We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service throughout...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #25 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service throughout...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Pros first: Casita was nice. Updated, and comfortable beds and bedding. However, phones were 1970's vintage and none of the direct-call buttons worked on the one on the bedstand. Lightbulb that was out in overhead light was quickly replaced. We did speak with the Front Desk Manager or Manager on Duty who was very accomodating. Had requested to speak to GM but he/she was not available.

Cons: Slow and unfriendly service in both restaurants, I will not go into all the specifics but it was pretty bad...i.e.. Chef at omlet station during buffet could not have moved slower if he had been paid to do so. After paying for WiFi ($10), we were never able to use it as it "went down" and was unavail when we tried to work. While trying to address the WiFi situation, another couple walked into our room much to everyone's surprise....they had just been checked into an occupied room.... The next day, we had paid $25 for a 3PM checkout and starting at about 9AM we had a series of 3 people come to our door asking us if we were checking out. Housekeeping knocked and proceeded to walk-in while I was in the bathroom. Privacy card WAS on the door. Had to request a hair dryer 3 times before we got one....were told twice to look again as it is an "overlooked" item in the room.

We were part of the West Coast Dance Explosion dance group. Got the impression that the employees either didn't like having a lot of kids around or were just overall unhappy in their jobs. Have travelled to many dance competitions and usually the host hotel goes the extra mile to accomodate the group. Just did not see that at all here.

Room Tip: ! BR casita near parking lot was ok but still an uphill walk to get to main building. Further down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Lynn Ericksen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    393
    130
    60
    27
See reviews for
341
268
48
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sierra vista
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel has a fantastic location but the staff and rooms make the stay. On several visits, Kevin at the bell desk has gone out of his way to provide great service. Prior to my 1st visit, I wanted to check out the rooms for visiting out-of-town guest and Kevin took us to several parts of the property enabling us to select a great set of rooms which impressed our out-of-town guests.

Jan, the executive chef was delightful at the breakfast buffet while making omelets that were superb.

And Stacy at the front desk handled a difficult issue we had with grace and poise and great follow-thtough.

All in all - I've had several great stays!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have written a prior report about this hotel that wasn't too positive. However, given another opportunity, El Conquistador rose to the occassion! We had a quiet casita, very clean, and the staff is very attentive. The location is fantastic at the base of the Catalina Mountains. You can Golf, bike ride, hike from the hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are pleased that your return to the property was positive and that you enjoyed the wonderful amenities that our resort has to offer.
We will look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,
Lynn Ericksen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This property is very beautiful! The staff is very friendly. Kevin Donohoe was an especially helpful bellman, as was Jessica at the front desk! It was a fantastic experience and I highly recommend staying her.

Room Tip: Building 1 has great view and close to lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Here is a restaurant with a view of the sunset that is spectacular. The bar has a wonderful old fashioned bar menu that features a great array of happy hour food that can double as a lite dinner. Cocktails are well made and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Pro: I have come back to this property again and again because of its location, tucked up under the rugged edge of the Catalinas. It is both beautiful and far from any street noise. The service has always been good but this year I was particularly impressed with the staff at the Lobby lounge where I ordered a cappuccino every am. Mary remembered my rather complex order every morning and always made me feel welcome and cared for.

Con: The hotel has instituted a "resort fee" of $20 per day in addition to the published room rate. This fee is considered an "incidental" and was not disclosed on any on-line booking sites. As I use none of the services covered by this fee, I asked to opt out but was told that was not an option, so I had to pay $160 extra without advance warning. IMHO the published room rate should be the bottom line so someone booking knows what they are going to be charged. Disclosing this fee on a small piece of paper tucked in with the room key at check-in is wholly inadequate. Offering the extras a la carte would be far better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We’re pleased to know you enjoyed our beautiful location and the wonderful service from our staff. Thank you. We also appreciate your comments about our resort services fee. It was initiated to give our guests a deep discount on a convenient bundle of our most frequently requested amenities and services including hi-speed access, golf, tennis, and spa discounts, along with many other benefits. We’ve put forth considerable effort to insure it’s prominently posted on every booking channel where a reservation for our property can be made. We are not currently aware of any site that doesn’t fairly represent the fee. However, if you know of a channel that doesn’t include this notice, we hope you will contact us directly, as we will immediately correct it. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts concerning your visit. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best,
Lynn Ericksen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I typically wouldn't stay at a resort for a one night business trip but due to the mineral show taking most of Tucson's rooms, I was left with the option of staying at a resort or a place starting with the word "Motel".
I was told by many local Tucson residents that the place is "amazing" so my expectations were high.
First, the view is amazing but that doesn't make up for negatives.
The gym is way too small for the number of rooms. At 5:45 am, every machine was taken. The drink prices in the lobby bar are outrageous. The $20 mandatory resort fee doesn't include wi-fi which is an additional $10. My room service food was soggy. The biggest offense in my mind was the bathroom. I judge most of a hotel's daily maintenance by looking at the bathroom. It was very dated, cheap shower curtain, cheap fixtures and the tub which had been chipped had paint "touch ups" in about 5 places. Who does that in a resort if this caliber? I won't be returning and rue my $426 bill!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. We have also addressed issues with our housekeeping staff.

On a side note, the resort fee includes Wi-Fi, among many other great benefits. I apologize for the miscommunication regarding the resort fee offering.

If you need anything else please feel free to contact me directly lynn.ericksen@hilton.com.

Sincerely,
Lynn Ericksen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#16 Business Hotel in Tucson
#19 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.