We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #25 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Mallorytown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were upgraded to a lovely room by the nicest gentleman on the front desk. Faced the mountain and was lovely! We had just come down from Sedona in search of warmer climate and were not expecting alot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    369
    121
    59
    25
See reviews for
315
253
46
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Although it is out of the way, El Conquistador is a nice and well run hotel. The location is quite beautiful right at the base of Putsch Ridge with a nice view of the surrounding area. Our room looked right up into the mountains which were gorgeous with a light dusting of snow at the top.

The grounds are well kept and the pool is conveniently located right in the middle of the property. It was too cold to swim much, but we had a good time there. We took a nice hike up the ridge from the hotel which was very convenient. The workout facilities are spacious and reasonably well equipped.

The rooms are OK. I found them to be a bit noisy at night, but I can be very sensitive to that sometimes. The view up to the mountains off of the small balcony made up for it.

We had very good service there and they went out of their way to return something to us that my daughter had accidentally left in the room. Housekeeping also did an excellent and prompt job.

Overall, I would highly recommend El Conquistador for a holiday stay in the area.

Room Tip: Loved the mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here over the Christmas holiday and had a very enjoyable experience. We found the staff to be much more attentive and friendly than our previous stay a year ago. The rooms and common areas appear to have been upgraded and in nicer condition. The Christmas buffet was super!
We had a party of seven people for breakfast and we were happy to see our favorite waiter, Gino, was still there. He is so attentive, personalble and knowledgeable - he is the best! The second day we were there we were not in his section and the waiter was not attentive at all so Gino ended up bringing us everything we needed. We were lucky to have him there. The one area that the hotel needs to improve is the method of paying (or comping) breakfast. They used to give coupons which you then gave to the waiter. Now the waiter brings a bill and you have to have him change it if you are having a 'free' breakfast. This needs to be done in a better manner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time during Christmas while staying at the hotel. Everyone was so friendly and cheerful. We had a two room casita with a beautiful view of the Catalina Mountains.
Each casita has a fire place equipped with a log and matches. It made for nice memories on Christmas even though we were not home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We've stayed in several of the Catalina Foothills resorts over the years. We're U of A grads and return to the Old Pueblo to visit family and revisit our old haunts.

This was our first time at the Hilton El Conquistador, and we were very impressed with its setting on the north slopes of Pusch Ridge and the well-maintained grounds surround by native Sonoran Desert habitat.

The hotel is delightfully designed and well cared for in all respects. The individual rooms are standard - nothing too delightful but not anything wrong. Stay here for the grounds, not the rooms.

Our only complaint was the omnipresent "resort fee". This trick is getting quite old. The indignity at the El Conquistador was that their literature said directly that they charged a resort fee in response to "Customer Surveys"? Don't insult our intelligence -- please, please charge me an additional fee! Yeah, that's my usual concern - I'm not getting charged enough.

Included in the bounty brought by the fees was of course mostly things in which we had no interest. The only item on their list we used was internet access -- which most of the motels and cafes on north Oracle offer for free.

I'm continually amazed that hotels that cater to the relatively affluent stoop to such tawdry revenue enhancement schemes. I find this insulting. Charge more for each room if you must, don't resort to trickery. The Hilton demeans itself.

Room Tip: Views vary widely. Get what you paid for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on our resort services fee. We’re sorry you did not find value in the offering. Our intent is to avoid “nickel & diming” guests by rolling up a broad array of high demand resort products and services in one convenient and high value package.

We’ve found that many of our guests appreciate that for $20.00 per day, they can take advantage of over $130 in products and services as follows: In-room high speed internet access (for up to 2 devices), Local & 1-800 phone calls, Two bottles of water upon arrival, 15% off massage treatments at our Elements Spa, Shuttle to Oro Valley Marketplace & Country Club, One hour use of putting green per day, One hour use of driving range per day, One hour of tennis court usage per day, Two hours of mountain bike usage per day, and Daily use of fitness facilities and classes.

Again, we appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration as we craft our future offerings.

Thank you.
Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in junior suite with my family of four over Christmas week. Amazing deal at only $125/night (pus resort fee). Nice room, although getting a bit dated. Very spacious. Beautiful property with pool ad slide. Golf course looked nice. Great views of mountains all the way around.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was recently at the hotel while I was out in Tucson to take part in the Marathon. It was a pleasant surprise on how expansive the hotel was. The pool was amazing and certainly a wonderful place to enjoy some quiet time. There were a number of places nearby to enjoy lunch or dinner. Downtown Tucson and the galleries are a short ride away. The view from the hotels into the mountains is certainly something to look up to. The hotel had a bar and a few restaurants if you are not inclined to explore.

Room Tip: Try to ask for the view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#24 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.