We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - outskirts of Tucson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #25 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - outskirts of Tucson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was recently at the hotel while I was out in Tucson to take part in the Marathon. It was a pleasant surprise on how expansive the hotel was. The pool was amazing and certainly a wonderful place to enjoy some quiet time. There were a number of places nearby to enjoy lunch or dinner. Downtown Tucson and the galleries are a short ride away. The view from the hotels into the mountains is certainly something to look up to. The hotel had a bar and a few restaurants if you are not inclined to explore.

Room Tip: Try to ask for the view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    348
    113
    56
    23
See reviews for
292
232
41
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

this is the 2nd time i've stayed here as I have family in Tucson. The first time a few years ago I had a great view of the mountains and this time I had a view of the pool which was actually a pretty fantastic view as well considering the foliage throughout the property. the rooms are very comfortable, the staff is as nice as you could ask for and the breakfast burrito is fantastic. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The El Conquistador has immaculate grounds and golf course, and amazing views of the mountains and the sunset. I hadn't imagined that Tucson was this beautiful. There are several pools, a hot tub, and a cold tub for perfect relaxation. Laying out by the pool in December is a great way to get away from work for awhile. The staff was incredible and met all of our needs.

Room Tip: The casitas are very nice, but I am not sure they are a much better value than the rooms near the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights on business and really enjoyed the property. The mountains are a nice backdrop for the place, the only negative for some may be the thirty-minute drive from the city. But it's worth the drive. The pool and hot tub were very nice, although I didn't get a chance to use the tennis and golf facilities. The on-site restaurant is also great with a decent wine selection. The Peter Thomas Roth toiletries were nice, too. The only negative thing I have to say about this place is that I got food poisoning after eating in the restaurant. However, when I was checking out the staff member was very professional about it and took care of my dinner charges. I was pleased and believe that is a sign of a good hotel. I will definitely come back next time I'm in Tucson. Hopefully then I'll get a chance to play golf!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Was there for USTA Mixed Doubles Nationals. We stayed in the casita suite. It was well appointed and exceeded my expectations. The resort is in a great setting. We ate at the restaurant a couple times and the food was good and reasonably priced for a resort. Even though its well north of the city, the location is still near excellent restaurants and a mall. The pool is great and the hot tub was nice as well. The tennis courts were great and we enjoyed our stay during the USTA Nationals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent - There was a bit of hesitation with booking the Hilton because it is quite a ways north of the center of town and because it is a somewhat older build property. Put those concerns out of your mind - there are great restaurants nearby. It is beautifully maintained and you'd never know this were an older build hotel.

The fire pits are delightful for enjoying a glass of wine in the evening - this was one of the highlights of our 11 day (one-way) road trip from Dallas to Los Angeles. There is plenty of shopping nearby and some good off-property options for breakfast.

The hotel even provides after-sun aloe with the upgraded Peter Thomas Roth bathroom amenities. Very very nice. All the staff we interacted with were very professional. This was the only hotel on our trip that charged for in-room internet but that is standard at Hilton (and there was free wi-fi in the lobby). There is no resort fee and that is nice.

There were only two very minor things that prevented me from giving a 5 star review. One was a minor oversight on the part of housekeeping. There was only one coffee cup. There were two of us and we both wanted a cup of coffee / tea - but there was only one cup and one tea bag (a small oversight on the part of housekeeping). We actually had a box of tea bags so we would have been fine if there had been a second cup. We survived though.

The second minor thing is the person dropping off the guest folios during the overnight - we heard him whistling as he came down the hall long before he reached our door (at roughly 4:00AM). We knew he was putting the guest folio under the door so we were not alarmed when it practically sounded as though he was breaking the door down. My suggestion is that this can be attempted with peace and quiet in mind. Big deal? No. Something to roll your eyes about, maybe.

Turned out we loved the location of the Hilton. We thought the property was beautifully maintained, excellent views. Beautiful grounds. So nice sitting out by the fire pits in the evening. Everybody we interacted with at the hotel was very polished and professional. Great bathroom amenities. No resort fee. HHonors (double dip) - big thumbs up. This one is a definite winner and I hope we'll be back soon (too bad it isn't closer to NYC) - the desert really is beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this resort many times over the last 10 years or so. I guess that in itself tells you we like it. It has a beautiful location at the base of the Catalina mountains and the rooms are spacious. You have a choice of room locations which can be right around the pool at the main part of the resort or in one along a hill that runs down the side that ends in an adult pool. Be aware that you may not be able to park close if you stay on the hill and some walking up and down to your room may be required.

The location is north of Tucson. There are many dining options now in the Oro Valley near the hotel which is an upscale part of the area. We ate breakfast at the hotel (good but pricey) and dinner one night at Epazote Kitchen. Dinner was good but not fantastic. Epazote also has a happy hour which was very nice with reduced drink prices and 1/2 price appetizers. I'd recommend that as the location is very nice, you can sit and look out at the mountains and resort, and the food was tasty.

We also golfed at both the 9 hole course on the grounds of the hotel and their 18 hole facility. Both are very nice and they offer reduced golfing rates for guests so they were a good deal.

All I all it was a great stay as always.

Room Tip: You may have to walk up and down the hill to get to your room if you opt for a room on the hill of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#16 Business Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.