We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Save Saved
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
To Dine For Package
Ranked #14 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Brookline, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our five night stay at the Lodge on the Desert. We had a King Deluxe room because other reviews said these rooms were more modern and nicer. It was great. The room was quite large with a beautiful bathroom. Due to availability, we were given a room with a Jacuzzi but not charged for the upgrade. We did not use the Jacuzzi tub but did use the one by the pool and it was awesome. The staff were very nice. It is centrally located, so we could get to any parts of the city and things were handy, but needed to try to schedule city travel off of peak times due to city traffic. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room, they are more modern and nice. If you are worried about the cost, they have a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    142
    34
    30
    6
See reviews for
135
248
33
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The resort down to the linens, towels, fireplace, jet tub are all truely wonderful, The only reason I'm not giving a perfect score is because you need to bring your own toilet paper, as the paper they have in the rooms is worth less!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, vermont
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

There aren't many high-end hotel options in downtown Tucson and Lodge on the Desert is one of the best. Recent expansion and updating has put this property at the forefront of affordable luxury close to downtown (roughly 4.5 miles). A delightful outdoor pool and hot tub area, along with an excellent restaurant - both for breakfast and dinner - make this a great option for exploring the sites around Tucson.

Room Tip: Request an interior room or room in the back. Light sleepers may be bothered by noise from traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radwell
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked two nights at the Lodge based on the TripAdvisor reviews. I was in Tucson for business and the hotel was a perfect venue for an informal business meeting and lunch.

I found the staff professional and friendly and my room (suite) was clean, comfortable and well appointed. I stayed in one of the newer wings of the hotel.

A nicely laid out hotel bar. I ate lunch and dinner in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed both meals. The menu features a mix of local dishes which are expertly prepared.

If you are looking for a good place to stay which is not the typical “run of the mill” chain hotel – consider the Lodge. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Tucson.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndeborough
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Lodge and loved our Traditional King Fireplace Suite. The two rooms plus bath were larger than anticipated and not only comfortable but made us feel we were in a special old Tucson casita. The kiva fireplace was especially wonderful as the low temps there were record-breaking for our entire stay! We loved walking through the landscaped walkways from our casita (with outdoor seating) to the library, pool, restaurant and bar area. The bar patio with outdoor fireplace was a wonderful place to sit and enjoy drinks after a long drive to Tucson. Lodge staff was helpful and friendly.
The restaurant service and food were superb! We'd go to the Lodge again without hesitation. The location was fine for getting easily to all the places we planned to visit.( Note: if you like ambiance, opt for a traditional room. We had seen several newer (?) rooms on the front by the parking lot and were not impressed. There is a great difference in the rooms.

Room Tip: Decide if you want old style ambiance or need a more contemporary room. Know if a view of the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

. The property is a nice change from chain hotels. We had a 2 room suite with fireplace, and it was quite large. The king bed was comfortable and the bathroom/dressing area was huge. The towels seemed a little heavy and old, otherwise a nice stay. We had a nice view of the Catalina Mtns and the off street parking was free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stopped in for some wine and nosh and ended up staying for dinner! The lounge was comfy and quiet and we had a nice, relaxing time...and we had a fantastic dinner! From the calamari, so good, to the roast chicken, awesome scallops and a chocolate lava desert to die for. Our server Mike H. was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Lodge On The Desert Hotel
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson
Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
#11 Business Hotel in Tucson
#14 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.