We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change from chain hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 131 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice change from chain hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

. The property is a nice change from chain hotels. We had a 2 room suite with fireplace, and it was quite large. The king bed was comfortable and the bathroom/dressing area was huge. The towels seemed a little heavy and old, otherwise a nice stay. We had a nice view of the Catalina Mtns and the off street parking was free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblinManGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stopped in for some wine and nosh and ended up staying for dinner! The lounge was comfy and quiet and we had a nice, relaxing time...and we had a fantastic dinner! From the calamari, so good, to the roast chicken, awesome scallops and a chocolate lava desert to die for. Our server Mike H. was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Lovely pool and jacuzzi - very pleasant complex with bar and restaurant on site. But whole experience let down by the down at heel room which was hard to heat, also does not seem to be insulated as we could hear our neighbours. If a little bit of TLC was spent (and money) updating the rooms, it would be 5 stars. We arrived at 2pm to find our room was not ready, not a problem we went for a walk. But I would have expected our luggage to have been taken to our rooms when we returned - the little touches matter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank R, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your thoughts on our hotel. We certainly attempt to provide our guests with available rooms upon their arrival but, based on the levels of business, at times we are not able to meet all each persons needs but do hold to our commitment of check-in time as stated. The weather was unseasonably cold for the desert during your visit and it did indeed may have taken slightly longer for the room to warm up but all of our systems were in perfect order during your visit. At times it is hard to manage our guests when they are in their rooms but we always attempt to maintain a quiet, peaceful environment for all of our guests and respond to each guests request of noise or any disruption if needed. The majority of our hotel is only 4 years old and the balance is labeled historic for its character and design. Again, thank you for your thoughts and please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit to the Lodge on the Desert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After a terrible first night in Tucson at a chain motel (I don't want to say the name, but it rhymes with "Best Western Plus Royal Sun"), we looked for a better place for our second and final night. The Lodge on the Desert was all we hoped for and more!

It seemed recently renovated, and all was fresh and clean. The staff were wonderful, and the room immaculate.

The property seemed an oasis. It was quiet, and the room spacious. It even featured a small balcony with two chairs and a table for a quiet glass of wine.

We loved the place. It is such a pleasure to write a review extolling the wonderful qualities of a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

we had an excellent welcoming in the new year here - sort of a stay-cation since we are from Tucson...we wanted to have a nice late new years eve dinner at the restaurant which we had heard great things about and decided to look at their room rates and they were so reasonable we booked it! The room was lovely - we upgraded to the jacuzzi tub king room and loved the giant bathtub and fireplace too! cannot say enough about how great the restaurant and service was - really exceptional especially for Tucson! all in all a great experience and we return!

Room Tip: we were in room 263 and even tho it was near the street and parking lot it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LU-Withee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved this little hotel in Tucson. We thought it would be all high rise buildings in the big city, but, no, this is a cosy, welcoming little place serving fabulous food, so no need to leave once you've got back for the day. The room was great - clean with a big bed and, my favourite - a fireplace! Would definitely recommend and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 312Dizzyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Whether visiting Tuscon or just passing through, a lovely hotel at a reasonable price is what we all desire. THIS IS IT! We've stayed at several hotels in town (one son graduated from U of A), and The Lodge on the Desert beats them all. The rooms--we had a deluxe king-- are quite large, offering a fireplace as well as spacious bathroom. Ours had two sinks, a walk-in shower, and tub. Nice appointments...exceptionally clean...tons of parking...and all for a very modest price. If that's not impressive enough, their very attractive restaurant serves terrific, creative, beautiful dinners and even offers a decent wine list! We would dine here even if we weren't staying at the hotel!

Don't expect impressive views or a golf course, but know that the location is convenient to the freeway and campus. The front desk, housekeepers and restaurant staff were also top notch. Check this hotel out!

Room Tip: We were in the "new wing." Ask for a room off the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank EvyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#6 of 131 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
6.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing