We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, lots of walking to get to room from parking lot” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All Inclusive Package
Ranked #34 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chandler
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old hotel, lots of walking to get to room from parking lot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

What we liked: We loved the special Hilton Serenity bed!! We got excellent sleep and are considering purchasing a bed from Hilton. Also, the location is pretty good. It’s on the north end of Tucson, which makes the drive from Phoenix shorter. It’s a little far from downtown Tucson, but we found lots of restaurants and things to do in the North end of town.

What we didn’t like: We have two major complaints. First, the walk from the parking lot to our room was easily 1/4 of a mile each way. Leave your hotel room twice (by car) and you've walked a mile. Not a problem, except that someone in our party had recently injured his back and it was too far too walk, especially with luggage.

Our biggest complaint is the terrible and disrespectful service we received from the front desk. We have Hilton Honors Gold VIP status which enables us to free internet at any Hilton. This is a new benefit and it was recommended that I bring along the email stating that all internet access for Gold VIP level or higher would now be free. So, when we get to the hotel, the gentleman who checked us in (can't remember his name) refused to give us free internet. He told us that since we didn't book directly with Hilton, we weren't entitled to any Hilton Honors privileges. I totally understand not receiving Hilton Honors points, and never asked to receive any points. But, the fine print on the email stating we would receive free internet access didn't mention anything about how the booking needed to be placed. We booked our hotel through Expedia, because I won a $50 Expedia coupon. We love Hilton (usually), and wanted to visit Tucson. Again, I understand not earning any points was part of the deal and was warned of that on the Expedia site, but to not be recognized or acknowledged as a VIP is very disappointing. I guess next time I win a coupon for Expedia; I’ll have to choose a non-Hilton hotel. We still enjoy the Hilton brand, and in the past we’ve received welcome letters and discounts welcoming us to the hotel as VIP guests, which is why we were so surprised to be told that we aren’t VIP’s to Hilton if we didn’t book directly through Hilton.

The front desk agent was very rude and argued with us about the free internet. I offered to let him read the email I received from Hilton Honors, but he refused and made it clear that he didn't agree with my complaint - but would give us the free internet, just THIS ONE TIME. He made it clear that he was very annoyed with us and didn’t feel like arguing with us any longer. I’ve got lots of customer service experience, and if he had simply said something like ….”I understand you’re upset, I would be upset too, I wish I could help, but our hotel doesn’t follow all of the Hilton Honors guidelines”, I think I would have been OK with that, but he just kept insisting that we couldn’t get Hilton Honors points unless we booked with Hilton. He said we would not be recognized as any type of Hilton Honors member since we didn’t book directly through Hilton. If we weren’t already tired from driving nearly 2 hours, I would have insisted on talking to the manager, but I just wanted to get away from this extremely discourteous man. We were angry about his attitude and our argument the whole time we were there, which resulted in our avoidance of the front desk.

Other annoyances: We arrived on a Saturday and Sunday morning there was absolutely no hot water coming from any faucet. We didn’t have time to wait for it to be fixed, and luckily it was working when we came back in the late afternoon.

Finally, on top of everything else, we made a conscious choice not to eat at any of the hotel restaurants, and definitely didn’t drink at the hotel bar, but when we were ready to check out there was a room charge of $40 charged to our room for a purchase in the lobby bar. They agreed to remove the charge from our bill, but it was just another lack of service in our eyes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    422
    154
    65
    28
See reviews for
366
293
51
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

My wife and I travelled down from Pheonix (tip - go via Florence to see a slice of old town Arizona) on the second leg of our US holiday. The location and surroundings of the resort, as has been said numerous times here, are absolutely stunning. We stayed the week after labor day and the place couldn't have been more than 20% full - great for us as it was really relaxing and quiet around the pool. It's not a new hotel, but the rooms were clean, sizeable with excellent amenities. Excellent restaurant "Dos Locos" with views of the mountains and a good base for exploring Tuscon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

This is a great older property with a beautiful mountain backdrop. Our room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The flat screen tv was very nice as well.

We very much enjoyed the massages we received in the spa as well as the awesome lunch by the pool (great service!) and the wonderful dinner at Dos Locos (slightly pricy, but worth it).

We were very impressed by the hotel employee driving the cart around the property. He could tell we were lost, trying to find our room for the first time (it's a large resort), so he had us follow him to our building. Very nice! I wasn't so impressed by the woman at the front desk. She wasn't very friendly or outgoing and didn't make us feel very welcome. On the other hand, the valets at the front door were great! They always made sure to open the doors for guests.

I would have enjoyed having chocolate on the pillows at night. The internet service costs $9.95 per day, or you could use your laptop in the lobby for free. I chose that option, and was easily able to find a plug near a couch in the lobby.

The pools were nice. There is a small waterslide for kids (it's a little slow for adults) and hot and cold pools as well.

The landscaping is very nice and the resort has a really relaxing atmosphere. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We loved this hotel. There is a magnificent pool with a cabana club restaurant and poolside service. There's also a great big water slide for kids (and adults!) that has its own pool. Also a kiddie pool and a spa area (hot and cold tubs). Gorgeous mountain scenery, fantastic foliage, jack rabbits, quail and cute lizards. Very hot in August but not crowded. Hotel restaurants are okay. Breakfast very expensive unless you have toast yet you can eat in lobby too (cereal, bagels, muffins, and Starbucks). Only two issues. First, 2 of our 5 days our room was not made up when we returned after 2 p.m. having left at 9 a.m. They didn't seem very concerned about it. Second, lighting not great in rooms. Could use more lamps. Overall a great place with kids (7 year old daughter).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Even though an older hotel it has been renovated and the rooms do not seem dated except for the washrooms. The actual tub/washroom is not as large and modern as you would get in a newer resort. It is located in a beautiful area near the mountains. It is on the north end of Tucson but still close to the strip malls that seem to predominate in Tucson which is good if you need anything or want to go out and eat. Drove from the airport in Phoenix since I could get a non stop flight. The drive was easy in 90 minutes since the hotel is in the part of Tucson closest to Phoenix. Otherwise I would have had a layover and it is probably 30-45 minutes to drive from the Tucson airport. Good location if you're flying out of Phoenix. Stayed in a Casita Suite which was well worth it if you can get an upgrade for a low price. Nothing bad to say except that it is not quite as modern as a new resort would be,

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We upgraded to the casitas which had privacy and two rooms. At the Hilton Honors price of about $15 it was worth it, but otherwise I would stay in the main lodge. Pool small but adequate. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I loved this hotel. People hold doors open for you, greet you with smiles, and seem genuinely concerned that you are having a good time. This hotel can be as plush or as bare bones an experience as you want it to be, but expect to pay to be wowed. Things that are normally free at hotels we typically stay at...breakfast, internet, workout room... are extra at this hotel. I'd rather be nickeled and dimed for those things than have them rolled into the price and have to pay an arm and a leg for our stay.

The pool area was great. We loved the water slide. There is a bar near the pool but the beers are expensive, I believe it was $13 for two dos xx on draft. But they are cold, and it is a treat to sit by the pool under misters at the bar while the kids play in the pool.

There is a short nature trail behind the hotel. The quail and bunnies are quite tame, and you have to be blind to not see wildlife. We went out our back porch around 5am and took flashlights into the desert area to search for wildlife and saw a pocket mouse and a rattlesnake, and several odd bugs. As midwesterners, we were thrilled by this. It may have been the highlight of our stay.

We went to one of the restaurants (Sundance?) and it was very good.

Would definately go again and perhaps spend a few days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#22 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.