We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic price, basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Inn to your Saves list
Stone Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1248 North Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Tucson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Basic price, basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a bare-bones but clean hotel. Be sure to bring your own hair dryer. Other than having scratchy towels, this hotel gives you what you need: a comfortable bed, even with better pillows than the Quality Inn & Suites that we stayed in the night before. There's only coffee in the morning and alas the ice machines were either out of ice or just not working. But in Tucson, where the hotel rates generally were on the high side, we were grateful to find this Rodeway at a decent rate.

Room Tip: There is some amount of road noise since this hotel is close to the highway so ask for a room on a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
1
7
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We used this hotel because it allowed pets (cat). The staff were friendly and the room clean. It is your basic motel but it was perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. It is close to the University and not far off the freeway. Based upon our experience, we would use it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is run by nice friendly staff, reasonable value for money and is about a 25 minute walk to fourth avenue where the bars and restaurants are. The hotel was very clean and the stay was pleasant. This hotel is located around lots of similar hotels and lodges. My advice is book the cheapest as they all appear to be very similar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS CRUCES
Top Contributor
504 reviews 504 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

There are other motels, like Quality Inn, nearby, but I didn't know that,so I booked this one. It is an older motel, adequate in the sense that one gets the basics, plus free internet (a bit slow),table and chairs, a fridge, a microwave, but no coffee maker. The continental breakfast is minimal: orange juice, coffee (regular), packaged muffins, danish, and bearclaws. You have to take the breakfast to your room as the lobby is small with no tables. There are no trays, but they will give you a box that acts like a tray. The best part is that, if you are visiting Pima Community College for an event, it is right across the street so you can walk there and leave your car in the motel parking lot. Also, there is no elevator to the second floor.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a no frills hotel. It was clean, there was new paint on the walls and the bath had a granite floor.The TV worked, there was a mini fridge and a microwave. There was no coffee maker in the room. Outlets for charging devices were no existent. I had to unplug a lamp at the table (unfortunately it was also the main room light) and unplug the microwave to get two outlets. The Continental breakfast is coffee, OJ, bananas or apples, and a plastic wrapped muffin. The WiFi did not connect. I got signal but no sign in page to allow access. If you are staying for the Gem show the rates are over $100 per night for very little. At a lower rate this would be a great little place to stay. It is right on the bus routes and close enough to the University you can walk home from dinner if you need to walk of some calories.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs if possible. Noise travels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

my husband and I called and made a reservation, they were very pleasant on the phone. I still wasn't sure if I wanted to stay because you never know until you get to one of those places, if it is in a bad area or dirty or something. But, when I walk into the office the manager that I had spoken to remembered everything about our conversation, made us feel very welcomed. The office and area was very clean, nice cars in the parking lot, our smoking room didn't even smell like a smoking room. They cleaned our room daily, clean sheets, towels. Small pool, but very clean as well. We are on a budget like so many other people and will need to come back to this area, we will be staying here again. The other person said that it is like a gem, they are correct. For the price, I couldn't be more pleased, it's also located right in front of the college and I never felt in harms way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We went to this motel for years. It is like a hidden gem, clean and inexpensive. With inexpensive, motels often have some smell. Not this one. It has always been clean, when it changed management, it is even cleaner. The couple managing the property went to extra lengths to make sure the rooms are not only clean but have nice touches to it.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Inn

Address: 1248 North Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Tucson)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Stone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.