We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable place to stay in Tucson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mount Washington, Kentucky
1 review
“An enjoyable place to stay in Tucson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was in Tuscon on a first visit and stayed here for two nights. Took advantage of a king deluxe room with fireplace and whirlpool tub on second floor. Loved the beautiful southwestern decor of the room, as well as the entire property. So representative of the Arizona culture! Had dinner at the restaurant, and that experience was excellent in all respects (food, service, wine list). Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room on second floor near the street but was not bothered by any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    179
    51
    35
    9
See reviews for
173
304
44
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I wish I would've read the review that told me to steer clear of the traditional rooms! Ours was fine, but we did have to carry our suitcases upstairs with no warning about that. Our room was spacious and a nice bathroom and a fireplace, but the outside of our room needed some sprucing up. The happy hour is a great deal and the restaurant itself had excellent food. The location is also great. Would stay here again, but probably in a renovated room.

Room Tip: Choose a newer room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Tucson, and we were looking for an authentic southern Arizona experience. The Lodge on the Desert was everything we were seeking for our vacation. Our room was extremely comfortable and the mattress was luxurious. We enjoyed having the sliding glass door open & having our morning coffee on the balcony. The grounds & pool area are beautiful & impeccably maintained. We took advantage of their "green" pricing, which provided a very good value, while the staff was always attentive to our needs. A very good central location, convenient to everything Tucson has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Comfortable, upscale hotel with a nice southwest feel to it. The grounds, pool area and landscaping were enjoyable. The restaurant was very good and I would recommend it, even if you aren't staying there. I have a separate review on that.

Some other pros:
- Rooms are spacious
- Feeling of a smaller resort
- Central to many attractions and other restaurants
- Great "white noise" from fan (A/C unit) if you like that
- Friendly, helpful staff
- Super flushing power on the toilet! (it was fairly loud)

Cons:
- Plumbing from adjacent rooms was particularly loud
- Pillows are fairly thick, so won't appeal to everyone
- Bed had a comforter but no sheets for some reason

Room Tip: Avoid the "traditional" rooms at all costs. These rooms are nowhere near the same caliber...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A well appointed but reasonably priced hotel that feels like Tucson should feel. Great atmosphere both inside and outside the rooms. Love having dinner in the bar. Enjoy getting up early and reading the paper on the balcony. Some rooms are better than others but I have enjoyed every stay. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with a balcony/ outdoor sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After driving through Tucson to get here, I started to worry that I made the wrong choice, but I didn't !!!! What a quaint and lovely place. Great pool and the rooms are very nice. There are not a lot of restaurants close but they are within driving distance.

Room Tip: Stayed in a king deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We found this on the internet with a special rate and looked at the reviews and were not disappointed. We had a new room which was large, had a fireplace and a nice large bath and walk-in shower. We could have used another chair in the room as it was cold when we were there and 2 chairs to read by the fire would have been nice. Front desk people were very helpful and professional. The grounds are beautiful and rooms spread out so it took away the typical hotel feeling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.