We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extensive Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #26 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
Sahuarita, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Extensive Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We loved our stay at El Conquistador. The pools and fitness center were excellent. The rooms (yes they have a chair) were large and comfortable. The bathroom was nicely configured with separation between dressing area and bathroom. Very nice resort located in Oro Valley AZ.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    368
    120
    58
    25
See reviews for
313
248
44
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the El Conquistador Hilton 2 or 3 times in the last few years and it is truly a pleasure. The pool is perfect and the views of the mountains and city are sublime. The grounds are beutifully manicured and the staff is friendly and courteous. We will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A friendly welcome by the check in staff set the scene for a lovely stay. We were attending a conference and the facilities were excellent. Our room over looked the desert and mountains, watching the sunrise was amazing. The pool area and grounds were immaculate. The breakfast choices were good but if dining outside be aware of the birds, keep your food covered if you have to leave the table, they are scavengers (but entertaining).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I was in 2 different rooms my stay. My first was on the poolside of the resort, very pretty view. Next room was facing the back if the resort. Parking lot! The mountain was beyond, and was pretty. Salt water pool was nice, but full of bugs!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just returned home from spending Labor Day weekend at this hotel and already cannot wait to book our next stay. We booked the All Inclusive rate, which was a great deal - it includes the resort fee and all meals.

We weren't too sure what to expect of the food, but we were extremely impressed. Epazote was our favorite - we loved both meals we had there and the atmosphere was very nice (highly recommend the trout and the short ribs!) We had lunch at Sundance right before we checked out and loved the mac and cheese, vegetable soup (sounds plain, but is delicious) and the ahi tacos. We did the full buffet both days and loved the various options - they have a eggs/omelets cooked to order, along with many other hot options, steel cut oatmeal, fresh fruit, mini green smoothies...anything you could want for breakfast.

As far as the rooms go, we stayed in building 16 right off the Acacia (adult) Pool and loved it. The room itself was very quiet and the location was perfect. Even over the busy weekend, the pool wasn't crowded and it was very relaxing. The only downside is that they don't have service there, but it's just a short walk up the hill to get some food or drinks if you want. The one small complaint about the room was that the air conditioner was a bit loud and constantly turned off and on throughout the night to maintain the temperature. Other than that, it was very comfortable.

There was a lot of activities going on over the long weekend and it seemed that the kids were all really enjoying them, especially the dive in movies. They even had stargazing and s'mores that would have been fun, but we were enjoying our leisurely dinners in Epazote instead! We did try to do the morning yoga by the pool, but it turned out that the instructor was out of the country. I was a bit bummed at first since I was excited to do yoga outside, but the replacement took us all on a power walk that turned out to be a great start to the day and very scenic.

Be sure to check out the spa as well - I got a 25 minute Reflexology/25 minute massage combo with Karen and it was amazing. Part of the resort fee is 15% off in the spa and the prices are very reasonable.

All that being said, the best part about the stay was the service. Every single employee we encountered was very friendly and sincere, especially Mary at the Lobby Bar, Steven at Valet and Shannon at the Front Desk. They seemed to truly care about taking care of us and really went out of their way to show it. To me, that is the most important part of any stay and will be the reason we will return soon and recommend this resort to many others!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room near the Acacia Pool. It's a small hike up to the main pool/l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spent 20 minuets driving around looking for a parking space at about 9:30 at night could not find one, so they ended up valet parking us for free, I normally like to park my own vehicle. Room could have been a little cleaner. There was a wild party going on next door into the wee hours, which is not the hotels fault. I could have called the front desk and complained, but it did not matter, the air conditioning unit kept us up all night anyway. Most hotels have a free exercise room and some kind of free breakfast, not here. They also charged us $20 for things that we would not use. I'm not normally a complainer, this is my first hotel review. We were disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We regret to hear about your disappointment during your stay with us and we do extend our sincere apologies for the various challenges that you experienced. Our goal is to have each guest have an enjoyable stay, and we appreciate you taking your time to write a review, as well as sharing with us areas that may need improvements. We are continuously striving to provide the best service to our guests as well as making adjustments to enhance our overall guest experience. We hope you return and provide us with another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Lynn Ericksen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We love this hotel and will continue to book our stay there when we visit our daughter. The staff is friendly and we use valet service as my husband is in a wheelchair and we are able to book a handicap room which is very important to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#23 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.