We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to Reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Save Saved
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
99 Days of Summer!
Ranked #17 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lives up to Reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The resort down to the linens, towels, fireplace, jet tub are all truely wonderful, The only reason I'm not giving a perfect score is because you need to bring your own toilet paper, as the paper they have in the rooms is worth less!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    150
    38
    32
    6
See reviews for
144
266
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
burlington, vermont
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

There aren't many high-end hotel options in downtown Tucson and Lodge on the Desert is one of the best. Recent expansion and updating has put this property at the forefront of affordable luxury close to downtown (roughly 4.5 miles). A delightful outdoor pool and hot tub area, along with an excellent restaurant - both for breakfast and dinner - make this a great option for exploring the sites around Tucson.

Room Tip: Request an interior room or room in the back. Light sleepers may be bothered by noise from traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radwell
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked two nights at the Lodge based on the TripAdvisor reviews. I was in Tucson for business and the hotel was a perfect venue for an informal business meeting and lunch.

I found the staff professional and friendly and my room (suite) was clean, comfortable and well appointed. I stayed in one of the newer wings of the hotel.

A nicely laid out hotel bar. I ate lunch and dinner in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed both meals. The menu features a mix of local dishes which are expertly prepared.

If you are looking for a good place to stay which is not the typical “run of the mill” chain hotel – consider the Lodge. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Tucson.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndeborough
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Lodge and loved our Traditional King Fireplace Suite. The two rooms plus bath were larger than anticipated and not only comfortable but made us feel we were in a special old Tucson casita. The kiva fireplace was especially wonderful as the low temps there were record-breaking for our entire stay! We loved walking through the landscaped walkways from our casita (with outdoor seating) to the library, pool, restaurant and bar area. The bar patio with outdoor fireplace was a wonderful place to sit and enjoy drinks after a long drive to Tucson. Lodge staff was helpful and friendly.
The restaurant service and food were superb! We'd go to the Lodge again without hesitation. The location was fine for getting easily to all the places we planned to visit.( Note: if you like ambiance, opt for a traditional room. We had seen several newer (?) rooms on the front by the parking lot and were not impressed. There is a great difference in the rooms.

Room Tip: Decide if you want old style ambiance or need a more contemporary room. Know if a view of the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

. The property is a nice change from chain hotels. We had a 2 room suite with fireplace, and it was quite large. The king bed was comfortable and the bathroom/dressing area was huge. The towels seemed a little heavy and old, otherwise a nice stay. We had a nice view of the Catalina Mtns and the off street parking was free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stopped in for some wine and nosh and ended up staying for dinner! The lounge was comfy and quiet and we had a nice, relaxing time...and we had a fantastic dinner! From the calamari, so good, to the roast chicken, awesome scallops and a chocolate lava desert to die for. Our server Mike H. was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Lovely pool and jacuzzi - very pleasant complex with bar and restaurant on site. But whole experience let down by the down at heel room which was hard to heat, also does not seem to be insulated as we could hear our neighbours. If a little bit of TLC was spent (and money) updating the rooms, it would be 5 stars. We arrived at 2pm to find our room was not ready, not a problem we went for a walk. But I would have expected our luggage to have been taken to our rooms when we returned - the little touches matter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank R, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your thoughts on our hotel. We certainly attempt to provide our guests with available rooms upon their arrival but, based on the levels of business, at times we are not able to meet all each persons needs but do hold to our commitment of check-in time as stated. The weather was unseasonably cold for the desert during your visit and it did indeed may have taken slightly longer for the room to warm up but all of our systems were in perfect order during your visit. At times it is hard to manage our guests when they are in their rooms but we always attempt to maintain a quiet, peaceful environment for all of our guests and respond to each guests request of noise or any disruption if needed. The majority of our hotel is only 4 years old and the balance is labeled historic for its character and design. Again, thank you for your thoughts and please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit to the Lodge on the Desert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#6 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#12 Family Hotel in Tucson
#12 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.