We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Graeagle, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Much better experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

After a good experience (not great) in August, we stayed again in late November. This time we were in a newer unit, and it was unbelievably quiet and calm. After reading some comments on TA about the newer units being less charming, we were curious. We found them every bit as charming, and the HUGE additional space in the bathroom and bedroom was wonderful! Internet access worked perfectly this time. and everything was pristine. The only challenge was finding the entry to the courtyard in the dark; most entries from the parking lot are well-lit but ours was not (accessing rooms such as 216-217). We are avid walkers and we found some wonderful, quiet streets around the corner, pretty neighborhoods. Most importantly, it was an easy 7-minute ride to campus!

Room Tip: away from Alvernon and the newer units are very spacious but equally charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    184
    55
    35
    9
See reviews for
183
310
44
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wrightwood, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with classic southwestern architecture. The rooms were nicely decorated and spacious. The restaurant served fabulous food and they weren't fussy about sharing or splitting meals; they actually made up two separate plates with smaller portions. Centrally located in a quiet part of town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Lodge on the Desert is updated "old Southwestern style"--beautiful grounds, gorgeous pool and hot tub area (and it's open 24 hours/day!) and they have a fabulous restaurant. A true oasis, centrally located (a plus given that Tucson can be so spread out and many of the nicer properties are way up in the foothills);peace in the city! And dog-friendly!

Room Tip: Newer rooms in front are nicer, but not as secluded. My dog didn't like the pebbly walkways to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I go to Tucson to visit my daughter at the UofA. We've stayed at alot of places and this was by far the best! It wasn't far away, lovely rooms, lovely grounds, restaurant on the property... I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed at the Lodge on the Desert in Tucson and it was a great getaway. Although you are right in the city, it gives you the feel of being in a quiet, peaceful setting. Our room was great, and the pool area, although small, was relaxing. They have a great Happy Hour each evening from 4-6 with reduced price drinks and half-price on all their bar food. The mussels were great, as was their guacamole, and the burgers were yummy. The girl at the front desk was very helpful with directions.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was born and raised in Tucson and have stayed at almost all of the resorts in town, but when we booked a trip home for homecoming and found the living social deal for the lodge we were looking forward to trying it out and I loved it! It was our anniversary weekend and this was just the place for a little R&R in the midst of running around town seeing family and friends.

The midtown location is not as pretty as a resort in the foothills but they do an excellent job making the property feel secluded and we were so close to everything we wanted to do.

We stayed in the King Spa Suite and the room did not dissapoint. The fireplace was great on an unualsually chilly evening and the bath tub was awesome!

We took advantage of happy hour at the restaurant, which is a MUST. Get the Worlds Best Margarita, it was awesome. We also were so tired one night we just orderd food from the restaurant and went and picked it up to eat in our room and it was outstanding. We got the steak and the burger and everything was amazing.

My only constructive feedback would be to put a few bath mats in the bathroom or provide slippers. As the bathroom has the salito tiles they get very cold when its chilly out and laying towels on the floor dont really do the trick. I found myself hesitating to get out of bed to use the bathroom cause my feet would get too cold :)

I will now be using the Lodge as my "go-to" on my trips home every few months!

Room Tip: King Spa Room is worth it if you are a bath person!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Easy to find on the outskirts of Tucson, we were initially surprised by the unassuming appearance of the entrance.
We were soon to discover a comfortable room, and good general services, although the room needed better airing.
The bar and restaurant were very well served by an excellent chef together with friendly and helpful staff, and the flexible hours were much appreciated.
The hotel is frequented by an interesting mix of business and leisure guests, of all ages, and the atmosphere is relaxed.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and business colleagues alike.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.