stayed in our deluxe and newer section your experience would be more to your normal experiences. The fireplace was built during the period of construction of this room. When it was converted to a newer guest room the furniture was placed where it was convenient for guest use and could not be moved. It was decided not to eliminate it an leave it where it was originally placed so guests could enjoy having a fireplace in their room. Thank you again for your comments and I hope we can bring you back to the Lodge to enjoy our newer accomodations which would appear to be more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast USA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge just prior to Xmas. The room was terrific. The local temperature was cold enough in December that we actually used the gas fireplace in the room. Super comfortable king bed, good-sized bathroom with dual sinks. Great flat screen TV. The room was spacious, and very tastefully appointed.

The swimming pool area is small, but terrific, we enjoyed a couple of sunny afternoons by it - they have great furniture in the area. There is a small whirlpool tub. The grounds are nice, pleasant desert landscaping, but compact.

We went to the small bar on property for happy hour a twice. The servers in the bar were friendly, but a little slow (could just be the laid back southern AZ way of functioning). The happy hour food was very tasty and fairly priced, they served as a meal for us.

The front desk staff was very polite, and they were responsive to the two small maintenance items needed in our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our room was lovely with a view of the Santa Catalina Mountains, even though we were on the ground floor. The swimming pool, library, restaurant and grounds were gorgeous. The staff were courteous and efficient. We will recommend this beautiful oasis to friends who travel to Tucson.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for the first time for 4 nights in February in a traditional deluxe double queen. The room was on the first floor and was extremely spacious. Loved the tile floor and spanish feel. Beds were comfortable and I'm always a sucker for white linen. Really enjoyed the fireplace with 2 chairs and coffee table. Internet was spotty as is apparently the case in traditional rooms. The bathroom was a little older and could use a reno but was clean. Enjoyed the dressing area with closet and chest of drawers. The hotel landscaping is beautiful and with the layout really gives a non-traditional resort feel. The location was good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The grounds are gorgeous, the food and drinks yummy, but somehow this is just meh. maybe it's the really soso service at the front desk? The rooms are numbered really weirdly and the place is like a maze, but no one helps you navigate how to find your room. I arrived late and travel weary from the east coast, and got handed a map that was like a child's drawing. After my huge suitcases and I spent twenty minutes trying to find my room, I went back to the lobby and had to plead for help. The rooms themselves are nice, but really dim and Internet spotty. Try getting help with that! Good luck! Another strange thing: that first night I had amazing margaritas in the bar, called the world's best margarita. Three nights later, the same drink came completely different. Even the glass was different. But at least the bar and restaurant staff was super friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#11 Business Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.