We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider Staying Here, but Enjoy the Food Outside the Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All Inclusive Package
Ranked #34 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Consider Staying Here, but Enjoy the Food Outside the Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Traveled to Tucson with the family to attend a conference. Found the hotel staff friendly and helpful. After perusing the menus at the hotel restaurants, we ate mostly at local Mexican places on Oracle and Ina Roads or headed to Lupe's, which is just north of Oro Valley. (If you have a rental car, this is the way to go!)

The room seemed updated and freshly painted, and the bedding was quite comfortable. There were fluffly towels and soft toilet paper, too! My only complaint was that the pool bar closed at 5 pm. I know summer is not the peak season, but people do like to grab a quick drink in the evenings, especially since the pool is open all night.

Housekeeping staff was thorough and respectful of the do not disturb sign.

If you go and you have a room on the first floor, please do keep your screen door closed to keep out the critters. They are everywhere!

  • Liked — The views!
  • Disliked — Pool bar closed early.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    422
    155
    65
    28
See reviews for
366
293
51
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nashville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

I stayed here for a convention and while the rooms were okay (Not as nice as I would have thought for a place like this) they grossly overcharge for food. Since I didn't have a car I was stuck eating at the hotel three meals a day and ended up spending nearly 200 bucks for food over a four day stay for one person. And for that price the food was terrible. To much of their food comes out of a freezer to charge as much as they do for it. The "ribeye" I had at the last territory steakhouse wasn't a ribeye and tasted warmed over. Plus if I'm paying 45 bucks for a steak, salad and 1 beer, I expect the salad dressing to not be out of a bottle. 20 bucks for a breakfast bar. 15 bucks for a 1/4 pound cheeseburger that was not fresh and had little to no cheese on it. 6 bucks for a bottled beer. The last day I was charge 4.25 for a 4 ounce glass of orange juice. Ridiculous. I have to say the staff was very helpful and friendly so I gives them credit for having good people working for them. But I think they need to up their standards for their food prices and quality. I would not stay there again.

  • Liked — nice pool and grounds
  • Disliked — overpriced
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

Since the reviews were a little mixed, I was a little nervous. That didn't last long. When we checked in, they were training a new person on the computer. He had a little trouble, so the trainer quickly upgraded us to a junior suite for our trouble. So far, so good, especiallly since I thought check in was prompt and friendly even with the slight delay.
The room was clean and spacious, and we had plenty of hot water whenever we needed it. The decor wasn't brand new, but was tasteful in an older desert style. Beds were comfortable, service was good, wireless internet didn't work too well, but the very small business center has free internet.
I spent quite a bit of time at the main pool. The lunch was good and margaritas were tasty. Last call was around 5 p.m., which I thought was odd.
Breakfast buffet is good, but consider eating inside. The birds get a little aggressive.
This is one of my top 3 resorts so far in the Tucson area.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

We stayed at the Hilton over the Memorial Day weekend for 3 nights. I was a little cautious after reading the reviews but was pleasantly surprised.
We had a standard hotel room overlooking the pool area that was very clean and nicely furnished. The room was a little larger than average and the bed was exceptionally comfortable with nice quality linens. The bathroom looked newly refurbished and was long and thin in design but plenty large enough for 2 of us.
The hotel was full and the pools were very busy. It was difficult getting a chair in the shade in the middle of the day in the main pool area so we walked down to the smaller casitas pool and found it quiet and virtually deserted.
We did not eat in the hotel as none of the food on the menus appealled to us.There are many lovely restaurants within a short drive. We ate at the Wildflower, Bazils and Bluepoint - the wildflower was our favorite.
At the end of the day we enjoyed sitting on our balacony with a glass of wine enjoying the view and one one night listening to the music that was playing in the gardens.
One day we went hiking in Sabino Canyon which was worth the drive. A car is recommended if you stay at this hotel which is in the north east corner of the city.
We paid $118 per night for this weekend which we thought was great value for a holiday weekend for this level of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

We had a lovely room. There was NO hot water for the shower in the evening. After a long day, a hot shower is a must, and the lack of one was very dissappointing.

  • Liked — Location comvenient, felt safe there
  • Disliked — No hot water in the shower
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

This hotel was pretty nice. It was not luxuriously fancy, but the crowd that seemed to visit here did not seem that type anyway. This included us. We were her for spring break to relax. The pool area was pretty nice, although it did get crowded during the middle of the day. The hotel staff was a mixed bag. The concierges were always helpful. Always. The front desk, however, was not quite as helpful. The van drivers to/from the golf course were always on time and quite friendly. The golf courses here are the main attractions anyway. The golf courses are nice, well-kept, and challenging. That is how we spent most of our time- sleeping and golfing. And for that, this hotel served its purpose very well.

  • Liked — Golf!
  • Disliked — Front desk staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

The title pretty much sums up my family's experience at the El Conquistador. If this were a Holiday Inn, I would say it was OK, but as a Hilton the bar is set pretty high. In my opinion it fails to reach that bar in many areas. First of all, we (my wife, and 10 mos old baby) checked in and our room was not ready. They have a very late check in of 4 pm and even with a tired, crabby baby the room was not ready upon arrival. When we did get to check in the room was dirty. We chose to stay in a "casita" which is this hotel's version of a villa. The casita's are set away from the rest of the hotel so in some cases it is a haul to the main lobby. The casitas are old - ours had paint chipping off the walls- and in desperate need of a face lift. Also, we let our baby crawl around when we checked in and he crawled by the entry way tile. We picked him up and he was covered in black filth. No joke. We ended up going to a Wal-Mart nearby and buying cleaning wipes and cleaened those areas in the room that needed cleaning. I can live with the rooms as they were- but what was difficult was that the walls are paper thin, You literally can hear conversations, tv's and the door slamming was insane. Our baby cried at night due to not feeling well and, well, being a baby. After 15-30 seconds of this on our second night, our neighbors decided the best course of action was to bang on our walls. Again, no joke. The restaurants in the hotel are pricey, food is average and selection is nothing special. We ate in the "Last Territory" Steakhouse- another haul down mountains and roads. It was expensive and the food was just OK. It's a bit of a cheesy old western theme- but kids appeared to like it. We also looked at the other rest. there- but pricing and selection and word of mouth from others quickly changed our minds. The upside was got to try some great Tucson restaurants outside the resort. Take a short drive to Metropolitan Grill on Oracle- amazing food, great service- blows the hotel rest. out of the water. Also, make sure you have a rental car- for food you will want to get out! Parking is tight so be prepared to park at the bottom of the hill and walk up. Take a trip to downtown Tucson to the "Old Town Artisans". This is a collection of local artists with a touch of old Arizona. There is a great courtyard sandwich joint in the middle of the shops. OK, so what are the positives? Well, the setting of the hotel is very nice. Set in the foothills of the mountains - it is very picturesque. The Pools are also nice. The adult pool is crowded with kids, basketball hoop and all, but that is not a negative. We chose the "Baby" pool and our little baby loved it. It's about 1 1/2 feet deep with little waterfalls and spouts. Also, the Casitas have their own pool, which is smaller and more private. The only day we were going to have lunch pool-side was the day the grill AND oven did not work. Burgers, snacks, etc.,Looked fine. Few other things to note- the spa is wonderful. The staff is nice, the massages my wife and I were worth the high cost. The Hilton actually charges $10 to use the workout center! As if $300 a night wasn't enough? So, in conclusion, this hotel and it's facility are adequate. In our opinion, not worth the cost and certainly not worthy of being called a Hilton. If you are a Hilton regular, you will know exactly what I am talking about. I have noticed most reviews of the hotel are much more positive so perhaps our experience was an exception to the rule?

  • Liked — Pools
  • Disliked — Rooms, restaurants
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#22 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.