We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices from these 7 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
Lodge on the Desert
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay More Save More!
Ranked #15 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A magnificent find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The opportunity to go green and save money at this hotel is wonderful. We upgraded our room for $5 per night to a larger room, a fireplace, and a huge tiled bathroom with whirlpool tub and shower. In exchange for a lower price, we made our own bed! The restaurant has a wonderful chef and happy hour is half price for food! Drinks are discounted at well. Eating by the outdoor fireplace is delightful. This hotel has an interesting history and is lovely. The staff are friendly and helpful. If I ever return to Tucson this is where I will stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the $5 per night upgrade!!! You will be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    153
    40
    32
    6
See reviews for
147
270
38
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a pleasant experience at this boutique hotel. Unique pluses include a library, a 24hr access pool and jacuzzi, an outdoor fireplace poolside, access to the U of A fitness facility. Fantastic grounds, very friendly staff, wonderful restaurant, romantic pool/jacuzzi (open 24hrs!!!!!), fireplace in room (awesome), and all around fabulous stay!

Room Tip: Stayed in a king deluxe...would totally recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. No kids running around screaming. Plenty of relaxing pool time. Beautiful view from the room. Extremely clean and beautiful. It's like it's own little city all tucked away and yet Conveinenty located. GREAT value for the money. If I return to Tuscon, I will stay here again. Very friendly staff too.......

Room Tip: Choose a view room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Such a lovely, Southwest experience in the heart of Tucson. We enjoyed patio dining with excellent menu items and delicious choices for a special luncheon. Our meal was especially good, and beautifully presented. Will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Lodge on the Desert, is a very nice place to stay, albeit a bit pricy. The walled compound removes the street noise and creates a feeling of quiet and safety. The location is convenient to downtown, the National Parks and most of the sightseeing in the area.

If you are planning on staying five nights as we were, you will be disappointed in the restaurant, because they do not change the menu. Since the menu is limited, this is a problem. There is a good restaurant 100 yards away for dinner, which is great.

It was also annoying to have to call the desk for any information about the hotels services, opening time for the restaurant, ice location, etc. I had to call the desk numerous times for the information most hotels put on a single sheet of paper. That was annoying.

All in all; however, it was a very good experience, and I'd recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back corner with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel certainly talks itself up online, but once the reservations are made, that's the end of the communications. The check-in was practically wordless -- the desk clerk put an x on the map to show up where our room was, and that was it. There was absolutely no literature about the hotel in the room and no information on check-in and check-out times, what facilities were available and where they were located, restaurant hours -- nothing.

When we went back into the lobby to get directions to a local attraction, the desk clerk -- who had checked us in less than 15 minutes earlier -- looked at us blankly and said "Name?" as though we were brand-new guests checking in.

The grounds are beautiful and our room in the historic section of the hotel had plenty of character, although we could have done without the hole in the wall, the non-functioning television and air conditioner/heater/fan and the slow running drain in the tub.

When we went to check out, we dealt with a different desk clerk, but the level of apathy about customer care was pretty much the same. She said "Hello" without looking up from her computer and then made us stand there for several minutes while she finished up whatever she was doing.

I have been a guest in European hotels that were not as visually impressive as this one, but without fail, they were gracious and hospitable.

I am at a total loss as to why this hotel has received service awards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We learned about the Lodge on the Desert at The University of Arizona orientation. We have stayed with the Lodge on the Desert twice since. Once for moving our children in and once for Family Weekend. On both occasions, the grounds were perfectly groomed and the room was beautifully kept. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. We will definitely stay with them again!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the newer side of the property because they have wi-fi available. The rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#6 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#11 Business Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 103-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.