We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Retreat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Save Saved
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
To Dine For Package
Ranked #14 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Bemidji
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Lodge last February and were very disappointed with the condition of our room. When I made the reservation, ( I am a history buff) I had seen a photo of an historic room that looked wonderful, so asked for that type of room. When we arrived, we were greeted by a very friendly desk person who was efficient about checkin. But when we got to our room, it wasn't "historic", it was just old and tired. Our bathroom was a disaster--Cracked sink, also stopped up, broken and cracked tile on walls and floor. When we complained, they were full and couldn't change our room, so I asked that we get a price reduction, because it was way overpriced for the shape it was in. The manager was very pleasant, acknowledging that all of their rooms had not been remodeled yet and that he would think about giving us a price break. Bottom line was that he did not give us a break on price. On the positive side, the grounds are beautiful, the facility is quiet and peaceful and any staff we came in contact with, were extremely helpful and friendly. This facility was convenient to everything we wanted to do in Tucson. We had several meals in the restaurant, where the food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful. The restaurant staff gave us superb service and remembered us each time we were there. What a shame that we came away from that experience with a sour taste because the manager did not care about his part in customer service. I would recommend the Lodge to others as long as they ask for the deluxe rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a remodeled room or a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    142
    34
    30
    6
See reviews for
135
248
33
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Well located for our Arizona tour (easy day trip to Tombstone), comfortable room, decent swimming pool, and definitely not a corporate chain. And when we used the restaurant on our wedding anniversary, they'd remembered. We'd go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The opportunity to go green and save money at this hotel is wonderful. We upgraded our room for $5 per night to a larger room, a fireplace, and a huge tiled bathroom with whirlpool tub and shower. In exchange for a lower price, we made our own bed! The restaurant has a wonderful chef and happy hour is half price for food! Drinks are discounted at well. Eating by the outdoor fireplace is delightful. This hotel has an interesting history and is lovely. The staff are friendly and helpful. If I ever return to Tucson this is where I will stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the $5 per night upgrade!!! You will be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a pleasant experience at this boutique hotel. Unique pluses include a library, a 24hr access pool and jacuzzi, an outdoor fireplace poolside, access to the U of A fitness facility. Fantastic grounds, very friendly staff, wonderful restaurant, romantic pool/jacuzzi (open 24hrs!!!!!), fireplace in room (awesome), and all around fabulous stay!

Room Tip: Stayed in a king deluxe...would totally recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. No kids running around screaming. Plenty of relaxing pool time. Beautiful view from the room. Extremely clean and beautiful. It's like it's own little city all tucked away and yet Conveinenty located. GREAT value for the money. If I return to Tuscon, I will stay here again. Very friendly staff too.......

Room Tip: Choose a view room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Such a lovely, Southwest experience in the heart of Tucson. We enjoyed patio dining with excellent menu items and delicious choices for a special luncheon. Our meal was especially good, and beautifully presented. Will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Lodge on the Desert, is a very nice place to stay, albeit a bit pricy. The walled compound removes the street noise and creates a feeling of quiet and safety. The location is convenient to downtown, the National Parks and most of the sightseeing in the area.

If you are planning on staying five nights as we were, you will be disappointed in the restaurant, because they do not change the menu. Since the menu is limited, this is a problem. There is a good restaurant 100 yards away for dinner, which is great.

It was also annoying to have to call the desk for any information about the hotels services, opening time for the restaurant, ice location, etc. I had to call the desk numerous times for the information most hotels put on a single sheet of paper. That was annoying.

All in all; however, it was a very good experience, and I'd recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back corner with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Lodge On The Desert Hotel
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson
Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
#11 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.